Kathy4Lewie
Active Member
I guess 0.5 units isn’t enough... I’m really surprised and worried that his +5 reading of 380 is so high.
What do you think about this?
What do you think about this?
I think that's a good experiment to get accustomed to the new syringes. You'll learn to love them!I purchased the U-100 syringes. Here's the link if you would please confirm that I purchased the right ones:
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Relion-31g-0-3cc/132388525
At +9 he is at 421 This is before pills and breakfast (he had access to food all night but I don't know if he ate since I have other cats.)
Maybe I should try out the new syringes and give 0.6 units?
Thoughts?
Interesting, I'll keep experimenting! Thanks!Re: bubbles. I was told to draw the dose slowly, but I've actually found the opposite: the faster I draw, the less likely I get those bubbles! I think it has something to do with the viscosity of the insulin (?)
LOLAs far as the plunger location, I'm not sure of the scientifically correct answer to that, but in a practical sense, it doesn't matter as long as you're consistent. So whether you put the plunger just at the top of the line, straddling the line, or below the line isn't as important as just doing it the same way each time. So wherever you can be most consistent is the "right" way to do it.
Hmmm....I think I just said the same thing three timesI'm guessing you've got the point by now.
![]()
Question 2: See the bubble on the top of the stopper? I can never get those out.
Sorry for the delay... for some reason I didn't see this until now! Thank you for your techniques... I'll give them a try. I've wondered about pushing the insulin back in the vial. Some of these syringes have silicon to make the slippery and the silicon goes into the vial I'm sure!Hi @Kathy4Lewie ! I did a little digging because this was a question I've had for the last week but failed to ask any of the professionals at work (vet clinic) and hadn't needed to draw up any medicine all week (surprisingly).
http://www.diabeticcatinternational.com/knowledge/dosing-fat-increments/
Now... please don't take my advice as 100% correct (or sterile practices) but this is what I personally do and what I've observed the technicians do at my clinic: Before I even take off the cap of any needle syringe, I pull back the plunger and push the air out. Sometimes it works... sometimes it doesn't. Most if the time, I draw up an amount and push it all back into the vial and usually the bubble disappears. If there's small bubbles in the syringe, then I draw a bit more than usual again and while having the needle still in the vial, I hold the syringe down with my pinky and flick the syringe with my other hand. It's a weird way to hold it though.
My mom is a nurse and she said she usually tries to avoid injecting things back into vials for sterility reasons. So lots of dilemmas, I have lol
Don't rule out 0.6 u just yet. Let's see what his AMPS is today. It's not unusual for a dose increase (even a tiny one) to cause an overreaction the first time it's given and then kitty settles out into less drama. They don't always overreact though - just another kitty trick to keep us guessing ...I tested Lewie at +11.45 and his value is at 97.
I tested at +5 and he was 199 so I thought we were on track. So... I guess I'm going to skip tonight! It's 11:30pm Central and it will probably take hours to get within shooting range. I think I'm going to feed him his midnight dinner and call it a night.
Any thoughts about today's numbers? I gave 0.6 units for the morning cycle. Yesterday 0.5 wasn't enough and today's 0.6 is too much. Assuming I gave the right amount with the new syringe but I've looked a million times and it seems correct... 1.5 with the new syringe. Picture is above in post #8.
![]()
This morning he is at 361... basically the same as yesterday morning (when he was at 347).Don't rule out 0.6 u just yet. Let's see what his AMPS is today. It's not unusual for a dose increase (even a tiny one) to cause an overreaction the first time it's given and then kitty settles out into less drama. They don't always overreact though - just another kitty trick to keep us guessing ...![]()
Yes, I was referring to that 97. It's impossible to predict what he'll do today but I would try 0.6 u again if you can monitor. Get a +2 test to see if he's dropped significantly and be prepared to steer with food if he's 100+ points lower at +2. These experiments are stressful but the data they generate is invaluable for future dosing decisions in similar circumstances. They'll teach you whether Lewie is prone to these one-off overreactions or not, among other things.This morning he is at 361... basically the same as yesterday morning (when he was at 347).
In regards to the overreaction, are you thinking the low of 97 at +12 last night was the overreaction, and now he is back to normal requiring 0.6u and he probably won't go as low today because he is settling out with the dose increase?
Thank you for the details for this experiment. I'll give his shot now since it's 9am Central and this is a respectable time to get back on schedule.Yes, I was referring to that 97. It's impossible to predict what he'll do today but I would try 0.6 u again if you can monitor. Get a +2 test to see if he's dropped significantly and be prepared to steer with food if he's 100+ points lower at +2. These experiments are stressful but the data they generate is invaluable for future dosing decisions in similar circumstances. They'll teach you whether Lewie is prone to these one-off overreactions or not, among other things.![]()
All syringes should have a first line closest to the needle when holding the syringe vertical, needle pointing up. That line won't have a number on it but it's the zero line.There isn't a black line on my u-100 syringe to indicate 0.
