Linus-dental tomorrow, update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Active Member
Linus is going in for a dental tomorrow. I haven't been given any pre-op instructions by the clinic, but I'm going with what I know, which is no food after 8pm. Does that still hold true for diabetics? I just gave him a can of trout because I knew he would gobble most of it up.

So, what should tomorrow's dose be on an empty stomach, and assuming he will not be able to eat for most of the day? He has lots of room to go lower, so I'm not too worried about sending him into hypo, but still wondering. I do want him to have the best realistic numbers possible at the vet so she is confident in my ability to handle this and make decisions for him.

He's been in 300's all day, back at IHop. He just dropped to his lowest level of the day at +11, a 303. I think he snacked on some dog food yesterday and last night and that is just clearing his system.

So need input on dose for tomorrow morning, if any. Thanks, guys!
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

I don't know, Sue. Hope someone will come along with advice. If not, post on Health. Hope he does well with the dental.
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

Hi Sue,
Good luck with the dental today,
I know I have been told to greatly reduce as the empty stomach, but also the anestesia
will being his numbers down ALOT and probably keep them down for a few days...
I cant remember the dose I was told, but I think it was something like one unit
as shakes was on 3 units, If you can I would call the vet and ask and hopefully someone there can advise
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

Hoping you've called the vet and gotten an answer. I know when I asked about shooting before anesthesia, someone said to do a 1/2 dose. Not sure about the food. To me they go hand-in-hand. YOu may want to post on health, and get more eyes on the question.

Linus - you gotta quit going to IHOP! (Hello Pot, my name is Kettle!). Will check back in on you soon.
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

Positive thoughts for cleaning tomorrow. I know you will keep us updated. ;-) :YMHUG:

Linus Baxter wants you to join him at the pet store instead of IHop. :lol:
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

When Henry had a dental last summer, I was told to skip his morning dose and to reduce the dose that evening until anethesia and pain medication had time to clear.
How is Linus doing after his dental?
Hope everything went well.
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

Pierre picked him up, he said he seems ok, very hungry. Nothing found on the exam except a chipped canine tooth, so probably not the reason I can't get him regulated :( . He came home with some antibiotics, she offered the shot and I remembered that was bad and got the liquid. I plan to go over his spreadsheet with her and discuss options.
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

Good to hear the dental cleaning went well. Keep in mind just because they didn't find any bad teeth doesn't mean that's the reason Linus can't be regulated. The bacteria/plaque, tarter in the mouth & on teeth puts toxins into the body in turn is bad for the organs. Just like in humans. So with all of the bad stuff removed from the teeth maybe it will help. His numbers might be weird whie he is on the antibiotic.

Feel better soon Linus my friend!
 
Re: Linus-dental tomorrow, question . . .

I just got home, Linus seems just fine. I haven't checked his BG yet, he was over 400 at the vet. I have clyndamycin hydrochloride drops to give him, is this stuff ok? I totally forgot to look up those 2 bad drugs before I took him in, when she mentioned the antibiotic shot I thought that might be one of them, so I opted for this.

I hope I have enough insulin to get through the antibiotics to see if any of this has helped. If not, I'll just get another bottle of ProZinc and keep trying. I like it here with you guys, although Linus posted on the Levemir board yesterday. I need to keep him off the computer, I guess!
 
Glad all went well with the dentist for Linus...
I think that was the anti biotic that Shakes was on...If I remmeber correctly
he did nothae an appetite with that,
so just watch that because if he doesnt eat, dont shoot too much, greatly reduce
 
Dragonfly229 said:
I like it here with you guys, although Linus posted on the Levemir board yesterday. I need to keep him off the computer, I guess!

Linus is MORE than welcome to visit us and post on the Lev board! It's what we have to do sometimes to see our friends - especially if they stop going to our regular hangout!!!


Dragonfly229 said:
Hey, Greyson, it's me, Linus. I heard you had the blues and came right over here to cheer you up. I was at IHop today, I saw that waitress that you like. She asked how you were doing and why you didn't come in any more. I told her you were in another place now called "Levemir." I hope that someday you can come and see me at IHop, I was there all by myself today. Baxter stayed home, too.

I have to go to the dentist tomorrow, so mom says I have to eat my trout right now. I'm hoping the dentist has pancakes, or maybe some french toast and bacon. Have a good day in "Levemir," and I'll talk to you when my teeth are clean :-D

yur frend, Linus

Hi Linus -

Now that you've got some clean teeth, why don't you give your mom some really low numbers so you can have some syrup? That'll help your teeth get back to normal! And while she's at it, she might as well throw in some pancakes or French toast too, right?!!! Yummy! I love a big breakfast! It's the most important meal of the day! ;-)

Yur buddy,
Grayson
 
Hi Linus -

Now that you've got some clean teeth, why don't you give your mom some really low numbers so you can have some syrup? That'll help your teeth get back to normal! And while she's at it, she might as well throw in some pancakes or French toast too, right?!!! Yummy! I love a big breakfast! It's the most important meal of the day!

