Loki's #'s starting 2/18

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Active Member
Hello,
Figured I would start another tread as they get crowded.
This AMPS he was 113 I gave him a skinny 1/2 unit while he was eating. Rechecked at 30 minutes and got 118. I am home today so will recheck him in 2 hrs. I should not have given him anything since I have a no shot at 200 but I felt confident enough for a skinny.
Let me have it if this was wrong, won't try this again.
Thanks
Old tread is viewtopic.php?f=24&t=89739
 
You will need to monitor him carefully. Giving .5 in the 150-170 range is doable but 113 is low for a shot. You don't know if it was headed up or down. This is my day to volunteer so I won't be around much. I'll pm Robin and Carl to see if they can watch. If not, and if you get low numbers, post on Health. Do you have the hypo info and higher carb food/ syrup if you need it?

Not trying to scare you, Michelle, but that is not a number I would shoot, even .5. It may be fine but you will need to watch him carefully and be ready to give high carb food/syrup if needed. Start with a +2, then +3 to see how he is doing.
 
Hi Sue
Thanks I have the hypo kit ready if needed and I am home so I am going to watch him so carefully. Will post every reading I get. Thanks and have a great day volunteering.
Michele
 
You can use food if he starts to drop, Michelle. He reacts pretty fast to it. If you get a 50, give a little low carb and test again in 20 minutes. If he drops to below 40, break out higher carb. In either case, just small amounts. You don't want him to get full and refuse to eat when you need the food to bring up the numbers.

Get out syrup if he continues to drop under 40. But it only lasts for a short while and then he will drop again. If you get in the 30s, it may require an ER visit.

If Carl and Robin can't be here, please go to Health. You will need guidance guiding numbers under 50. I'll be around for 2 hours and will watch for you that long.
 
I think you can give his ears a break till +6.

I was thinking that either the AMPS or the +2 might have been bad tests. But the test you got 181 on makes the AMPS look legit. And the +3 makes the +2 look right also.

I'd have to go with "bounce". Unless you fed him Cap'n Crunch for breakfast :-D

Carl
 
Last night at/PMPS you got a 292, and gave one unit. You mentioned getting a test before bed, but not sure if you did. Were there any tests between PMPS and the 113 this morning?

Looks like Loki is bouncing. I'm just trying to figure out why.

Carl
 
Michelle,
I try not to be a pest when it comes to spreadsheets (especially since I never did one for Bob). But if you have time, can you go back over the past couple of weeks and fill in the missing dose data? There are a few AMPS and PMPS cells that are blank. If you didn't give a shot, just put a zero in the box. But I don't think they were all zeros?

Carl
 
OK fixed SS. I noticed he was to low to shoot more then than now. Except for this AMPS which I thought would be OK to shoot a skinny 1/2 unit. Dummy I am.
 
Hi, I got Sue's pm and can hang around today.

My 2 cents would be that he went low last night and the 113 was a rising number into a bounce from that.
 
I'm leaving for about an hour to go let the dog out so I can spend extra time at the hospital tonight.

I'll pm you my cell phone in case you need something and Carl isn't around.
 
If Robin is right, and the AMPS this morning was actually rising from a lower number earlier, which I believe is logical, then Loki is bouncing off that lower number. So 1/2 unit this morning wasn't going to stop it. But there's no way you could have shot a higher dose this morning on a number that low.

Basically, you just have to let the bounce happen, and regroup once it's clear.

Carl
 
Strange day. I agree that the amps was probably the end of the cycle, when he may have gone lower, and he immediately bounced. I was nervous with the possibility that he would crash with the insulin on board. We got lucky.

Michelle, we would not encourage you to shoot 113. Wait 20 minutes and retest without feeding to see that he is sure rising. IMHO, don't shoot under 150-170 and then, a low dose. Think of it this way, with a preshot of 113, he has only 80 points to drop before he is the ER. That is too small a margin to be safe.

I am very glad you had a safe day. Good choice on the dose tonight.
 
Thanks Sue, your absolutely right. I do have a 200 no shoot limit so what I was thinking I think is that a skinny 1/2 would not hurt but your right bad call on my part. I am so glad nothing happened to my boy. I will recheck him again before bed tonight and see how he is and post it.
I am also using the auto-feeder tonight and set it for 4 hrs from his +12 which would be midnight my time. I can hear it since it's close to my bed and see how he does. Hubby may not be to happy though if it wakes him :lol: But he usually sleeps pretty sound cross fingers that he does.
 
Michelle,
I actually agree with your logic regarding the skinny .5 dose on a low number. Looking at your spreadsheet, it doesn't look like lately he has gotten much movement from doses of .5 or 1.0, so I understand how you were thinking this morning,

Had you seen another day like the past few days, with flattish yellow cycles, I was ready to suggest a dose increase.

I routinely gave insulin to Bob on numbers much lower than most people advise. But only after weeks of treatment. But I gave him .5u on numbers like you saw this morning. However, I had been giving him 4u previously and I had a pretty good feel for how he reacted to a dose.

At this point, you don't have the data yet to anticipate what could happen.

Anyway, what I'm trying to tell you is that it wasn't necessarily a "bad call" this morning. You made a logical decision, and you were planning on being able to monitor and react if needed to a low number. I don't know that I would consider shooting a normal-range number though. Maybe down the road, when you're almost to the point of trying an OTJ trial, and you're talking about a couple drops of insulin.

I might dose my cat differently than I would advise you to dose yours, because I don't feel comfortable putting him at risk. But I wouldn't have an issue with advise a tiny dose on a BG of 150, for instance, provided it was logical based on your spreadsheet data.

It wasn't this morning's shot that gave you the odd numbers and bounce today. The bounce started too soon for that. It takes Prozinc two or three hours to start to onset. The bounce showed up before the AM dose had a chance to kick in. The low number that caused the bounce had to have happened sometime before the AMPS reading.

Tonight's number is encouraging. It could be that the bounce is already starting to clear out.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top