? Leonard 7/8 amps 220 opinions please

Marie&Leonard

Member Since 2018
I’m thinking we need to up Leonard’s dose to 3 units. Could the expert spreadsheet readers chime in on this. I think it’s needed, but last time we tried it - his numbers went lower than I was comfortable with. Thanks so much !
 
Hi Marie,

It looks like you're following SLGS. I'm don't have a lot of experience on the board but I personally would try the 3 units if it were Mowgli since you have been on this dose for over two weeks now and only gone into blue a few times. It's also important to know that as Leonard moves along in his diabetes journey he will react differently to doses along the way. Just because he went low on 3u mid June doesn't necessarily mean that the same thing will happen this time. :). Also, even when Leonard went into the Green zone on 3u, he did stay in safe numbers... but getting your first greens can be super scary (mine were) so I understand your concern.

SLGS states:
"After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit"
The point highlighted in blue applies to your curves for Leonard :)

One thing I think some of the more experienced members here will want before providing some dosage feedback for you are some night time BG tests. Cats often have lower BG levels at night so without test data from these times it's hard to know what is a safe dose for night time. It is also valuable for you to understand how Leonard reacts to insulin in the night time. If you do decide to increase, try and get at least a +2 for after both AMPS and PMPS so you can see if Leonard is in a safe zone or not, if the +2 is the same or higher than the AMPS/PMPS then you probably don't have much to worry about, if it is much lower, then you may want to take another test in an hour / ask for advice on the forum.

You're doing a great job taking care of Leonard, keep up the good work and let us all know how you decide to go ahead :)
 
Thanks so much for your reply and the info. We have been under the guidance of our vet, but I have come to believe this is a better way for Leonard. Just so much to learn ! We will get some +2 pm numbers and work on other pm numbers. +2 am will have to be a Sunday thing as it takes 2 of us to test him. Thanks again... appreciate it so much.
 
Thanks so much for your reply and the info. We have been under the guidance of our vet, but I have come to believe this is a better way for Leonard. Just so much to learn ! We will get some +2 pm numbers and work on other pm numbers. +2 am will have to be a Sunday thing as it takes 2 of us to test him. Thanks again... appreciate it so much.
No thanks needed, we all have gone through the same learning curve, it’s a lot to process :) you’ll learn more quickly than you expect and everyone here will help along the way :)
 
It looks like you can increase to 3 units. Many go low at night. Max was one of them so night tests are needed. However I see flat yellow so I kind of doubt he’s going low at night. Any night tests when you have a second set of hands will help, especially +2—+7.
 
Back
Top