Michele & Theo
Member
My Theo was diagnosed in January 2019. He started out at 1.5u Prozinc 2x per day, but my Vet slowly increased it to 3.5 u in the morning and 3 units in the evening. Although there has been a small improvement in the average AM and PM readings, I feel that they are still way too high. In the past few weeks, there have been 4 incidences where his level was in the 'normal' range and hence no shot given. His levels are swinging quite a bit (for eg, today's AMPS he was 17.1 mmol/L (308 mg/dL) at +6.5 hr he was 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) and at PMPS he was 27.9 mmol/L (501 mg/dL). I faithfully take his BG levels before his insulin injections (see his spreadsheet. I plan on doing another curve this weekend or early next week (I had planned on doing one this week, but was recovering from bronchitis/flu).
There has been no improvement in his neuropathy (even with the compounded Zobaline), but I'm thinking this is because his BG levels are not stabilized.
Any thoughts/advice re current dosing regime would be very helpful I am wondering if the morning 3.5u might be too high or the evening one needs to be upped to 3.5u????
thanks in advance.
Michele
There has been no improvement in his neuropathy (even with the compounded Zobaline), but I'm thinking this is because his BG levels are not stabilized.
Any thoughts/advice re current dosing regime would be very helpful I am wondering if the morning 3.5u might be too high or the evening one needs to be upped to 3.5u????
thanks in advance.
Michele