LONG NIGHT AHEAD - pmps 136, +2 48, +3 57

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mouse & Me

Member Since 2016
Mouse is bouncing HARD. went from a high of 320 (relion) at noon today, to 48 at 10:30pm, 64 in other ear.
Now, it's 57 after she ate a can of fancy feast Medley, some dry food, and I rubbed some honey on her gums. I know, probably overkill, but the Lantus isn't due to kick in yet.
She did a few "vurps", sort of a sneezy cough, and has now settled down.
I guess I'm going to be up for a long time.
 
Never mind, looked at her SS. 136. Sure does look like she's clearing the bounce.
Make sure you don't fill her up too much in case you need to get more food into her when the FF & dry food and honey wear off.
 
Never mind, looked at her SS. 136. Sure does look like she's clearing the bounce.
Make sure you don't fill her up too much in case you need to get more food into her when the FF & dry food and honey wear off.
too late....she filled up on one 30z can of fancy feast medley. she usually eats only 1/2 a can. My bad......
The dry food makes her bloated, but it usually brings up her numbers when she gets too low, and it makes her less panicky. I cut out dry food, but saved some in reserve for emergencies. I only gave her about 1/8 cup.
Doesn't help that I'm exhausted from a long night of work. Not thinking straight.
 
too late....she filled up on one 30z can of fancy feast medley. she usually eats only 1/2 a can. My bad......
The dry food makes her bloated, but it usually brings up her numbers when she gets too low, and it makes her less panicky. I cut out dry food, but saved some in reserve for emergencies. I only gave her about 1/8 cup.
Doesn't help that I'm exhausted from a long night of work. Not thinking straight.
Don't stress too much, the first time Uncle hit 70 on the AlphaTrak I freaked out and fed him a whole can of HC. Came to find out a tablespoon or two would have sufficed!!! I'm sorry you're so tired from work but glad you are home to watch over her. :bighug::coffee:
 
You have my sympathy. Callie hit 42 today, and I was just thinking I was glad it wasn't at night, and now here you are. Hope she does okay for you tonight. :bighug:
 
You have my sympathy. Callie hit 42 today, and I was just thinking I was glad it wasn't at night, and now here you are. Hope she does okay for you tonight. :bighug:
Not the first time for low night numbers. I'm tempted to lower the dosage at night.
 
It doesn't work very well to do separate doses at morning and night. That might work for a non-depot insulin, but with a depot insulin it can be difficult to see what a dose is doing if the dose varies.

It sounds like you might be set for tonight. I hope Mouse comes up and stays up!
 
It doesn't work very well to do separate doses at morning and night. That might work for a non-depot insulin, but with a depot insulin it can be difficult to see what a dose is doing if the dose varies.

It sounds like you might be set for tonight. I hope Mouse comes up and stays up!
It's looking better.....what does this mean about dosage in the morning? Should it be lowered? The numbers right now are reflecting little snacks that ordinarily she wouldn't be getting. She's also been eating higher carb food, not her usual.
I've been switching her from fancy feast pate to BFF (weruva), because of the changes in the FF food (oil instead of gel- nasty). She's been getting better nadirs, and with it, bounces. I see a direct correlation with the food and better numbers, not wishful thinking.
So, this morning's shot, should be less? I will be faxing the numbers to the vet, but he doesn't come in until the afternoon.
 
what does this mean about dosage in the morning?
Since you are following TR, a dip under 50 earns her a .25 unit reduction. Although your retest was over 5o, the next test leads me to believe the 48 was likely more accurate than the 64. It's really up to you, in this situation, to decide whether or not to take the reduction. If you do want to take it, unless she is bouncing really high in the morning, you should shoot 3.25. If she is really high, you have the option to do what we call "shooting through the bounce", which means you shoot the old dose one more time, then take the reduction at the next shot time. Does that make sense to you?

On your SS, to show both your +2 tests, it would be less confusing to put them in the same cell. The way to do that is to enter 48, 64 in the cell. Then you will need to color it in manually, using the icon that looks like a paint can. In the Remarks column, I would explain that you got the 48 in one ear and retested and got 64 in the other. Let me know if you need help doing this.

 
Since you are following TR, a dip under 50 earns her a .25 unit reduction. Although your retest was over 5o, the next test leads me to believe the 48 was likely more accurate than the 64. It's really up to you, in this situation, to decide whether or not to take the reduction. If you do want to take it, unless she is bouncing really high in the morning, you should shoot 3.25. If she is really high, you have the option to do what we call "shooting through the bounce", which means you shoot the old dose one more time, then take the reduction at the next shot time. Does that make sense to you?

On your SS, to show both your +2 tests, it would be less confusing to put them in the same cell. The way to do that is to enter 48, 64 in the cell. Then you will need to color it in manually, using the icon that looks like a paint can. In the Remarks column, I would explain that you got the 48 in one ear and retested and got 64 in the other. Let me know if you need help doing this.
fixed the chart, thanks for the suggestion.
I also believe the lower number was the correct one, and she would have continued to go down if I didn't feed HC food, albeit, too much. I know better now. tablespoonfuls at a time instead of a whole can....this is what happens when you work at home, especially with assembly work, mind goes numb.
I'm going with the "shooting through the bounce". I already used the old dosage this morning, since she was at 303. I see the numbers going down, almost in the same pattern as yesterday.
Thanks!
 
I was going to suggest reducing the dose after that 48 as well - glad Tricia caught it. So Mouse's new dose will be 3.25u.

To explain more on the topic of shooting different doses in the morning and the evening . . . Here is a post that I wrote for someone else trying to explain a little bit more about how the depot works. See if that helps make more sense, and if not, tag me and I'll explain more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top