Yur buddy,
Grayson

Grayson, I would like some syrup. I hear IHop has a kind called "poisonberry." Do you think it's really poison????? We should check it out!

See ya, Linus
 
You guys stay away from that hot waitress Zoe....she's mine!
Bob
 
Mom gave me syrup today. It came in a brown bottle and I really think it was poisonberry. If that is syrup I don't want any more! :o Mom says it's ant eye biotick. I don't have any bioticks, so I don't need it! Someone please tell Mom I would rather go to IHop with my buddies. I'm gonna eat my french toast plain from now on.

Linus
 
Hi guys....it's Baxter. Mom is sleeping. She has a bad cough that scares me it makes me want to run & hide. Linus, do your teeth hurt? What's it like to get your teeth cleaned? My old owners never had my teeth cleaned. When I ran away from those stupid people to live with mom she always talks about my teeth. I have a heart mumur so I have to have a lot of test done before I can find out if it's safe to have my teeth cleaned.
I'm going to ask mom what is poisionberry. Its probably berries on the bushes in your front yard. Birds eat them. wonder why birds don't die eating them.
I got syrup one time...that stuff was nasty. Mom got it all in my hair because I was fighting her. I got really mad at her. She had to clean my fur which made me so angry. I like pancakes, but I got sick of those. I haven't had them in a long time. Plus the waitress cat(2)_steam at IHop gives bad service. I don't like her. Grayson is in love with her.

Well Linus I better go...I hope your chompers feel better.
 
Heads Up!!

Clindamycin can upset the stomach and cause either vomiting or diarrhea. It may help to give it on a full, not empty stomach.

Also, you may want to give some probiotics (ex Forti Flora) a few hours after the Clindamycin, because the Clindamycin knocks out some good bacteria as well as the bad.
 
Hi Linus!

Hope everything went well... I don't know about poisonberries - just razzleberries - mom says Grandma grows them! But she never sends me any!!! Guess I need to go to Illinois if I want some. It's almost the "Fourth of July", so they should be really ripe!!!

I really liked that waitress cat(2)_steam but she's trouble. I told Carl he can have her!

Your buddy,
Grayson
 
Sue,

I hope the fire in Estes Park was not near your home and you are all safe. We are on the east side of Colorado Springs; our fire is on the west side. Many friends voluntarily evacuated.

Hot and very dry in Colorado - many fires in the state.
 
Not near my home, but a 14.5 hour day in dispatch. Have friends who lost their homes and some who almost did. My husband was out fighting the fire, I didn't know for sure that he was, but I thought he would be since his department was called for mutual aid. We just got home. Needless to say, Linus' shot was late. He was at 375 at +17, so actually not too bad at all.
 
That's a little too close for comfort! And sounds like you both probably had an exceptionally long day(s). Good boy Linus!!! Keeping good numbers so Mom & Dad can focus elsewhere.

It's off the radar on our local news... and haven't checked since I've been back in town. How under control is it? Is it still growing?
 
The one near Colorado Springs is 0% contained. Unfortunately in a narrow canyon with a major (closed)highway running through it is hard to fight and control. 100 degrees and no humidity. And they are guessing arson. A dozen fires in the past few days, none weather related. Very sad.

Sue, the news is all about Waldo here. What is happening in Estes Park?
 
We're ok in Estes. We had a quick, hot fire that burned 22(?) homes in about 3 hours. This was in a neighborhood near the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, with a mixture of old summer cabins and newer homes. We called in every resource we could and were able to get it shut down fairly quickly. If it had gone over the ridge to the north it would have almost been into downtown.

On a Linus note, his AMPS was 306, and just now at +5 he was 246. Better numbers for sure, but we sure have his shot times screwed up.
 
Pretty decent numbers for Linus. Can you get back on track 30 minutes at a time?

Sue, that's the plan. 40 minutes early tonight, he was at 345, so no worries. Maybe I can shoot 11/11 for the next few days, catch him before he runs out of insulin and get the numbers to slide down a little. We need to be at 6:40 am by Thursday, I don't know if we can make that. 930 tomorrow morning, 830 tomorrow night, would be 730 Thurs morning. I guess we'll play it by ear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top