I didn't realize reading scales could be so difficult. It seems so straight forward and then my eyes fool me and see something different. Thank you for sharing your teaching experience and that you devoted whole lessons to help people like me.No need to apologize for dyslexia or any other issue reading scales. I was a physics/chemistry teacher for 30 years and I know that this is an issue for many people. I had to devote whole lessons to reading scales on voltmeters, ammeters, burettes, even meter sticks.![]()
What did you end up deciding to do? Have you tested again?
I would NOT pull out the U-40 syringes again. You'll be able to be much more accurate using the u-100s (it's just too hard to eyeball partial units on the u-40s). Maybe go a couple of cycles with the u-100s and see where things land. It's possible you weren't giving the dose you thought you were giving with the old syringes.
So a fat 0.5 after conversion will be a fat 1.25 on the u100 syringe?I'd say stick with the U100s. You have the options of a skinny 0.6 u, an eyeballed 0.5 u, a fat 0.4 u or a regular 0.4 u dose to try in the days ahead. You could try an eyeballed 0.5 u (easy to do on these syringes) on the U100s today.
I tended to work with the divisions on the U100s only. So - I knew I could read U100 lines to get a 0.4 u or 0.6 u dose of ProZinc; I could eyeball 0.5 u on the U100 easily. I avoided dealing with fat or skinny 0.5 u fractions using U100s because I'd have to estimate slightly more or slightly less of a dose that already required me to estimate half way between two lines. I used fats and skinnies only if I was giving 0.4 or 0.6 u fractions that were drawn up using lines. Does that make sense?So a fat 0.5 after conversion will be a fat 1.25 on the u100 syringe?
U-40 U-100
0.2 0.50
0.3 0.75
0.4 1.00
0.5 1.25
0.6 1.50
View attachment 39502
No, no, no!Oh! So forget thinking about what I gave with the u40... just look at the u100 divisions only... and start recording those values on the spreadsheet. So instead of recording 0.6, I will enter 1.5.
Has anything changed today? That's a pretty big jump and a bit out of character for him. If you get a wonky or unusual result, it's a good idea to test again just in case you got a bad test strip or something.Tonight at +9 he is already at 308
I gave him his pills in the 1/3 pill pocket (duck and pea flavor) 2 hours and 10 minutes before the +9 test so those carbs may still be in his system.Has anything changed today? That's a pretty big jump and a bit out of character for him. If you get a wonky or unusual result, it's a good idea to test again just in case you got a bad test strip or something.
You can begin moving his shot time now in whatever increments you prefer. I’m glad I was able to put your mind at ease a bit.Kris & Teasel: Thank you so much for your educational/instructional post... this really helps me!
He is a bouncy boy and keeps me guessing. I'm taking a deep breath and will relax into this for the next several days to see how he does with the 0.6u dose.
With that said, I really, really need to move his shot time to 9:30am. That's the latest morning appointment time I can get with my vet... and I am tired of going to bed at midnight every night and trying to work for my job that has corporate standard hours.
Question: Should I stay at the 11:30am/11:30pm shot time for several days to get him regulated... and then after that start moving his schedule? Or can I move by 30 minutes starting today and not worry about what his numbers are unless his PS number under 200? I know with ProZinc I can technically move his time within an hour, but I've been unsuccessful moving his schedule in the past.
![]()
Thank you! It will be nice not to worry for awhile.You can begin moving his shot time now in whatever increments you prefer. I’m glad I was able to put your mind at ease a bit.
The easiest thing to do is skip this shot and give his dose tomorrow AM at the time you wanted to shift to. Missing one shot won’t be a big problem and you’ll have dealt with the time change you wanted to make. As we often say here, think of it as a fur shot.First day of not worrying and I messed up. I got tied up in a meeting and then obsessively solved a work problem and forgot to give Lewie his shot. I'm 3 hours late. His BG is 363 at 2pm Central.
What do I do? Give it now at 2pm Central? or Wait till 5pm Central (3 hours) and then get up at 5am tomorrow? What are my options without hurting him and without making me get up in the middle of the night?
![]()
Thank you!I might be misunderstanding ... but I think you're only 3 hours late for today's AM shot. Rather than skipping all of today, I think I would shoot now (3 or 4 pm CT your time if I have my time zones correct), then shoot again first thing tomorrow morning (5 to 7AM CT or so, depending on when you get up). That way Lewie is getting some insulin today but you're stretching the cycles to be a little longer (13-15 hrs each). After that you can then push each cycle a little longer (12.5-13 hrs) to get to your preferred shot time of 9:30 am CT.