Lily AMPS 225 0ct 20

Status
Not open for further replies.
QUOTE="Critter Mom, post: 2662165, member: 10789"]Morning, Sally.

Just seen this (was sorting the furchild).

Are you around to monitor throughout this cycle, and how is Lily's appetite? She's in the same PS ballpark as yesterday.


Mogs
.[/QUOTE]
Yes I will be available all day to monitor. Lily has a wonderful appetite, all are patiently waiting to eat staring at me right now!
 
Okey dokey. Time to feed the troops.

Lily needs to be able to eat more during this cycle, initially small snacks at +1, +2 and +3. She needs a substantial feed now but not enough to fill her up where she won't eat again for you as needed during the cycle. Are you confident that this is manageable?


Mogs
.

.
 
Okey dokey. Time to feed the troops.

Lily needs to be able to eat more during this cycle, initially small snacks at +1, +2 and +3. She needs a substantial feed now but not enough to fill her up where she won't eat again for you as needed during the cycle. Are you confident that this is manageable?


Mogs
.

.
Should I give her her regular insulin dosage after eating then?
 
The idea is to get the test to see where numbers are and then feed accordingly.

If the BG is around the same or slightly higher than the PS test that would show dose onset has not yet occurred. If numbers have dropped in any significant way at +1 that's an indication of early onset of the dose. (Vetsulin typically gets going around the +1 to +1.25 mark but some cats metabolise insulin faster and have an earlier onset.) If early onset, then you feed a little (LC or MC depending on the drop) to hopefully slow the fall. Then you repeat this process at suitable intervals to ease the kitty down to nadir. If numbers start to run in a lower range, you can then feed small amounts of food with the required carb level to 'steer the curve' to keep BG levels in the safe range until the dose starts to wear off.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
The idea is to get the test to see where numbers are and then feed accordingly.

If the BG is around the same or slightly higher than the PS test that would show that dose onset has not yet occurred. If numbers have dropped in any significant way at +1 that's an indication of early onset of the dose. (Vetsulin typically gets going around the +1 to +1.25 mark but some cats metabolise insulin faster and have an earlier onset.) If yes, then you feed a little (LC or MC depending on the drop) to hopefully slow the fall. Then you repeat this process at suitable intervals to ease the kitty down to nadir. If numbers start to run in a lower range, you can then feed small amounts of food with the required carb level to 'steer the curve' to keep BG levels in the safe range until the dose starts to wear off.


Mogs
.
Ok, that makes sense. She is 269 @ +1
 
Lily!!!! :rolleyes:

:D

Was that 269 bang on +1 or later, Sally? Because Vetsulin hits so early in the cycle I need to ask you to be precise to the timings you post along with the test results because that is key to the feeding decisions today.

Don't give any food yet. Please test 30 minutes from the time of the most recent test and post the result please (assuming Her Maj will let you! ;) ).


Mogs
.
 
Lily!!!! :rolleyes:

:D

Was that 269 bang on +1 or later, Sally? Because Vetsulin hits so early in the cycle I need to ask you to be precise to the timings you post along with the test results because that is key to the feeding decisions today.

Don't give any food yet. Please test 30 minutes from the time of the most recent test and post the result please (assuming Her Maj will let you! ;) ).


Mogs
.
Yes, I try to get it on the hour. Will test at +1.5 or 9:30 here.
 
Ace! Will keep an eye out for the next result.

BTW is there any point in the cycle where you need to pop over to your FIL today? If yes, can you let me know the time period please relative to dose time (e.g. I'll be away from +4 to +5.5) so I can take that into account when thinking of what to feed next. :)


Mogs
.
 
Ace! Will keep an eye out for the next result.

BTW is there any point in the cycle where you need to pop over to your FIL today? If yes, can you let me know the time period please relative to dose time (e.g. I'll be away from +4 to +5.5) so I can take that into account when thinking of what to feed next. :)


Mogs
.
Yes, I need to go over there at noon which is +4. But should only be there a half hour.
 
