Linus 6/1-a little yellow in a sea of pink :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
I just came home and caught a +8.5 . . . 239! Best we've seen in quite a while. Here's what happened - due to horribly slow restaurant service at dinner last night, PMPS was delayed from 9:00pm until 9:45pm. Morning shot had to happen by 8:30, so I had Pierre give just 2u instead of 2.4. And I get a yellow as a prize! I'm going with 2u tonight as well, probably around 8:30pm.
We have to get up and get Alec on a bus for the 8th grade trip to Washington DC, so I'll get a test at 4:30 in the morning and then go to work. Pierre can do morning shot at 8:30 again.

I really do think we're at too much insulin, but it's hard not to go up when the numbers don't change. How fast can I go down? I am so tempted to just stop, keep testing, and then start in with tiny doses. I'll be extra vigilant about ketones - got a really good, negative test the other day. I need to be sure he's eating, and adding water to the food for hydration, right?
 
Sue,
If the intent is to try something drastic to "force" a result, then I'm a big supporter of changing the dose significantly, up or down.
I don't think "zero" is the answer, but it looks from today (and yes, it's only one cycle) that it made a difference. It was about 15% less insulin that you had been shooting. I would stick with it tonight (2.0). If you want to try lower, than I might go as low as 1u, which would be a 50% reduction, which is pretty significant. It has to be something you are willing to do, and willing to stick with for at least a couple cycles to see if it has an impact. And test religiously for ketones anytime you reduce.

Carl
 
Carl, thanks for the support :) When I look at our spreadsheet, at the very beginning before I knew anything, he was pinks and yellows at pre shot on 1u. That wasn't good enough for our vet, who bumped him up to 2u, and the numbers were worse. I reduced him back to 1u in February and it looked a little better. As I have slowly increased from there, there is no real improvement. I wonder if he should be somewhere UNDER 1u.

Can I just quit and start over? Or should I move back down slowly? It seems like every day there is a place where he has no insulin on board, so that's not new. I would like to see if things go really wonky at +24 and +36 and +48, or if his numbers are about where they are now. If they are, I'll start up at .2u and see what that does. If he shoots really high, I'll go back at 1u.

Does any of this sound rational? Or am I asking for big trouble?
 
I think any and all are worth a try. But test religiously for ketones and do it when you can monitor carefully. You don't want him sitting in high numbers.

Good luck! Paws crossed.
 
Can I just quit and start over?
Yes, you can. There are no rules etched in stone. You know what to watch for (high numbers, ketones). "Follow your gut" if what I believe.

Carl
 
Started a reboot last night with 1u. Couldn't bring myself to go to nothing. +5.5 was 344, not good, but not any worse than before. I'm off the next few days after today - we will watch him and be sure he's eating and check ketones and see what happens. I'm also changing shot technique, see my post on Copper's thread. Something I hadn't thought/heard of before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top