Loki 3/16 here we go again with low AMPS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Active Member
This cat is going to send me to get professional help I swear. Well not my Loki but this #@%^&# disease of Diabetes. His morning AMPS were 124 as per our continuing protocol I retested 30 minutes later, he was at 100, getting some food into him now, what would ever happen if I had to be somewhere and could not have the luxury of being home. This is what scares me about going back to school in April.
Good Morning by the way :-D

*****Added at 9am- he is down to 87 after eating, keeping the Karo ready....... nailbite_smile
 
I am befuddled! So I guess he could have gone low yesterday and that caused a bounce into the reds last night. Then shooting into the bounce caused a long cycle today. But I agree with you - the only way to know that would have been more numbers yesterday, and you just can't do that every cycle. He is so unpredictable.

For today, you know what to do. Little food bites at a time, monitor. He should start coming up again. I do remember that is why we were waiting for the U100s. We wanted to increase by less than .5

Or maybe he heard how you hated pinks and just wanted to make Mom happy again. :mrgreen:
 
Ok he is coming up but so slow, he went from 124 at AMPS to 100 1/2 hr later,and then to 87 and now another 30 minutes and he is at 114. I was just thinking I got him some Little Lion Treats yesterday. I have seen them recommended here and I did not think the contents would affect him that bad to drop like that. Could it be possible? I guess I will have to hold his insulin today and see in 2 hrs that would be a +4 check and then a +6 later on. He seems fine acting normal, alert , eyes clear and so on.
At first I did not worry because I figured he would come up but such a low amount now I am getting nervous about the rest of the day. nailbite_smile
Will update again at his + 4 and +6, will keep this page open in case you guys have any other ideas I can use.
 
Don't forget that those are good numbers - we only get nervous in the 40s.

I wouldn't think it would be the treats (unless you were giving him a high carb snack before). My theory is that last night was a bounce and we missed a low yesterday.
 
Ok have a problem here, he is now at 427 at +6 I hope you guys are around and tell me if I should give him a little to eat ( he usually eats at +6) and shoot?
and how much?
Please be around, I am pretty nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
i think it would be okay. He is certainly rising. I would be careful with the dose. Two units gave you a long cycle yesterday and part of his number right now could be a bounce from the lows in this cycle. Hope about a token shot of one unit or even less and then monitor at +2 and +6. What will this do to your 12/12 schedule?
 
Thanks Sue for getting back to me so fast. It will mess up his 12 and 12 but I can always get him back I think once he is safe. Ok off to give him 1 unit and feed him a little, but I will not be home as I have to go to RI for a few hours for a family meeting grr_red but I think 1 unit will help him more than nothing.
 
Yes I will be gone, and I can leave food out for him. Just gave him 1 unit and he is eating. Will update when I get back and trust me will be back asap.
If I could I would give you a big hug in person but this one will do I hope?
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thaks, Michelle. I wish we could get him on a more even keel. Today, while weird, was a good sign. He can get down to decent numbers. We just have to figure out how to give him the right dose.....at the right time......
 
After looking at the spreadsheet, I am wondering if he is one of those cats who gets major New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) whenever the dose changes.

If that seems accurate to you, you might consider holding the 1 unit for several days before doing any increase if he meets the criteria for it. Any increase should be 0.25 units at a time - small, so as not to provoke a lot of reactivity. If he goes too low (under 50), he actually may need a decrease.
 
Hi, guys I am back home in time to get his +6 and he is at 384 now in order to get to his next test at +12 that would make it 4AM and totally mess up his regular AMPS time. I am somewhat confused here as to what to do if anything tonight? Do I get up at 4AM and do a +12 check and give insulin? Or do I just wait till morning and deal with what those numbers tell me for his AMPS at his regular time? He is fine, acting normal, ate really well while we were gone, he has his regular amount of food and had regular amount of water.
I really think I should wait till his regular time but know his AMPS will be high then, so as you can see I am totally unsure. What would you guys do?
Thanks again.

*BJM I tend to agree with you about the 1 unit and give him a couple of days to see where it brings him, and if I have to increase after a couple of days to go easy with the increase. I am home tomorrow in the am and some of the afternoon but will be gone for a few hours and then should be home for his regular PMPS test. It's so hard sometimes to juggle the family life and my sugar boy's.
 
Better high for a day than low for a moment.
Do you check for ketones?

An advantage to non-depot insulins is that you may give a token dose when you have less than 12 hours to get back on track. Maybe 0.25 to 0.5 units?

Remember - he can't use the glucose in his blood without insulin.
 
Thanks BJM, I did a Ketone test 2 days ago and it was negative. Okay then will give him a 0.5 units good thing I got my marked U 100's yesterday.
Thanks again so much for your help. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top