? Little One AMPS 317 +2 559: Need help with dose

tackeee

Member Since 2019
So Little One was upped to 3.5 units of Lantus recently and initially FINALLY showed some blue and yellow numbers on his spreadsheet several days ago. I have been swamped with work lately and haven't had time to test as much, but his numbers have crept back up it seems, and don't necessarily make sense. Someone suggested that since his body isn't used to lower numbers, it could be because his panicky liver is kicking in even at higher BG numbers. This chart makes me think I should up to 4 units 2x daily as the numbers keep rising and/or staying within the same range.

I'm going to try and get in a few extra tests today and tomorrow for more data, but I'd love a few eyes on his spreadsheet.

(History: He started one one unit when he was diagnosed 12/7; he stayed there for 1.5 weeks then went up to 2 units for about 2.5 weeks, then 3 units 2x daily when I started home testing, which is represented on his spreadsheet).

Thoughts? Thank you!
 
A couple of random thoughts.....firstly we normally only change the dose by .25u; if you change it by more than .25u you may go right past a good dose for Little One. Also, what is Little One eating and has his diet been changed since he was dx?
 
My vet suggested a .5 increase and those yellows and blues are the lowest I’ve ever seen his numbers, so I figured a .5 increase showed progress, but I’m willing to do .25s from here on out. Before he was diagnosed, he mainly ate wet Royal Canin HE digestive food; his stomatitis meant he didnt handle dry well. Then He was on dry glycobalance per the vet, but has since shifted to only wet fancy feast pate since I started testing (at 3units) and after becoming more familiar with this forum. He gets a bit more than two 3 oz cans a day because he lost so much weight. He’s been skin and bones, but seems to be more alert lately and I think has finally started to put on a tiny bit of weight. He gets one can in the am, one can at night, and I give him small wet food snacks during the day, but always keep food away for two hours before I test.

That one week of blue and yellows is the lowest it’s ever been at the vet or with home testing and made me think he’s on the right track.

Also he’s on (for a few days now) some gabapentin for mouth pain (50mg morning and night). He gets plaque off and some probiotics in his wet food too.
 
With blue numbers, and given Little One’s current size of dose, a 0.25 unit increase is recommended. Once the total dose is large enough, you might go back up to larger increases. Is it possible to grab a before bed test each night? Many cats go lower at night and it’ll help fill in the picture of how low this dose is taking him, if you cannot get tests during the day due to work.

Which flavours of Fancy Feast is he eating now? Gaining a bit of wight is a good sign.:)
 
With blue numbers, and given Little One’s current size of dose, a 0.25 unit increase is recommended. Once the total dose is large enough, you might go back up to larger increases. Is it possible to grab a before bed test each night? Many cats go lower at night and it’ll help fill in the picture of how low this dose is taking him, if you cannot get tests during the day due to work.

Which flavours of Fancy Feast is he eating now? Gaining a bit of wight is a good sign.:)

I'll up his dose again to be at 3.75! Is it typically useful to increase after a week, or give less time in-between?

He usually has turkey and giblets or chicken and beef, or chicken always in the pate classic. He doesn't like the other kinds anyway as he doesn't like to chew any food. When I can, I've been giving him some small wet food snacks in-between meals because he is always still hungry and needs to gain some weight. (I think the increased plaque off and perhaps the gabapentin help too with his mouth).

Thanks always for the help. =)
 
It’s fine to feed several small meals, just try to keep most of the food to the first half of the cycle before nadir.

The time you hold a dose depends on which dosing method you are following, Tight Regulation Protocol or Start Low Go Slow method. TR requires more testing as the increases are quicker than for SLGS. I was assuming you are following SLGS because of the number of tests on the spreadsheet. SLGS has you take a week at each dose, then do a curve, and decide if you need to increase.
 
Back
Top