Little One, switchover from ProZinc to Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie

Member Since 2012
Hi,
I introduced my new FD kitty, Little One, on Health today & asked for help, as I plan to switch her from ProZinc to Levemir shortly.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=77314

My Pudge continues to do great &, as soon as I get over my fear of jinxing his remission :oops: , we'll be back for an OTJ party. I'm running some incredibly long tiring days & this is my second attempt to post here. I have such sweet memories of the PZI forum. Thank you guys :-D !

All help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Sophie,
Are you planning to follow the tight regulation protocol with the Lev? A great person to ask for assistance would be Libby. Hershey has done very well after her switching to Lev. Have you gotten any advice regarding the starting dose for Lev?

I follow along all of the threads from the people who have gone to Lantus or Levemir and post in the Lantus TR forum. If you are going to post there, I'll sure we will cross paths!

Best of luck with Little One, and you shuold post here anytime you wish!

And fantastic that Pudge continues to do well. :smile:

Carl
 
Hi Sophie -

I also switched from ProZinc to Lev on May 31. The flexibility you're accustomed to is a little differnent. You won't see a lot of sliding scales, or be able to do much shooting early or late like we were able on ProZinc, but I've seen more movement in the last week than I saw in months two through five on ProZinc.

I started at 50% my ProZinc dose. Typically that's what they recommend, untless you have an Acro cat. I followed the instruction of my vet and the vet at NC State vet school, but climbed the dosing ladder pretty quickly as Grayson is insulin resistant and prone to ketones.

Wishing you well in your switch, and let me know if I can help any.

Lu-Ann
 
Hello,
Carl & Lu, thank you so much for your replies. YES, Carl, I'll be following the TR regulations though I don't know how much posting I'll be able to do. Having computer issues - AT&T is having problems in my area. It's always great to hear from you.

Lou, much appreciate your offer of help. I'm confused as to the initial dose. Thought of starting Little One on 0.5 unit of Levimir but now I think that's too low because she's on 1.6 of ProZinc (down from 2.6 over the past 7, or so, weeks). It appears to me that she should be started on 2 units of Levimir. I might compromise & settle on 1.5u of Levemir (will test for ketones 2X daily). Any thoughts on this? Thanks again. I don't know when I'll be able to respond but all hints & suggestions are much appreciated.
Best wishes,
Sophie
 
The usual recommendation is to start out at 70% of your current dose, I think. The best place to post that question would be the TR lantus forum. Other factors would be diet and how available you would be for testing, and of course they would look over your SS. IF internet access is in question, I would probably be conservative and go with 1.0u?

Carl
 
Hello!
Carl, I did switch Little One to Levemir & she loves it! I watched her for about an hour washing herself last night! Incredible! Her Am & Pm pre-shots were in low blues & she stuck around 60s & 80s during most of two cycles. Of course, it's early days but my immediate aim is to keep her under the renal threshold. I'll be happy with that. I plan to follow the Levimir protocol & post on Health when I need help or need to crow with joy or tremble with trepidation!!! I read Tilly's verbal description of the protocol & found much reassurance in it, including the fact that it's not unusual for a cat not to have a reproducible nadir or that it's not unusual for a cat to nadir at +12 (as does my Little One).

I love & follow all you pics. Lovely :-D Hoping for good weather for your area. Your kindness is much appreciated.

Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top