Loki's numbers 3/19

Status
Not open for further replies.
Snag a +2 or +3 to see how he's dropping, because he dropped over 200 points yesterday on the 1.5 units. (Although on the 15th, he only dropped 100 points from mid-300s).

You can steer the curve (keep it from going as low, as quickly) by offering 2-3 teaspoons of low carb food when you test.
 
That should be okay; I would definitely get a midcycle number today. The idea of staying with the same dose does assume they will stay in the same general number range. If he goes down in the low 200s for a preshot sometime soon, you would reduce the dose.
 
This is what I did yesterday, when he was looking for food I gave him 1 to 2 teaspoons of his low card wet food. It seemed to have helped him not drop so fast. I will get the + 2 and +3 and post.
 
It would be okay if he would go down a little more, Michelle. A regulated cat is in the 200s at preshot and 100 or under at nadir, but above 40. As long as he stays above 40, a little lower would be fine. I don't think you need to worry. You might get a +8 or 9 to see where he is.
 
The 112 is a really nice number, with room to go further if you want.

This might be your first rule - if he is at or over 280, 1.5 units appears safe for him, so long as everything else is normal (ie he's eating, no other medical problems that you know of).
 
Okay have another mystery on my hands here. I did a + 7 and got 123 then a +8 and got 123 just did his PMPS and got 113 waited 30 minutes and recheck and still got the 113 so I decided to feed him and he wanted to eat his supper really bad, now my next question is this: how long after he eats do I check him? thanks and if his numbers are high enough should I shoot ? Not really crazy about skipping because in the past it's really messed him up for his next numbers and dose.
 
Well, Loki, you decided to join the party! He has done this before when the dose was a little high - had a long cycle and an unshootable pmps. So yes, you can see how he looks 2 hours after he ate and shoot, unless it will completely mess up your schedule. The number was clearly falling so we need the let the food get out of his system and see where he really is. I should be around in 2 hours and will check back.
 
Hmmmmmm. I think maybe a chicken $&/@ shot? Maybe .5? He is rising but that is still a low number. How does that sound? Could you get a before bed test in?

Loki does not seem interested in our idea of holding the dose. Clearly 1.5 was too much for 284. So maybe try 1.25 for 250+ and save the 1.5 for numbers in the 300+ range?

Remember you hated pinks. He gave your bouquet of blues today!
 
Ok going to give it to him now because I am going to bed myself, lots of shoveling done today. Will test him if I am not asleep at +4 also.
Thanks.
Oh yes I love the blues, music and color :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top