? Levemir v Lantus

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hi, I am not having much success with lantus and Ruddy, can anyone give me positive or negative experiences with Levemir any successful transitions? I hear the curve is more gentle and reversed although the nadir is later, around shot time. Thank you
 
Did you post in the general health/main forum? I see that you've gotten no responses here - this forum is generally for folks posting specific questions about their cats - hence the use of the date/ cat name / amps title configuration....
 
This is the best place to post the question about Lantus vs. Levemir, as that is where the experience is. Some cats do get better duration and flatter cycles, though not all cats. I preferred Neko's cycles on Levemir. And yes the onset and nadir are later than Lantus. On Lev, it's typically +4 for onset and +8 for nadir, but of course can vary depending on the cat. Neko's cycles were more likely to nadir around +12 on Levemir, though did occasionally on Lantus too.

The reason you aren't having luck with Lantus yet has nothing to do with the insulin, but rather the dose. If you are following TR as per the spreadsheet, you are holding doses too long. This can allow glucose toxicity to develop. You held the 2.25 unit dose for 11 days, but with the type of nadirs he was seeing, you should have increased after 3-5 days. And you could increase now to 2.75 units. You need to keep increasing per the protocol until you see numbers in the mostly green and blue range.

For continuity, the link to your last post in this forum: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-11-amps-316-dosing-advise-please.238241/
 
Thank you, I get scared raising the insulin. I have probably been doing more like slgs than tr. Is there a thing as new dose work wonkiness? Could he have this from the last increase? Will I increase anyway? He was 11.4 amps and +6 is 12.6 today. I fear hypos :nailbiting:
 
Yes there can be New Dose Wonkiness, but only for a couple cycles after the increase. It's not an issue after that.

Of course we all fear hypos. But as long as you have your hypo kit of higher carb food, and monitor enough to catch any lows, you will be ready for lower numbers. Food is the tool we used to steer our cats to safety. Ruddy still has room to increase, his nadirs are only mid blues. Make sure you get a second test every cycle, including the night ones. Once you have the data that shows what his cycles are like, it'll give you the confidence to make the increases he needs.
 
Thank you I will up his dose tonight. I only hope I haven't gone past the right dose so far. Is fancy feast in a gravy medium carb or high carb for the hypo kit? Also can I ask when you think Ruddys nadir is? I can't tell if its +5 +6 +7 +8 just so I know when to keep an extra eye out. I only have him until 29th this month so I am going to go in hard now to try and at least regulate him into the blues and greens.
 
I only hope I haven't gone past the right dose so far.
Doesn't look like it, looks like he hasn't reached the right dose yet.

As far as Fancy Feast, I would have to look up the particular label. I think they vary.
when you think Ruddys nadir is?
Nadirs can vary, they aren't always at the same time for a cat. They can be later if breaking a bounce. His typical nadir time will be become clearer as you get closer to a good dose.
 
Back
Top