Linus Sunday 4/22 - Not pretty-advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
UGH. AMPS 446. In 4 months we have made exactly zero progress. Now what?

My schedule this week is tough, but I'm going to try to get him to the vet soon for a dental. I know she's going to ask why the high numbers and why are you still at 2 point something? I'm not really sure how to answer that one.
 
Re: Linus Sunday 4/22

+5 was 326, +8.75 and he is at 398 already. He's been sleeping next to my chair while I watched Nascar, I haven't seen him outside, there hasn't been any dog food out, I have no idea why this is happening.

I'm going to increase to 2.4u tonight unless someone gives me a great reason not to. We'll be around some tomorrow and I'll be home Tuesday for an hour in between a meeting and work to check on him. I can't see him nosediving and going hypo with a .2u increase at these numbers, but I will watch him.

Pierre thinks maybe we're giving him too much? I have come up to this point so slowly I can't believe that I would have missed it. He's never had any really super numbers.
 
Re: Linus Sunday 4/22

I'm with Pierre on that one about to much insulin. When you don't have the cycles evened out for example 12 hrs apart it's going to be hard to get numbers under control. Because one cycle will be shorter then the other.
Yesterday you shot at +9.5 because he was rising. I use to do the same thing because I thought oh I will catch it before it gets to high. It doesn't work like that though. The insulin is still in there body at +9.5 so giving more is like a dose increase already. Then you give him more insulin on top of having 2.5 hours worth still in Linus system.

It will take some time for the numbers to get better once you get on the 12hrs. I think it took Baxter about 5-6 days. So you have to train Pierre & your son so Linus can be on a more 12 hr shot time. I know it's hard. If you want numbers more under control then I think it might really help.

I know Pierre has said he has done some fur shots. Is he tenting the scruff when shotting. Just a question to maybe help him shot better. Maybe have Pierre just work with Linus coming to him at a certain spot with treats & love. Work with that for a few days. Then start having Pierre getting Linus to some to his spot & just work with showing him the meter, but not testing for a few times. Give a treat & love. Then get Linus to come to his spot & do a test. Use nice soft positive words. Love & treats. Linus needs to build his trust up in Pierre. You said Linus runs from Pierre when it's test time. Make sure Pierre uses soft tones & praise. This should help build some trust. Hoping will build enough trust that both Pierre can test & shot & Linus will allow Pierre to do so without running like a wild cat to hiding. bcatrun_gif

I know it's so freakn frustrating....I have been there & still there.
I won't increase just yet. I know his numbers are high, but I would hold off.
 
Jenn, there was some question about whether he got a good shot yesterday morning, so that weighed into my decision to shoot early. We were headed out to dinner with friends, and there was a good possibility he wouldn't get a shot until +13, he was already almost 500, so I decided to go ahead.

I've decided to add phases of the moon to the spreadsheet - might as well cover all the variables, right??? :lol:
 
Oh that right I forgot about that yesterday morning.

He is already at 500... Remember when shotting early that is like a dose increase. You said you wanted to increase, but don't increase when shotting early. It like a extra increase. If that makes since. I don't know about percentage wise how much it would be. @-)

Have a good time at your dinner. Eat some place yummy.
 
Hmmm... I never thought about shooting early as a dose increase, but it kinda makes sense. Except that in the morning, I may still wake up at 6:00 or 6:30... so he might get as much as a +13. W hen I see a climb like that, I'm thinking the same thing... catch him before it goes Red, or 'HI" or whatever. But the reality is that he still goes higher as the insulin doesn't start kicking in for a while. So how much is the food spike, and how much is the number still rising?

Jenn & Baxter said:
Linus needs to build his trust up in Pierre. You said Linus runs from Pierre when it's test time. Make sure Pierre uses soft tones & praise. This should help build some trust. Hoping will build enough trust that both Pierre can test & shot & Linus will allow Pierre to do so without running like a wild cat bcatrun_gif to hiding. I know it's so freakn frustrating....I have been there & still there.

Anyways, Grayson always thinks the best hiding place is behind the piano... what pet-sitter is gonna move that???!!!

Don't give up... there's gotta be a time that we'll find a good place where they're stable!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top