Kelley & Bender "Bub"
Member Since 2020
We are still very new at this and learning how to deal with fluctuating glucose levels.
Bub gets 1unit of Lantus every 12 hours, 9am and 9pm. We are also trying to slowly wean Bub off of prednisolone, which we believe caused his diabetes in the first place. Over the weekend Bub seemed nauseated and "out of it", which the vet said could be because of the reduced prednisolone dose. On Saturday he vomited and refused to eat - And since he refused to eat, we skipped his insulin shot all Saturday and one dose Sunday morning. We finally got him to eat Sunday evening and were able to resume his dose.
This morning, Monday, his AMPS was 150 and he ate his breakfast, so we gave him his regular insulin dose. He does not seem nauseated today and is acting healthy, even chasing our other cat around and playing with his toy tennis ball.
Tonight however his level dropped to 90 before food. We let him eat, and we are considering skipping his dosing tonight because of the low level, but I'm worried since we skipped most of the weekend as well. Should we give him a reduced dose, wait an hour and test again even though he has had some food?
Bub gets 1unit of Lantus every 12 hours, 9am and 9pm. We are also trying to slowly wean Bub off of prednisolone, which we believe caused his diabetes in the first place. Over the weekend Bub seemed nauseated and "out of it", which the vet said could be because of the reduced prednisolone dose. On Saturday he vomited and refused to eat - And since he refused to eat, we skipped his insulin shot all Saturday and one dose Sunday morning. We finally got him to eat Sunday evening and were able to resume his dose.
This morning, Monday, his AMPS was 150 and he ate his breakfast, so we gave him his regular insulin dose. He does not seem nauseated today and is acting healthy, even chasing our other cat around and playing with his toy tennis ball.
Tonight however his level dropped to 90 before food. We let him eat, and we are considering skipping his dosing tonight because of the low level, but I'm worried since we skipped most of the weekend as well. Should we give him a reduced dose, wait an hour and test again even though he has had some food?