? Little Ra - AMPS 196 +3 104 +6 170 +9 150 PMPS 154 - Dosage advice, please

LittleRa

Member Since 2018
Hi,

We're on the 4th day of Lantus tight regulation, about to do the 2nd shot of the day.

The numbers for the day are :

AMPS 196 +3 104 +6 170 +9 150 PMPS 154

We want to follow the protocol, but we're hours from any vet.

We are studying the Lantus tight protocol, and wondering whether to shoot 1.5 units, shoot less, or not shoot.

We haven't switched over to low carb food yet. That's next week.

He has been steadily dropping at 1.5 units, and runs a little lower at night but we don't have much night data.

Any advice is appreciated.
 
We are studying the Lantus tight protocol, and wondering whether to shoot 1.5 units, shoot less, or not shoot.

We haven't switched over to low carb food yet. That's next week.
Once he has made the switch to all Low Carb then you can follow TR. A prerequisite of TR is that they are on and all wet LC diet.
For now you should look to follow SLGS, until you make the change. On SLGS you hold the dose for a week 7 days /14cycles unless they earn a reduction by dropping below 90.
That's quite a nice all blue cycle, that +1 in the pm cycle makes me wonder if he is intending to go lower. Also that 104 is quite close to a reduction point on SLGS.

Have you already started transitioning him? I take it the HC food he still eats is dry? Try to transition slowly, as the reduction in carb load can dramatically impact the numbers.


He's looking good on Lantus.
 
Great!! It's a good idea to get a +1 and +2 when you shoot a lower Pre-shot

Good to know. I will do that. Thanks so much!

How is Little Ra?
Hope you are getting great numbers. :)

He is doing well! His number are improving!

Once he has made the switch to all Low Carb then you can follow TR. A prerequisite of TR is that they are on and all wet LC diet.
For now you should look to follow SLGS, until you make the change. On SLGS you hold the dose for a week 7 days /14cycles unless they earn a reduction by dropping below 90.
That's quite a nice all blue cycle, that +1 in the pm cycle makes me wonder if he is intending to go lower. Also that 104 is quite close to a reduction point on SLGS.

Have you already started transitioning him? I take it the HC food he still eats is dry? Try to transition slowly, as the reduction in carb load can dramatically impact the numbers.


He's looking good on Lantus.

This is super helpful. We are still a bit confused by the protocols, but getting better with a little help! (Thanks!) I haven't started transitioning him yet to the wet low carb, but will as soon as the numbers stabilize. We will definitely go slow with the food transition since I don't want him bottoming out.

I think he is responding well too comparatively with Vetsulin. The numbers speak a thousand words for sure.
 
His numbers do look great!
I am still confused by it all, but I am learning. You will feel more comfortable in no time :)
 
Back
Top