? Looking for clarification

Status
Not open for further replies.

apple

Member Since 2017
The only insulins "without a peak" are Lantus and Levemir, when working correctly for the pet or person.

I found this in another area of the board. Does this mean that when you do a curve check on a cat, the numbers will stay about the same?
Like for example:
amps 320
+1= 325
+2 =332
pmps =320

So, with Lantus there is no letter u shape if the numbers were plotted out?
Ex amps 400
+1 300
+2 200
+3 100
Pmps 400

All numbers and times are made up for the question.
 
Lantus does have the ability to create mostly flat cycles. That could happen because they are regulated, the dose is not a good dose so they are staying in say mostly 300's etc. or it's a bounce day. Below is a "typical" lantus cycle. Although nadirs are different for every kitty and they move around. Nadir being the lowest point in a cycle. This was found in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky. I'd also encourage you to set up a spreadsheet as we rely on data to help otherwise our ability to do is limited.
Spreadsheet Instructions

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Karen provided a good explanation. If you look at lots of spreadsheets, you'll see a good deal of variability. In theory, whether with humans or cats, the ideal Lantus (or Lev) cycle is flat. As a cat gets better regulated, you tend to see this more than when the kitty's diabetes is initially being treated -- although that is not always the case. My cat would go for stretches when her cycles were lovely and then for who knows what reason, there'd be greater variability.

It may help to remember that insulin is a hormone. If a cat's pancreas is capable of producing some of it's own insulin, it will have an effect on the cat's numbers since you're also injecting exogenous insulin.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top