Little Bit New Dosage Contd

Status
Not open for further replies.

Little Bit’s Mom

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosage-help.235932/#post-2646164
New thread for my sweet LB! Hoping we are on the way to some blues and greens! He says thank you to everyone for loving him and helping his mommy<3
upload_2020-9-28_20-21-8.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-28_20-21-8.jpeg
    upload_2020-9-28_20-21-8.jpeg
    83.7 KB · Views: 286
Hi Olivia,

do you think his numbers could still be a bounce?
Possibly, but unfortunately I'm not the best person to ask because I've not used Prozinc and therefore I'm not really familiar with how cats typically respond to it.

I see you've already tagged Deb above, but I'm also going to tag @Panic and @JanetNJ who know more about Prozinc than I do (not difficult! :oops: ).

Sorry I couldn't be of more help on this particular question.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Olivia,


Possibly, but unfortunately I'm not the best person to ask because I've not used Prozinc and therefore I'm not really familiar with how cats typically respond to it.

I see you've already tagged Deb above, but I'm also going to tag @Panic and @JanetNJ who know more about Prozinc than I do (not difficult! :oops: ).

Sorry I couldn't be of more help on this particular question.


Mogs
.
Thank you!
 
You could try that first if you want. If it was my cat and I could test I would do 3... the reason being is you are still mostly in the mid to high 200's... not close to the blues yet. BUT if you are more comfortable starting with 2.75 then go ahead and do that first. :)
Thank you! I did 2.75 tonight, but can bump to 3.0 in the morning if you think it’ll be safe.
I want to get him regulated so badly. A little disheartening because he initially showed improvement on the 2.5 dose.
 
Thank you! I did 2.75 tonight, but can bump to 3.0 in the morning if you think it’ll be safe.
I want to get him regulated so badly. A little disheartening because he initially showed improvement on the 2.5 dose.
Yeah, That happens a lot with my cat too. I'll raise the dose, it will work for a day then rise again. Not unusual.
 
I’m sorry you have the same issue. Hoping we can both find a dose to keep them within a “normal” BG level.
Thank you for your help and support!:bighug:
My case is a bit complicated with her having acromegaly... But we just take the numbers as they come. She's been high this week out of the blue, but had been doing pretty good. Hopefully she'll get back there soon.
 
My case is a bit complicated with her having acromegaly... But we just take the numbers as they come. She's been high this week out of the blue, but had been doing pretty good. Hopefully she'll get back there soon.
+2 he’s at 397—will I be ok to go to bed since it is so high? Not sure if I need to monitor more tonight since it’s an increase.
 
I think Janet told her to jump up to 3u from 2.5u. On Lantus TR you can jump by half units if nadir is still over 300 I think? Need to recheck. Not sure if there's an equivalent to MPM, will have to check the sticky.
Little Bit uses Prozinc—so stick with 2.75 a bit longer?
*edited to say I see where you typed MPM! I shouldn’t respond so quickly. I’m sorry! Y’all tell me what the best course of action is—happy to stick with 2.75 for 6 cycles. I’ll do whatever is best for LB. :)
 
No, cats need what they need. 3u isn't unusual. Once you hit 6u then we start looking into high dose conditions. You may just be fighting some glucose toxicity.
 
No, cats need what they need. 3u isn't unusual. Once you hit 6u then we start looking into high dose conditions. You may just be fighting some glucose toxicity.
Hoping we won’t hit 6 units :( but I’m glad to know this isn’t unusual. It could be glucose toxicity because he started 2.0 units last October and then decreased the dose only a few months ago when I *thought* he was better. I told my vet and I really wish he would’ve insisted that I test at home. Really kicking myself about not testing earlier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top