Loki in Remission?

Nancita

Member Since 2026
I halted administration of 0.25 u ProZinc Friday Oct 12 because I forgot to pack insulin for remote pet sitter. When tested again on Sunday Loki BG was in the lows 100s and I stopped insulin. Are we in remission? Please let me know your thoughts
Thank you
Loki's Spreadsheet (Nancita)
 
A non-diabetic cats' glucose level is between 50-120 I saw the SS, some cats do go on remission just by diet change giving low carbs between 0-10% carbs, to be sure how the insulin is reacting in your cat you should test during the day at least 3-4 times cats levels are usually low at night as well, so testing at +2 after PMPS shot can give you a better idea and a better pattern., for dosing advice
if you take a look at Corky's SS you will see some similarity in glucose levels as yours, however I never miss a shot or change doses and I shoot on low numbers, Corky is tightly regulated, uses ProZinc, however, he will be a lifetime diabetic, all cats are different, I do not give dosing advice so I will tag Suzanne to give you another insight on your concern for remission 🫶
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Ok. Thank you. This morning AMPS was 136, and his behavior has changed to hanging out in the feeding area, is more vocal and hiding in the closet to sleep. I also ordered a new ReliOn to make sure the one I am using is correct. Appreciate the help and expertise. I will try the +2 suggestion but it seems he may need his 0.25 ProZinc. Thank you!
 
Ok. Thank you. This morning AMPS was 136, and his behavior has changed to hanging out in the feeding area, is more vocal and hiding in the closet to sleep. I also ordered a new ReliOn to make sure the one I am using is correct. Appreciate the help and expertise. I will try the +2 suggestion but it seems he may need his 0.25 ProZinc. Thank you!
Didn’t you see my reply to your question from a couple of days ago? Let me link it below
 
This was my reply on Monday of this week after Wendy (one of our moderators) tagged me to assist you with your ProZinc dosing.

[IMG alt="Suzanne & Darcy"]https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/data/avatars/m/30/30260.jpg?1709404855[/IMG]

Suzanne & Darcy​

Member Since 2020​

Loki’s numbers look quite good, although I would like to see if he is seeing some green numbers. He should be spending time in numbers below 100. Can you get some mid cycle tests?

Also, there are doses smaller than .25, but before recommending that I would like to let him actually earn a reduction in dose.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...avgZ2qYiMr5aLGlSHr_dgzek/edit?usp=sharing_eol
 
Thank you. I did not see your reply and will resume insulin. 0.5u is too much and he hovers around 100-115 on 0.25u. He is very communicative and was much more himself prior to the disruption. Thank you. I did receive notifications from you both with the app for the first time.
Cheers
 
So, specifically, here is my suggestion to get Loki into remission (we hope) or at least spending most of his time in the normal healthy BG numbers of 50-120.

(1) Start following the Modified ProZinc Method. This will allow us to keep him in those healing green numbers.

(2) Keep him at the .25 unit dose until he earns a reduction down to 0.1 units. Then continue with the 0.1 units until her earns another reduction.

(3) Get at least one mid-cycle test per day for both the a.m. and p.m. cycle.

Doing it this way will help to avoid a premature stopping of insulin Doing it like this (slow and steady with earned reductions) will help to achieve a strong long-lasting remission. It will give his pancreas the time it needs to finish recovering.

I can help you. I would like for you to post over on the ProZinc forum.
 
0.5u is too much and he hovers around 100-115 on 0.25u.
The nadirs that I see on the .5 unit dose do not indicate that .5 units is too much insulin. Yes, he earned a reduction down to .25, but that is only because you were following SLGS at the time. Under MPM, he would not have earned a reduction and the greens he saw on .5 units were healthy green BG. SLGS is good for many newbies and it’s generally recommended to follow it for a month and then reevaluate the situation and BG data. However, with a cat who is really showing some promise of remission, SLGS isn’t going to get him there. That is why I have recommended following MPM…. but now I see some mention of dry food on your SS. Is Loki still eating the YA dry?
 
Back
Top