Linus 3/4, surfin', bad timing, questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Active Member
We have the blues today, in a good way! Here's the problem. . .I leave for work tomorrow morning at 5:30am, and I was trying to move shot time back 1/2 hour at a time so Alec can give Linus his shot before he goes to school (around 7:15am). He got his am shot at around 8:40 this morning, and I was trying for 8:00 tonight, but he has other ideas. BG is 185!!!!

So . . .
Do I wait until he comes up high enough and shoot tonight, and skip tomorrow am and shoot again tomorrow when I get home from work at 4:30pm? Or do we skip tonight and I can shoot tomorrow morning before I go to work at 5:30am? I'm leaning toward the latter.

I double checked the amount he got this morning and Alec said 3.5, so it's the right dose (1.4u). Alec pinches the skin on his side and then shoots, maybe his technique is better than mine? Or maybe Linus is finally moving down. Whatever it is, I'll take it! Just need to know the best way to shuffle everyone's schedule. Nobody will be home tomorrow from 7:15am until 4:30pm.
 
Problem is, I fed when I tested (that's how I get to test, I bring food), fully anticipating a shootable number (based on the spreadsheet, you can see why). So now he's eaten. Oh, well.
 
Well then I would skip. Tomorrow, reduce just a little. You got a little longer duration so giving a little less would be safer, especially if no one will be home.
 
Thanks, Sue. I hate to lose momentum, for sure. I wonder why the sudden improvement? I guess we can definitely say that Linus takes time to settle into a dose. This is looking good, I would love to have yellows and blues all the time :) Other nights I could stay up and then shoot later tomorrow, but I'm filling in for someone else at work and need to be there at 6:00am. Tomorrow I can shoot at 5:30am, I'll check but have to be at a meeting at 5:30pm, and then I'll be home at 8:00, so if he goes short I'll give pm shot at 5:15, and if he goes long I'll do it when I get home and then he will be on more of a normal schedule.
 
End of surf - rocket ship has taken off. 411 at +14, and too late to shoot and get any kind of an am shot tomorrow. I'll test and shoot at 5:00am before work.
 
Darn! Your schedule makes things complicated. Maybe you and your son can sit down and figure out a schedule that would work fairly consistently? Otherwise, you are chasing high and low numbers and never able to compensate for or take advantage of either.
 
I'm a dispatcher, so the schedule is always subject to change. Usually 10 hour days, and 10 miles home, with no breaks, so no way to run home at any point. It does make things difficult.

Linus was 379 this morning at 0500, so I went ahead and gave him 1.4. I don't know why he would have dropped since last night, but he's about where he has been pre-shot, so I don't feel like we've lost too much ground, and maybe he'll have a similar day today. If he's low at 5:00 tonight, I'll wait until later to do PM shot and get him back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top