Still no budge from her! Cats. :rolleyes: :D

No food yet, Sally. Please can you get the next test at +2. I hope that there will be some shift by then. I'm actually wondering whether this morning's numbers might have a little bit of a bounce in them from the 87 yesterday. Looking at Lily's patterns in the spreadsheet she has an overall tendency toward early onset. Of course, the day we need to look closer, she decides to do something else completely. :banghead:

Wish there was a way to know what to do that didn't require so much trial and error. :confused:


Mogs
.
 
Still no budge from her! Cats. :rolleyes: :D

No food yet, Sally. Please can you get the next test at +2. I hope that there will be some shift by then. I'm actually wondering whether this morning's numbers might have a little bit of a bounce in them from the 87 yesterday. Looking at Lily's patterns in the spreadsheet she has an overall tendency toward early onset. Of course, the day we need to look closer, she decides to do something else completely. :banghead:

Wish there was a way to know what to do that didn't require so much trial and error. :confused:


Mogs
.
Hey Mogs, Lily is 253 at +2.
 
I think you could leave her be till +3.5, test and provided she's in safe numbers at that point give her some of her regular food to tide her over while you go to your FIL. I'll check in at the 3.5 to see if you need more specific suggestions on what food to give.

Cats. :banghead:

:)


Mogs
.
 
As long as she's not hungry, she should be fine. One thing's for sure is that she's w-a-y away from greens at the moment. I'd suggest grabbing a test when you get back, Sally, just to make sure she doesn't throw any wobblers and, provided there's nothing unusual or worrying, feed her as you see fit up to the usual +10 cut-off.

Be sure to post if you need help. Keep safe while you're out and about. :)


Mogs
.
 
She is back asleep so I don’t think she needs to eat unless you say she should.
As long as she's not hungry, she should be fine. One thing's for sure is that she's w-a-y away from greens at the moment. I'd suggest grabbing a test when you get back, Sally, just to make sure she doesn't throw any wobblers and, provided there's nothing unusual or worrying, feed her as you see fit up to the usual +10 cut-off.

Be sure to post if you need help. Keep safe while you're out and about. :)


Mogs
.
Thanks Mogs, you too. :bighug:
 
Just been looking at the spreadsheet. Same story as the night when you ran the curve. I reckon Lily must see us coming. :rolleyes:

Sally, I'd be very wary of giving Lily any Vetsulin at night. I think it's too risky. Per the FDMB protocol, she earned a dose reduction of 0.25IU yesterday. While there may have been a dose measurement hiccup there's no guarantee that that was what dropped her below 90 yesterday. One has to work with the data.

I had hoped that today we'd be able to check Lily's response to a different feeding plan but that was not to be. In the absence of evidence that you can keep Lily safe on the 0.25IU in a more 'normal' cycle, I think it's safer to skip tonight. Even if she has a high PMPS tonight it's not possible with this insulin to say that the nadir would also be in a correspondingly higher range. Vetsulin is capable of dragging BG right back down from higher preshot levels into much lower numbers. If it was my cat, I wouldn't give it.

Wishing you both a safe and peaceful night.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Just been looking at the spreadsheet. Same story as the night when you ran the curve. I reckon Lily must see us coming. :rolleyes:

Sally, I'd be very wary of giving Lily any Vetsulin at night. I think it's too risky. Per the FDMB protocol, she earned a dose reduction of 0.25IU yesterday. While there may have been a dose measurement hiccup there's no guarantee that that was what dropped her below 90 yesterday. One has to work with the data.

I had hoped that today' we'd be able to check Lily's response to a different feeding plan but that was not to be. In the absence of evidence that you can keep Lily safe on the 0.25IU in a more 'normal' cycle, I think it's safer to skip tonight. Even if she has a high PMPS tonight it's not possible with this insulin to say that the nadir would also be in a correspondingly higher range. Vetsulin is capable of dragging BG right back down from higher preshot levels into much lower numbers. If it was my cat, I wouldn't give it.

Wishing you both a safe and peaceful night.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
I agree with you Mogs. I will hold on insulin tonight. Thanks very much hope you have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top