Loki 6/14 218 +2 254 pmps 277

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Loki 6/14 218

Good Morning Michelle ~O) ~O) ~O)

Nice job shooting!

I'm going to be out on the water trying to catch some fish for dinner (NOT); but am going boating; I'll check on you a little later; Contact me if you need/want to :-D :-D :-D

I'm thinking you're probably at work or school

TGIF!!!
 
Re: Loki 6/14 218 +2 254

Hi Michelle,
I'm getting to walk out the door but wanted to check in once more before I leave.

With her +2 being higher than her AMPS, it looks like either she'll have a flat or normal cycle--MAYBE--sometimes our kitties decided to do what they wanna do--I guess that's the nature of a cat. If her +2 would of been lower than her AMPS, then you may have been in for an "active" cycle. With Lantus, the lowest point (her BG the lowest) is usually somewhere in the +5 to +7 range a.k.a. nadir.

Here's a typical Lantus curve-- (in case you don't have this info yet) A good guide, though every cat is different:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


With Lantus, the dose is based on the nadir. I believe that with PZI, the dose is based on the pre-shot number. (Advisors please correct me if I'm wrong)

I hope this helps and gives you a better understanding on how Lantus works :-D :-D :-D

Off to the lake now...will check back later...as always, contact me if you have any questions (though I can't give dosing advice)...

Kat
 
With Lantus, the dose is based on the nadir. I believe that with PZI, the dose is based on the pre-shot number. (Advisors please correct me if I'm wrong)

Kinda, sorta.... With PZI, you look at both the preshot and the nadir, do the math, and then see how much drop there was. Then you can adjust the dose based on the preshot number, "aiming" for a nadir, or a certain percentage of "drop" from high to low. There is a great deal of experimentation involved. What it can result in is a "sliding scale" based on the preshot numbers in order to try for a nice nadir. The trick is to get a nadir low enough to do some good, without going so low it causes a bounce. There really isn't a protocol (not one followed here anyway), so it's lots of trial and error, and it can be just as frustrating and maddening as any other insulin, if not more so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top