Linus 3/9, increase again? Long, sorry.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
I've been home most of the day and of course Linus has been flat all day. He had a few yellows earlier this week, and one today, and then it comes right back up over 400. I thought it was a bounce 2 days ago when AMPS was 466, but now I'm not sure. I need to see his numbers come down, I have no good numbers and not much curve when I am home to check. There's lots of room underneath where he is, so I'm thinking another increase is in order. It's looking to me like he doesn't have enough duration on the 1.4u.

I am home until March 20th, when I will be gone for 6 days. My husband will be giving insulin, and I hope at least testing pre-shots. I can't do anything too drastic that would cause him to need to change anything, but I don't want to wait much longer for numbers under 300.

Should I increase to 1.6u and try to move him at least sometimes into the 200's through the next week and a half or stay where I am? He was 467 when he was diagnosed, and 466 the other morning - I don't feel like I'm getting anywhere with this at all.

Some info about my SS: .5TD = 1/2 can Merrick Turducken, .5PP = 1/2 can Merrick PotPie, etc. I have been trying to see if any specific food has any relationship to BG, but can't really see anything. Maybe another set of eyes can see something I can't. Usual feeding schedule is 0645am, when I leave for work (0830-?), first person home (4-6pm), pmps (if earlier food is gone) and before bed (10-11pm) Total about 12-15 oz per day for a 14 lb cat.

PP = Merrick Pot Pie S&T = Merrick Surf and Turf
TD = Merrick Turducken Trout = Sophisticat Flaked Trout (whole 3 oz can)
SD = Merrick Southern Delight F&S = Sophisticat Fish and Shrimp (whole 3 oz can)
 
Yes, I think I would increase. Puzzling spreadsheet. Every once in a while, he throws a decent number. Is there any way you can feed more often? I wonder if that would help his numbers. Maybe freezing the food and/or using an automatic feeder?

Hope that someone else will see another answer here.
 
Thanks, Sue. That's exactly how I feel. I get discouraged, and then suddenly get a great number. So I hold there, and wait for more great numbers that never materialize. I got roller coaster style numbers on high doses, and pinks and reds with some teaser yellows on lower doses, and I can't figure out whether to go up or down. I just don't feel like I've really done him any good in the 2 months we've been at this.
 
Good morning -

I finally got Grayson down below 400, and then he sat flat as a pancake in the 300s for nearly 2 weeks. I've seen a curve developing since I've increased his insulin, so I would agree w/ Sue that you may want to go that route.

I understand your frustration! But their bodies have a mind of their own, and we can only respond or react... Hopefully you'll see a change soon. Try to be patient in the meantime - remember, Rome wasn't built in a day!
 
I'm going to increase to 1.6u this morning - I'll be around to day to keep an eye on him, and my husband should be around tomorrow, so we'll see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top