Looking for advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

andiecu

Member Since 2012
Good Morning-

Our kitty Miles was on a very hefty dose of insulin for quite some time (8.5 units). A little over a week ago, his AMPS was 65 so he did not receive a dose that morning, only a half dose in the evening, and all but one of his shots since then have been at the lower dose (now at 4.5). I've been much better over the last week monitoring his NADIR, so now I'm posting here to get your advice/guidance/support about how to move forward.

I'm due to deliver our second child in the next two weeks, so I'm a little overwhelmed with this sudden change in Miles blood ... although excited that it seems like he's finally starting to improve. Please let me know if there is additional information I can provide.

Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Congrats on the new one coming soon! party_cat drinking24

As for kitty, someone with knowledge of high dose FD cats needs to step up here. All I can say is it would seem that the difference in his dose is a good thing, but I don't know anything about kitties that require that much insulin. I'm not aware of any except those with contributing illnesses, which I know nothing about. Big explanation just to say I'm clueless! :lol:

Best of luck to you and your family and that includes kitty. :-D

Someone with knowledge of these things, how 'bout some input? confused_cat
 
I think his spreadsheet is very interesting. I have asked for some more eyes to look at it.

Congratulations on soon to be new arrival to your family.
 
I think you're doing a good job, and his BG numbers look great.

If possible, I would try to get some night time numbers too, as cats often go lower at night time. At least a before bed test would be good to see some additional data.
 
If you're not testing at night, you're missing half your data. A 'one last test before you go to bed' test is a good one to get.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top