Logan 8/21 AMPS 294, +1 372, +3 133, +4 67, +5 109, +6 215

Klunkers

Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone,

Logan is a "new"ish diabetic on 1.5 units of Lantus. He dipped down to 65 at 2am last night (he typically runs lowest at night, as it sounds like most cats do?) and I'm concerned about tonight that given his trends he may get too low. He was DKA and hospitalized two days after he was first diagnosed.

He just transitioned onto 100 percent Fancy Feast Pates from what was formerly a mix of Glycobalance and FF as of yesterday. Prior to yesterday, he was 350+ (meter does not go higher) almost consistently.

The vet had advised not dosing him if he was below 180 at night, but he's already at 252 a couple hours ahead of his shot which means we'd normally give him the full dose. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Thanks!
 
With a past DKA skipping is never a good idea. If following SLGS which you are, a reduction is earned of the bg is under 90 so the new dose for him is 1.25. If ever under 200 at shot time, STALL AND DON’T FEED. test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg is rising. If close to 200 shoot. You will gradually lower that number. If not close to 200, post and ask for dosing advice. Even a token dose is better than skipping.
 
@Klunkers
Hi Melissa it's IMPORTANT for you to add previous DKA to your signature
I would also add FF Pates only since 8-20 since you noted he is off all dry now so members know and add Freestyle Libre to your spreadsheet also

To do this tap on your name then tap on signature and add all of this
Good luck with the reduction
I would also have a human meter on hand in case the Libre stops working
Testing is not that hard
You can get the Relion Premier Classic at Walmart either in the store or order it on line
It's 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up
A video one of our members posted
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you bought a human meter it doesn't need to be coded , only a pet meter does like Janet is using
 
Last edited:
Back
Top