? Lily AMPS 74; Dosing advise please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
She's looking super Karen but if you want to shave her dose by taking her back down a few units I think it's your call. Are you able to monitor her today? Did you have to give her food to help her surf yesterday and last night?
 
Last night I did give her at snack at about 230am. Of course the other civvies thought it was treat time for them too! LOL.
I gave her what I believe was a skinny 52 units. She moved so I might have given a fur shot too since I could smell the insulin a little bit. We will find out later today. I will be back home at about the +5 AM hour and will be able to monitor her.
 
You can always bring her down in dose a bit, there's nothing wrong with being cautious. Worse case you go back up. Not sure if you've ever had to use HC to bring her up before and she may or may not be looking to try that out soon.
 
I think it's your call if you want to lower the dose. She hasn't technically earned a reduction, but she's probably close to it. If you were strictly following TR you would hold the dose. Having said that, I often lowered the dose just a smidge if I wasn't getting enough sleep due to lowish numbers. But I also had enough experience to know that if Neko started going all green, she's shortly be asking for a reduction. With the tanker sized depot, no harm in being a little cautious. And sleep is not over-rated!

ETA: This is for Karen and Lily only, since Lily is an acrocat and on a high dose of insulin.
 
I am back home. Lily's sugar is 71 @ +5 hour. I just gave her a snack, as well as the other civvies. I will be home the rest of today so I can monitor her. I have never had to give her HC to bring her up. I guess there is always a first time for everything ! Maybe the tumor is sputtering out some?
 
Maybe the tumor is sputtering out some?
I'm speaking a little out of my league so please take it as what it is. I do ready constantly though. It does seem that the tumor can pulse creating the need for less insulin and you'll start to see those signs somewhat gradually (so doesn't happen overnight) From what I understand it doesn't happen quick but if I look at Lily for the last few weeks it's possible that's what is happening. Regardless she might be looking for a little less insulin real soon and at that size depot if it were me I'd probably take her down a few units. Note, I'm a big chicken though ;)
 
56 @ +9. Hopefully this is as low as she goes for this cycle. Maybe it was not a fur shot after all this morning..
 
Technically means going below 50 on Tight Regulation. Actually as Lily is long term diabetic( diabetic over one year), it would be under 40 or 3 times under 50, but I never followed those rules and when Neko earned reductions they seemed to stick. We try to make the rules harder for long term diabetics as they have a harder time keeping the reductions. And I was never comfortable with doing that in case the depot got ahead of me. When Neko was earning reductions, it could be multiple in a row. Once when I wasn't aggressive about reductions, she hit the 20's. :eek:
 
Right now I am happy with Lily's #s these past couple of days. The 56 made me nervous today. Might be another night without much sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top