Lila doing well but need advice on managing lower pre shots please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Liz

Member Since 2016
Lila seems to be doing really well, much lower numbers overall. However the dilemma happens when she comes in with some very low pre shots sometimes ( ie 8.6 last night). We gave a reduced shot 0.8 ( regular dose is now 1.2). Lila still went to 4.5 at +4 but by preshot this am is right up at 30.5. Does this mean that 0.8 was not enough and we should have given 1u which seemed to be a very small reduction. Any advice gratefully received.
 
Hi! Sounds as though her dose could be too high, I'm sure someone will pop in and make some dose suggestions. If it were me I'd be trying 1U am and pm instead of 1.20 and see if that balanced it out a bit more for you. If not maybe a different insulin would help as canninsulin drops hard and fast and nadir is earlier whereas other insulins give a more gentle curve and have a later nadir. :)
 
It looks like she's dropping a lot and then rebounding higher on the 1.2 u dose. How about trying 1.0 u both AM and PM, numbers permitting. It's best to try for the same dose AM and PM to see if she'll settle a bit.
 
It looks like she's dropping a lot and then rebounding higher on the 1.2 u dose. How about trying 1.0 u both AM and PM, numbers permitting. It's best to try for the same dose AM and PM to see if she'll settle a bit.
Hi, yes think we will need to reduce again to 1u for regular shots. We have only recently reduced from 1.4, so presume this is good news for Lila generally.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top