Little started Lantus today AMPS 336

Lisa and little

Member Since 2018
hi guys. I’m probably going to be a pain in the butt for a while since I’m new to Lantus. So far +3 and +6 are flat upper 300s. Maybe I made a mistake by only shooting 1.75 or is this a “normal” reaction to a change in insulin?
 
So don’t change her dose after 6 cycles if I’m doing TR?
Yes, you want to hold the dose for at least 6 cycles. After 6 cycles, a dose change can be considered.

Just to recap because I know it's a lot of info:
General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Also do you mind putting Little's name in the title? And feel free to continue updating the title with Little's BG readings throughout the day. Check out the L&L forum main page to see examples of others doing it :D

Good job starting Lantus today, Lisa!!! :bighug:I hope Little does better with it!
 
No problem! I always have to read the stickies over and over and over again. It's been 8 months since I switched to Lantus/Levemir but I still need to read those stickies! :D I know some members print it out along with the hypo info and place it somewhere to read in their home too.
 
So day 2 and we did better than expected. What do I do should I get a blue at AMPS? Or any PS in the next few days? Hold the dose or reduce? And just to be really clear, regardless of TR I am holding this initial dose for 14 cycles ? .... unless she dives of course
 
What do I do should I get a blue at AMPS?

I believe the first option is to stall (15 minutes) and if Little's number continue to rise, to shoot. It's also important you have the ability to monitor if you are shooting blue for the first time. The other option is to give a reduced dose or skip the dose. Hopefully an expert comes in to further add to my answer.

Remember, we adjust doses on Lantus according to how low it brings a cat. So it's important you either do a curve to catch Little's low or test enough to catch the low on a daily basis.

This is different from PZI where we definitely take into account PS numbers on what dose to give. Not so much on the depot insulins. Why? Because the number you are shooting will not be the same when Lantus begins to work - which is typically 2-3 hours later. You are shooting a trend, so to speak.

For example: on Levemir, Ming's onset is around +4 to +5. Sometimes at PS, he is at his lowest point. I've gotten greens and 50s at PS and I still shoot because I know he has 5 more hours to RISE. If I tested anywhere from +1 to +4, his number will most likely be higher than his PS number.

When you encounter a PS number and am uncertain what to shoot, post! Change your title to reflect your question and add a "?" icon to it so more eyes will come help. Also remember to make a new post everyday. Here's a thread on how to make the most of your experience on the Lantus Forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...saglar-levemir-land-experience-updated.46014/
 
Hi Lisa and Little; welcome to Lantus Land!
There's no such thing as "being a pain in the butt" !!! We were all new at some point!
 
Back
Top