GA Lethargic and weak. Thoughts?

tackeee

Member Since 2019
So I’ve held little one at 4.75 and he’s nearly to 14 cycles. His numbers haven’t gotten as high as they were before his almost complete mouth extraction about five weeks ago. Two weeks ago his numbers began to climb again.

That being said, the past two days he’s seemed lethargic, weak, and is sleeping on the ground more often. He seems restless and his urinating is way up again. I tested for ketones through the urine collected in his breeze litter box and didn’t seem to see a change on the stick.

After eating part of his dinner meal tonight he just came a few steps out of the kitchen and laid on the floor. He doesn’t seem to be feeling well.

I can see if I can get him in at the vet tomorrow, but my vet isn’t in then and he has an appt for Friday. Unsure of what to do!

Former thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pmps-364-increase-to-5.214010/
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Elizabeth --

I always get nervous when someone describes their cat as "lethargic." Are you testing for ketones? If not, please get some Ketostix as soon as possible -- preferably tonight -- and test your cat. If there is more than a trace level, this is not something you can manage at home. It's a legit reason to get your cat to an ER.
 
I am glad that you tested him for ketones. I would do another test tonight if you are able to get a urine sample. If he is throwing ketones,you should get him seen at an ER tonight due to the lethargy. If he has no ketones present then I think you should push to have him seen tomorrow even if it's not your regular vet. Something isn't right. He could have an infection from the FME 5 weeks ago. Did they do a follow up appointment a week or so after the extractions?

Keep pushing him to eat and add water to his food .

And keep us posted.
 
I’ll test for ketones again the next time he goes. Last time there was no change on the stick or trace of ketones. He’s slowly eating and drinking water, but is wandering around and then laying down and then up again. He ate all his dinner and he hasn’t cried in the litter box, thrown up, or had any accidents. He just seems out of it.

I’ll call to the vet first thing in the am!
 
Even though SLGS says to hold the dose 14 cycles, you have been great at getting tests every cycle since you increased. I would be really tempted to increase a bit earlier to 5.0 units. It has been 11 cycles now, and you have enough data to show you aren’t missing any lows. For any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Elizabeth only.
 
I’ll increase to 5 in the morning. I’m tempted to take him into the emergency vet tonight just because he seems so uncomfortable and is limping with his front paw and seems off balance. His recent test was 392 and I’ll take another in another hour or two. I don’t think he has ketones in his urine. He finished his dinner. Emergency vet tech on the phone said I could either bring him in or take him to my vet in the am. I just don’t like to see him this uncomfortable!
 
Little one passed peacefully today. Thanks for all of your help and support on this platform. It made a huge difference over the past several months. ❤️
 
Oh no. I am so sorry Elizabeth. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: You were such a good mom to Little One. I am glad his passing was peaceful though I can imagine you are in shock. Take care of you.
 
I am so sorry for your loss (((Elizabeth))).
Fly Free and land softly, Little One.
 
I am so very sorry for your loss Elizabeth.

Fly free sweet Little One :rb_icon:
26163.jpg
:rb_icon:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm so sorry to hear about Little One. I hope, despite Little One's passing, that you are well. We're here for you if you need a place to remember Little One.
 
Elizabeth, what a shock! You made Little one's life so great by taking such diligent, loving, and thoughtful care of him. Sudden loss is never easy, please take care of yourself and know that everyone here is thinking of you.
 
Oh Elizabeth! I am so sorry to hear it was Little One's time to leave you. My heart is aching for the pain you are feeling right now. Sending you many hugs and vines of comfort, love, and peace. Take care of yourself. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so sorry to hear of such a quick passing of your Little One. You worked hard to keep your Little One comfortable . Take care of yourself. :bighug:

cat_wings>o
 
Oh my, I was so very sorry to read your post of Little One crossing the bridge Elizabeth. We share your loss and your grief, and I wish there were words that would ease your aching heart. You are such a good fur person's momma, and I wish you peace and comfort, many many hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry to see Little One go. You did a great job with all the health care you gave your sweet kitteh. May Little One fly freely and safely to the Bridge. More hugs to you.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top