Loki 6/7 amps 217 pmps 69 1/2 later 65 1hr 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Just fed him, because when I rechecked him after the 30 minutes from his pmps he was down to 65 from 69 made me really nervous and it was his feeding time anyway. No insulin
Amps was 217

*** Will recheck him in 1 hr and post. My question is should I give him his insulin if his #'s are ok to give when I recheck him?

1 hr recheck 88 looks like no insulin for him tonight and will have to deal with a bounce tomorrow.
 
Hi Michelle,

Keeping you hopping, isn't he? ;-)

I just took a look at the protocol for "start low, go slow", and I am wondering if maybe it makes sense to drop Loki's dose?

Step 3. After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat’s normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.

It does say "smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus, so maybe a reduction of .25u?

Hope someone with more experience can give their opinion...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top