Loki amps 288 PMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Loki amps 288

All going back to 1u is going to do is take him back to unshootable numbers again. You are no longer working with an In and Out insulin like PZI...Lantus is a Depot insulin.

Loki has already proven to you that 1u is too high to give you shootable numbers both am and pm. So to maintain the ability to shoot both am and pm you need to drop the dose back to .75u and HOLD it for 5-7 days...run a curve and adjust the dose from there.

Lantus unlike PZI does not get adjusted off the preshot numbers it is adjusted off the NADIR or LOWEST POINT in the cycle.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Loki amps 288

Ah, the light bulb just went off in my brain, now I get it. will stick to the .75 for the next 5-7 days and see where that takes us. Thanks again :-D
 
Re: Loki amps 288

Glad to hear it...yes with Lantus the only thing the preshot values really tell us is if it is safe to give insulin in the first place. Because of its cumlative effect the dose has to be consistant both am and pm and adjustments are made off the nadir or lowest point in the cycle.

Also when working with Lantus in the beginning your no shoot number is 200 as you collect data and start to know when onset is and where and how low they go at nadir that no shoot number will drop and there are many of us that have been doing this awhile that will routinely shoot a full dose on a preshot as low as the 50s and 60s but we have months and months of data to support that decision.

You are going to kind of have to unlearn everything you learned about how PZI works to work with Lantus because to compare the two is sorta like comparing apples to oranges...yes they are both fruit or insulin in this case but have completely different flavors. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Loki amps 288

Just want to throw in, hold the .75 dose UNLESS he drops to 50 or below, then he will have earned a .25 reduction.

Glad that light bulb went off for ya! :thumbup
 
Okay spoke to the vet and he said if Loki was still giving me low # to go with the .75 like yesterday, unless he is under 200 then no shot. Tonight at PMPS he is 295 so I gave him 1 unit.
See you in the morning.
 
With Lantus you need to pick a dose and hold it...it is not dosed on a sliding scale nor is it dosed off preshot numbers. That type of dosing only works for "In and Out" insulins like PZI not with depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir.

By going back to 1u you are going to consistantly get low preshots ever few days when the depot/shed is full at which time you are going to have a couple of choices

1) Lower the dose so he gives you shootable numbers both am and pm

0r

2) Shoot a full dose on a low preshot number and monitor closely to prevent hypo because right now you don't have the testing data to support shooting low to stay low.

Repeatedly skipping dose or changing doses does not allow Lantus to work in the way it is intended to.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top