Taffysmama
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...hot-2u-2-219-5-128-10-95.168539/#post-1827546
Let's see how this goes today.
Let's see how this goes today.




Sooo...what do you both consider "prolonged"? Prior to Dx and including the first 2 weeks on insulin, Taffy may have been in highs for sometime. So far his kidney values are good but I like to worry ahead of time...just kidding. I'm just curious. Are there any outward signs of DKA or just the ketones in the urine? I do have strips and checked a few times at first when he was running higher.I only have one comparison point between the AT and the Relion, well actually the Glucocard 02 which is also made by the company that makes the Relion. I also have a Relion. The one comparison on the same blood was AT 427, Relion 393. That is well within the 20% allowable meter variance.
I agree with Gill that it's only prolonged high numbers that are a concern. That's actually a question I asked Neko's internal medicine vet a while ago and he confirmed it. BTW, the IM vet is young, and I really like him. He's willing to reasearch things, entertain my suggestions and look for alternatives if I don't like something. Those characteristics rather than base knowledge are what I like in a vet.
That said, regular ketone testing is a good idea if they spend any time in high numbers.
Welcome to the helicopter mom club.So far his kidney values are good but I like to worry ahead of time...just kidding
Well not what he is doing at the moment, but weeks/months of high numbers would concern me, so not how his ss looks now.Sooo...what do you both consider "prolonged"?
I stopped testing double after only a few comparisons, but now when I am getting in the 400s on the RO, wouldn't that be super high on the AT (and therefore would be very high per my vet)? Is this dangerous or worrisome when they go up that high?



LOL, I am already a total helicopter mom with Taffy! Pretty much with all of my pets thru the years, but more so with Taffy. I'm a little obsessed with him! It has to do with circumstances on how we found eachother and that he has had various health conditions that vets are little help with.Welcome to the helicopter mom club.Prolonged to me means months, which Neko may have done at first. But she has two high dose conditions and it took a while to get to a dose that got her good numbers.
My IM vet doesn't respond to emails until end of day, after seeing clients. Maybe your vet is the same. And we did have a "discussion" about dose and acceptable blood sugar numbers at first. I won that one when I showed the spreadsheet.

PMPS 301, I'll stay up for a couple checks, at leastNice to see Taffy doing a much calmer slide today instead of dropping off a cliff!!
Hopefully you'll get to get a good night's sleep!!
Yup. Woke me up for food (4:30am). Some yowling and pupils dilated, Checked BG at 108. Gave FF pate snack and added a little gravy. I hope he is not plummeting, as I am supposed to go out for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Only a couple of hours though and not far. But if he keeps heading down by AMPS I'll need a plan. Hate to skip again.Wow quite a drop by that +2!! Hope Taffy and you had a good night. Look like he means to get back to working the juice pretty sharpish.
Thank you for the great explanation. I will try to get a +11 in the mornings as well as the evenings. What is BCS and NB? Thanks. I started new thread for today.Hi Julie, What time are you going out? ie up until when can you monitor?
eg if you were not going out till +5/+6 (or later), you would probably be OK to shoot even if he was green as you will be able to monitor the first half of the cyclerr, and if he was still green as you were going to head out the door, you could give him a nice portion of HC fuds to abort the cycle and give you peace of mind while you were gone
But if you are going to be out at between +1 to +4 then I would probably suggest skipping altogether, that is likely to be the most active part of the cycle, especially if you find that he number is still dropping or flat by amps.
Getting a +11 in those situations helped me decide if Georges numbers where rising/falling/ or staying flat by PS time, remember it's more important to see which way the numbers are trending than the actual number itself, for example if he was 60 at +11 then 90 at amps that tells you he is on his way up already and the cycle is likely to be less exciting, ie the insulin action from the previous shot is waning, you are at the end of the duration, however, if he was 115 at +11 but 85 at amps, you can see he is dropping, he is still seeing significant insulin action, duration maybe a little longer and so that gives you the heads up to a more 'exciting cycle ', as the two shots overlap, so shooting if you can't monitor may not be the safest option, so that may err you to a skip (If you were going to be home shooting as the number is falling when you can monitor though is a perfect oportunity to take advantage of the overlap and duration to drive Taffy'ss BG range down into that healthy range.
Another alternative is to do a BCS, but as long as you are shooting some insulin you can't be sure that he won't drop while you are out, seeing as he is recovering so well from the skipped shots, I would err to skipping if you are not comfortable shooting the amps.
NB you haven't shot green before, so if you can't monitor the first half of the cycle I would be tempted to skip, as we don't know what he will do and whether he will stay safe.

Yes, there is a new thread for Taff. Thanks for the explain. His dose was 1.75u instead of 2 this morning because I sqeeuzed a tiny bit too much out and did not want to redo and figured it was ok since he was low. So there I'm a Big Chicken I guess!Morning, yes a new thread each day!
Hope you have a good Thanksgiving..haha Turkey is loaded with sleep inducing tryptophan so if you are eating it you might want to set TWO ALARMS for T/f/s
( test/feed/shoot)!!!
BCS ( big chicken Shot, or Big Chicken S**t depending on your preference) is a one time reduced dose
I think NB is not because?
Santa Ana's blowing again...argh I hate them...