Looking for advice on dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catrina

Member Since 2023
Hi all

I have had a stressful few days. Molson had some great numbers. Friday, April 7th, he had his lowest nadir at 4.5 (81)! but i forgot to cover my dogs food over night and i think he either got into (very likely because he always tries to eat my dogs food) or he had a major bounce because the next morning he was 27.8 (500) :(

Sunday, April 9th he had some great numbers again, although at +6 went to 2.4 (43)so i gave him 2 tsp of Friskies turkey and giblets with gravy High Carb food and his PMPS shot right up to 25.6 (461), i am thinking either from the food or from him bouncing. Today (Monday, April 10th) he was 13.9 (250) pre shot and 10.1 (182) at +5.

i was going to reduce him to 1.25u Sunday night but with his super high pre shot number i gave him 1.5u, but this morning i gave him 1.25. i was thinking of reducing him to 1.25u for a bit to see how that is since he got a 2.4 (43) on Sunday, im so lost on what his dose should be though? and when should i do his next curve or mid day test? Those two super high numbers i don't know if those are "real" or influenced by food or a bounce? It's so hard to keep him in that normal range, i am super paranoid he will become hypo or will be too high, the "normal" range is so small i feel like.

looking for some advice on:
- his dosage, what it should be (i was really thinking 1.25 since i think 1.5 was too high)
- how long I should keep it for
- when i should do a curve (i can't Tuesdays and Thursday's as not home all day)
- what those super high numbers could be
- what to do if he gets a number less than 2.8 (50) during the day between cycles
- how often i should be testing him on a not curve day
- if his pre shot test is low like between 2.8 - 5.5 (50-99), the day he got 2.4 (43) his pre-shot was 7.4 (133), i am wondering if i gave him too much insulin that day since i gave him 1.25u, maybe his preshot was too low?
& anything else!!

I am so torn between TR and SLGS.. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spreadsheet-question.276084/#post-3061821
Catrina you might also want to tap on your previous post which I posted in blue and re read what Bron said :cat:
@Catrina On April 9th during the day cycle he dropped to 2.4 (43) Bron said to reduce the next dose which would have been the night cycle and to give 1 unit
I see Bron has been helping you on your previous post and will ask her to take a look at your SS. I will tag her for you
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Bron I see that you gave her a lot of information about the 2 dosing methods , she did have SLGS on her signature but it's gone now ,it now says can't decide what protocol to follow.
 
Last edited:
Sunday, April 9th he had some great numbers again, although at +6 went to 2.4 (43)so i gave him 2 tsp of Friskies turkey and giblets with gravy High Carb
Catrina from what I can tell the Friskies Turkey and Giblets in Gravy is 15% carbs which is considered medium carbs
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.


Such as , I think you can get this in Canada
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy
20% High Carbs



Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

I would read all the yellow stickys on the lantus page
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
Here is your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spreadsheet-question.276084/
I have basically answered your questions in post 12 of the above thread. Have a read of that and see if that answers your questions.
how long I should keep it for
With SLGS you keep the new dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90 in which case you reduce the dose
what to do if he gets a number less than 2.8 (50) during the day between cycles
At the moment you are doing SLGS. You need to be doing more testing before you can do the TR, as i mentioned in the other thread. So you need to reduce if the BG goes under 90. The under BG 50 is for people doing TR. You can swap to TR once you are testing enough.
how often i should be testing him on a not curve day
If you want to follow TR you need to get every preshot and at least one test in every cycle. Most of us do more testing than that
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top