? Lily- shooting advice please- AMPS 151 +2 232, +4 205, PMPS 151, PMPS +30mins 148, +1 59, +2 65, +3

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's the point above which glucose starts spilling into the urine. It can vary a bit between cats for George we stopped getting a positive result for glucose in the low 200's .

Yes it's a good thing:)
 
It's the point above which glucose starts spilling into the urine. It can vary a bit between cats for George we stopped getting a positive result for glucose in the low 200's .

Yes it's a good thing:)
One very last thing before you scoot off to bed...How long does it usually take for HC to wear off? I am wondering whether it is safe to just leave food out and go to bed without waking in the middle of the night. I will be getting an 11.5 (0630)
 
although she is going up now with that blue remember that it is possible that the carbs can wear off and we like to see numbers still up two hours after you last gave HC, so when was that?
 
although she is going up now with that blue remember that it is possible that the carbs can wear off and we like to see numbers still up two hours after you last gave HC, so when was that?
It was an hour ago. So if I wait until 0130 and retest it should be fine? (it is 0030 here atm)
 
How about giving Lily a bit of low carb food and testing in 30 min?
Hey :) She is coming up on 2h after high carb. There is low carb down for her but she is having a nap atm. I will be testing in 25 minutes and if she has sustained herself I will be off to bed for the best 5 hours I have ever had. I hope.
 
Just a reminder that she earned a dose decrease with the 41 tonight. So even though it is hard to measure, you have to reduce the 0.25u. There are photos of the small doses here that you can look at. A good light, a magnifying glass will both help you. It is important not to give the 0.25u dose again because you now know that it can get her to 41. That test isn't on the ss yet, but it's the most important one tonight. You can always put it in the comments if you can't figure out how to put it in the ss. The ss gets easier as you get more practice!!

You also were doing a lot of carbing her to keep her safe tonight, so that dose decrease is extra important.

As far as morning goes, I would play with your 0.25u dose and see how many drops are in it. Somehow you have to figure out how to reduce the dose. And since she's got the recent history of DKA, skipping isn't a great option. Although high carb food will likely make her happy. The very smallest dose is one that you can "vacuum" up - hold the plunger in tightly to the syringe so hopefully, all the air is out. Put the needle into the insulin and release the plunger. That should "vacuum" up a very small amount. Practice with these, however, so that you are confident about the dose you give in the morning.

A couple of questions you asked about - renal threshold varies from cat to cat. Some folks have found that their cat spills glucose into their urine as low as 150. The only way to know for sure would be to test her urine. . . but honestly, I doubt you need to worry about that. I agree that these lower numbers are because you've changed her diet - kudos to you for getting her switched over!

How long does it take for HC to wear off? Another one of those ECID (every cat is different) things. When punkin had low numbers, I tested until he was clearly rising and past his nadir, and I wanted at least an hour after having given him HC. Take good notes and you'll hopefully be able to figure that out for Lily too.
 
171 at +6...My work here is done.
I have no idea how i am going to manage dose, especially when i drop her at the cattery and they are giving her the 0.25...just don't know how they will do it unless I can get her running slightly higher but just on diet alone? I dont know. :s
 
Some cats go off of insulin with a change to an appropriate diet and a little bit of time on insulin to allow the pancreas' beta cells to heal. No one can say if Lily is one of those or not, but it does happen.

I wouldn't worry about the cattery until the day before you go. Let us help you with a dose at that point.

Hope you can get some sleep in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top