Loki AMPS 370 +6 506 +12 541

Baer & Loki

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone! We’re new here, so hope I’m doing this right. I’m Baer and my baby boy is Loki.

Loki’s general information is in my signature. I couldn’t figure out the spreadsheet on my phone but below are his curve numbers:

May 4
AM PS 436 AlphaTrak 2
7:30am 1/2 5.5 oz can food, 2 units Lantus
+2 412
+4 326
+6 303
2:00pm 1/2 can food
+8 275
+10 296
+12 264
7:30pm 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus

May 5
+10 370
7:30am 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus
+6 506
+12 541
7:30pm 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus


He’s recently diagnosed and I’m pretty new to all this. I know it can take quite a while to stabilize a cat that has been previously untreated and numbers can bounce around. I’ve been reading through the stickies but I’m just confused why his numbers are getting worse at nadir today? Vet said this is nothing to worry about for now.

When he had to go to the emergency vet about 2 weeks ago, which is when he was diagnosed, he was in severe DKA and with pancreatitis numbers in the 50s. He was discharged with no more ketones and his checkup a week later had his pancreatitis numbers more acceptable but still recovering. His behavior has also been back to normal since he’s returned. He has also lost weight, going from 15 lb to around 12 lb, which he currently still is. He isn’t overweight at all, even the vet said 14-15 lb is what he should be. He is just a big boy! So using TR, 2 units isn’t really too far off from what he should be getting anyway.

He was previously on a crappy all dry kibble diet; he has since switched to Purina and Hills wet m/d. I’m just using the free samples the vet gave, I know they’re not exactly low carb foods, but my Chewy order of Friskies Pate is taking longer than expected to get here but soon he will be moved to that. Speaking of orders, please keep in mind I only have the syringes the vet gave which are whole number only and I won’t be able to receive any other syringes immediately for half dosing.

The vet said he would recommend increasing to 3 units in the morning because his glucose is high then and keeping to 2 units at night and doing another curve in a week. He also said I can stay at 2 units BID and see how his next curve goes. He didn’t think I need to monitor for ketones at home. I plan to keep checking preshot and mid-cycle numbers for whatever I do. I’m amazed at what a sweetheart my boy is because he just sits for the tests like it’s no problem so I’m comfortable taking them despite my newness. Do you think I should bump up his morning units or stay put for another week? Any other advice? I’m worried sick about him and just could not bear to ever see him again in the state he was in before going to the ER.

Thank you for anything!!
 
I'm new to the longer lasting insulin too. Tiger is on Levemir..day 5. I do know that the insulin has to be given at the same time 2x a day and the same amount unless you are lower it because of a LOW reading in the cycle. And to NEVER have that much of a difference in dose amounts. If you can't do .25 then do .50. NEVER a whole number unless it is a reduction because of the Pre-shot being low.
 
Hi everyone! We’re new here, so hope I’m doing this right. I’m Baer and my baby boy is Loki.

Loki’s general information is in my signature. I couldn’t figure out the spreadsheet on my phone but below are his curve numbers:

May 4
AM PS 436 AlphaTrak 2
7:30am 1/2 5.5 oz can food, 2 units Lantus
+2 412
+4 326
+6 303
2:00pm 1/2 can food
+8 275
+10 296
+12 264
7:30pm 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus

May 5
+10 370
7:30am 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus
+6 506
+12 541
7:30pm 1/2 can food, 2 units Lantus


He’s recently diagnosed and I’m pretty new to all this. I know it can take quite a while to stabilize a cat that has been previously untreated and numbers can bounce around. I’ve been reading through the stickies but I’m just confused why his numbers are getting worse at nadir today? Vet said this is nothing to worry about for now.

When he had to go to the emergency vet about 2 weeks ago, which is when he was diagnosed, he was in severe DKA and with pancreatitis numbers in the 50s. He was discharged with no more ketones and his checkup a week later had his pancreatitis numbers more acceptable but still recovering. His behavior has also been back to normal since he’s returned. He has also lost weight, going from 15 lb to around 12 lb, which he currently still is. He isn’t overweight at all, even the vet said 14-15 lb is what he should be. He is just a big boy! So using TR, 2 units isn’t really too far off from what he should be getting anyway.

He was previously on a crappy all dry kibble diet; he has since switched to Purina and Hills wet m/d. I’m just using the free samples the vet gave, I know they’re not exactly low carb foods, but my Chewy order of Friskies Pate is taking longer than expected to get here but soon he will be moved to that. Speaking of orders, please keep in mind I only have the syringes the vet gave which are whole number only and I won’t be able to receive any other syringes immediately for half dosing.

The vet said he would recommend increasing to 3 units in the morning because his glucose is high then and keeping to 2 units at night and doing another curve in a week. He also said I can stay at 2 units BID and see how his next curve goes. He didn’t think I need to monitor for ketones at home. I plan to keep checking preshot and mid-cycle numbers for whatever I do. I’m amazed at what a sweetheart my boy is because he just sits for the tests like it’s no problem so I’m comfortable taking them despite my newness. Do you think I should bump up his morning units or stay put for another week? Any other advice? I’m worried sick about him and just could not bear to ever see him again in the state he was in before going to the ER.

Thank you for anything!!
Take a look at Tiger's SS the link is shown in the info that is attached to my user name
 
When did Loki start insulin? Did he start at 2 units? We don't go up by half units. Any chance of eyeballing those half units? One trick until you get new syringes, is to fill an old syringe with coloured liquid to what you think is half way between the lines. Use that as a comparison until you get the proper syringes. Walmart has half unit syringes if you can get there, or get then to deliver.
He didn’t think I need to monitor for ketones at home.
Sorry, vet is wrong on that. We've seen cats go from nothing to trace to large ketones quite quickly. I'd get some ketostix too so you can test his urine for ketones.

With the dosing methods we use here, we find it better to give the same dose AM and PM.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie and @Chris & China (GA) one of whom can help you getting a spreadsheet going.
 
When did Loki start insulin? Did he start at 2 units? We don't go up by half units. Any chance of eyeballing those half units? One trick until you get new syringes, is to fill an old syringe with coloured liquid to what you think is half way between the lines. Use that as a comparison until you get the proper syringes. Walmart has half unit syringes if you can get there, or get then to deliver.

Sorry, vet is wrong on that. We've seen cats go from nothing to trace to large ketones quite quickly. I'd get some ketostix too so you can test his urine for ketones.

With the dosing methods we use here, we find it better to give the same dose AM and PM.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie and @Chris & China (GA) one of whom can help you getting a spreadsheet going.
I was gonna tag you but thought you'd be in bed by now.
 
Back
Top