Linus - 4/20-4/21

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Active Member
The last few days have been downright ugly. We had seemed to be moving the right direction, but last 3 pre-shots have been high, and I was so happy to get home and do a +7 yesterday, just to find out it was even higher. I am going to hold the dose at 2.2u, and wait it out through the weekend and gather data, so will just need some hand holding. If things stay the same, I'll increase on Monday.

Thanks for being here - have a great weekend everyone!
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Yeah, lots of high and flats the past few days. Looked to me like "maybe the vial is getting old or something." Then he shows a nice drop tonight.... glad to see that. I'll be around late nights this weekend if hands need to be held.
That blue PMPS on the 17th sort of sticks out as odd, doesn't it? That was a really long duration cycle especially since you shot early that morning. Weird.

Carl
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Thanks, Carl.
This is actually a new vial, about 3 weeks since I opened it.

The blue pre shot was at a +11.5. I finally shot 1.6 2 hours later.

Gotta go, need to get to work!
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Looks Better! Wishing you and Linus a Great Weekend!
 
Re: Linus - last few days

those pinks and reds just don't make for a warm, happy feeling do they? I used to wish Robbie could talk - now I just wish he'd cooperate and get with the program! I guess his pancreas isn't listening to me, even if he is - :?
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Don't know what happened, Pierre admits it could have been a fur shot, Linus was already 477 when I got home. I went ahead and shot at +9.5 because I couldn't stand it.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

But he's okay, right? The candle...???

I've done the same thing, shooting early like that. No need to let them take off in the spaceship any further, when you can still ground them! It usually just messes up YOUR schedule!
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Oh Pierre...it's ok. Sometimes it happens. So the fur shot was this morning.

PMPS-477. How much did you give Linus?

Wanted to ask you what kind of food do you feed?
 
Re: Linus - last few days

I feed all Merrick and one flavor of what used to be Sophisticat. I note what I fed on the spreadsheet, if you can decipher it.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

I will look.
I feed Merrick too. I buy the Before Grain turkey.
Some of the Merricks have more carbs. I was just thinking about carbs & seeing if you could lower them & see what kind of BG numbers you got.

At one time didn't you say Linus likes to eat dog food?
 
Re: Linus - last few days

I've got several cats that would eat dog food if given the opportunity. And of course the dogs LOVE catfood! :o :shock:
 
Re: Linus - last few days

He misses his dry food and will steal dog food if he's hungry. I've been tempted a couple of times to free feed dry and increase the insulin, but I know better. Still, if the dogs are dumb enough to leave food, he's going to help them out.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

nailbite_smile good for knowing better.
Some of those Merricks are still high in carbs. I will get out my sheet & look.
I tried the Sophitcat for a few weeks. Baxter didn't like it. I think we have tried every food on the market. I even tried making my own with Dr.Pierson receipe.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Have you ever tried their line of Before Grain?
I fed Baxter the beef & that's when he went off insulin for 3 weeks. I think he is allergic to beef or something in it. I stopped feeding him the beef & back to blue buffalo. He went back on insulin. Then I fed some others brands. Now back to before grain, but turkey. I have been feeding him that for a while now.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

I do feed some of the BG. He likes the chicken and quail and the beef. He seems to like the chunkier kinds better. He loves the sophisticat flaked trout the best of anything.
 
Re: Linus - last few days

Ok - I have to admit, I have no idea where that candle in the one title came from. I was posting earlier from my phone and couldn't see it. I guess you could think that from the title of the thread, Linus is on his last few days. Oops, my bad :o I'll edit that right now.

So after a 477 (or 471, that was from memory) this afternoon, I went ahead and shot 2.2u (usual dose) at +9.5. I could not stand it, I didn't want to wait to see how high it could go, and even if it was going to come down, it wasn't going to be enough to matter. At +6 he was down to 301. We needed to start backing him up to an earlier shot time for next week anyway, so we just did it in one fell swoop.

The only thing Pierre noticed today is that Linus was outside eating LOTS of grass. I still think this could be part of the problem. I have horses that can't graze except a little because of insulin resistance. Why is it any different for cats? The grass this time of year is high in sugar, and the cold and frosty nights increase that. Potentially, Linus could eat a similar percentage of his body weight as a horse, it just doesn't look like much because he weighs 13 pounds.

Anyhow, to answer all the questions I couldn't type on my phone - I feed primarily Merrick, Cowboy Cookout, Surf&Turf, Southern Delight, Grannys Pot Pie and some Turducken. We are also trying the Before Grain Beef, Turkey, Chicken and Chicken&Quail. Linus also loves the Sophisticat flaked trout. I read all those tiny labels, this one is one of the only ones with no by-products. The ingredients are trout, chicken and fish with some liver I think. It's chunky, and that seems to be his preference, he doesn't eat the pate style Before Grains as consistently as the others, some days he likes them, some days he doesn't.

Tomorrow will NOT be an IHOP day. I'm hoping for some good pre shot numbers and I would take curves into the low 200's. Everyone else have a great Sunday!
 
Glad to see there wasn't some kind of message there! Wishing Linus a good day. I told Grayson that he is forbidden from seeing his girlfriend today at IHOP! cat(2)_steam :lol: :lol: :lol: We'll see how that works! Maybe I need to encourage him to go, so we can have more yellow preshots!!! Kitty psychology! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top