Loki amps 109 + 2 329 +8 312 PMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Loki amps 109

For future reference when you get a lower than normal preshot, you need to stall 30 minutes without feeding and then retest. Feeding is going to falsely elevate his number on the next test. And you are going to be right back to where you were the other day with him bouncing into higher numbers from either a late shot/reduced shot to keep him on schedule or a completely skipped shot.

Lantus needs to be given on a 12/12 schedule consistantly or it just isn't going to work right for Loki...it is very different from PZI which is an IN & OUT insulin it goes in and does its job and is wearing off by the next shot...Lantus is a DEPOT insulin, each shot builds on the next one, when you shoot late or skip or shoot late and reduce the shot to keep him on schedule you drain the DEPOT. So you are constantly filling and draining the depot and not allowing the Lantus do its job properly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Loki amps 109 +2 329

Hi, I am doing the 12 12 schedule with him, the vet wants him on 1 unit amps and 1 unit pmps, did not know about waiting the 30 minutes before eating though.
Thanks.
 
Re: Loki amps 109

Food even low carb will spike their BGs that is the way nature made them. As far as your vet wanting him on 1u am & pm it looks like Loki is telling you that it is too high of a dose for him. Because he is giving you numbers at preshot that are unshootable. If you are going to be able to stay with him and monitor today. Shoot a .75u but you are going to need to monitor him longer than up to +6 if you do shoot. You are probably going to need to stay with him and check him every couple of hours for his entire am cycle. If you can't stay with him today...just skip it this morning and shoot that same .75u tonight, yes it will still drain some of his depot/shed today and he will be high tonight but with the way he is bottoming out and giving you unshootable numbers his dose needs to be decreased so you can shoot consistantly on a 12/12 schedule.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Loki amps 109 +2 329 +8 312

Will try skipping the dose this morning and resume tonight. Will be home except for 5 hrs of work this afternoon. Will be home for the +6 check.
 
Hopefully he will start giving you two shootable numbers now...remember he will probably be fairly high in the morning from the skipped shot this morning but it shouldn't take him too long to get back on track again especially since he didn't go really high today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Surprised he wasn't very high tonight. :o

For a cat that didn't get his insulin this morning, that is an excellent PMPS. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top