Leo ... should I continue with insuline

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leocat

Member Since 2020
Good day everyone,

Leo is a male of 10 years old, last Tuesday his blood work showed increased blood sugar... the vet gave me prescription food royal canin diabetic and since Friday the vet started to give him insulin 1 ui Lantus but his blood sugar is getting higher... I recently found out about the low carb diet and ordered a bunch waiting to be delivered ...
After I called the vet and told him about the value at the check after the insulin shoot today he said that from tomorrow I should change the type of insulin .. In morning Mixtard and in evening Lantus ...
I was wondering if would be better for him to stop insulin shoots and just try few weeks with low carb food ...
what are your opinions ?
here is his chart so far
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Hi and welcome To you and Leo.
First of all please do not change to Mixtard insulin. It is not suitable to use is in a cat at all.
And to suggest to use mixtard in the morning and Lantus in the evening is quite frankly outrageous.
I don’t think your vet knows much about feline diabetes..

In answer to your other question. Yes I think Leo does need insulin at the moment. I would continue giving 1 unit Lantus night and morning .....making sure you test before every shot to see it is safe to give the insulin and also to test at least once during every cycle. The insulin is strongest in the first half of the cycle normally so I would get a test in each cycle somewhere between +4 and +7 varying it. Make sure you get a test in during the pm cycles as they are just as important.

If you stop insulin In a cat that needs it you risk the cat developing ketones which can be dangerous.
The blood glucose numbers he is getting are OK for a newly diagnosed cat. It takes time for the insulin to work and you won’t see results straight away.
What is the spreadsheet you are using? Is it one of ours? Can you tell me what type of meter are you using?
Ask as many questions as you would like
Bron
 
Hello Bron,

thanks for reply to my message... and outlining most important facts...
I always measure before give the shoot at 9 am and 9 pm 1 ui Lentus Starting from Sunday
When we were off insulin Leo had blood sugar values between 300-370, with the insulin he is between 400-500
I Test every 3 hours his blood sugar as I filled the values in the blood sugar chart attached to the previous post
I was hoping will not be a huge risk to stop insulin now as we started only few days ago ( Friday and Saturday 1 ui in am and Sunday - today 1 ui am and 1 ui in evening)
I think is too early to change the insulin type as vet first said, we should test at least for a week till my cat will get used to Lentus ... now after just few days he wants to mix 2 insulin types ... I’m worried cause so far I don’t see an improvement in his blood sugar numbers he drinks even more water, his poop is very soft (has ecoli beta hemolitic and take antibiotics for it twice a day and probiotic).. and adding a new type of insulin might mess his organism more - in my view ...
Vet suggested to change to Mixtard in morning because the values blood sugar stay elevated.. above 400 ... Despite the 1 ui insulin and the royal canin diabetic food ( since yesterday Leo started to refuse eating the wet food from this brand) that vet told me to follow ... wish you could see the chart so you could understand...
I measure the blood sugar with Code free meter from humans
It’s the sheet that I downloaded from the feline site, I’m not sure how should I share it so you could see it properly ... at my sheet I see the values boxes colored but in the one loaded here I’m not sure you see it properly ... please let me know if you can see my sheet or how should I share it to be visible
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome!

I second everything Bron says. Don't stop insulin, and don't use the Mixtard-- it really isn't a good insulin for cats.

It's not at all unusual for a cat's numbers to still be high at this stage-- frankly, it's more unusual when they aren't! I'm wondering if your vet is more used to dealing with diabetes in dogs? They are apparently much easier to regulate than cats, and it might be perfectly feasible to get the right dose and good numbers in a week. Around here, on the other hand, we say that FD is a marathon, not a sprint!

We use a standard spreadsheet template for recording BG numbers, and share read-only links in our signatures (see mine, for example, in "Amber's SS"). Instructions for downloading and sharing a link to your spreadsheet are here: FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS
 
Thank you for advices, experience is very important in this sickness ... it’s sooo good you are here and can give me directions and answers to my doubts.. I wish I do what’s best for my kitty...
today measures were 491 before shoot, and after 1 ui Lantus .... 408 ( +3) and 334 (+6).
I will follow your advices and talk to the vet to keep Lantus ...
In my country I could not find any shoot of 0,3 ml as I seen on the group here ...
The vet gave me one of 1 ml and said lower aren’t produced... with this one is impossible to dose lower than 1 ui or give 1.5 ui ... luckily I found a site and ordered shoots of 0,5 ml so hopefully in one or 2 days will be easier to use and adjust the dose to Leo’s needs.
I’ll read the spread sheet infos and try to apply...
I’m a newbie and with the bunch of infos and stress from last few days mixed with wild pregnancy hormones it’s overwhelming... so I’m very greatful I found this support group!
 
I'm going to ask @Chris & China (GA) if she can help you with your spreadsheet.
I can see yours, it is just a black and white one and quite small.
Looking at the numbers I can see he is responding to the insulin and dropping down into the 200s and the 100s at times. It takes a week for the depot that Lantus has to fill and the full effect of the dose to take effect in the beginning.
Read here about the depot and why it's important
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/

I've never in all my years of feline diabetics heard of a vet suggesting one type of insulin in the morning and another in the afternoon. Lantus likes consistencyand if you chopped and changed with another insulin I think it would be dangerous as the two types are complete different insulins. Mixtard is not an insulin for cats anyway.
What country are you living in.?
We will try and see if we can find the correct insulin syringes for you, the 0.3 ml syringes are much easier to use.
It is overwhelming in the beginning but once you get sorted out you will find it much easier and we are very happy to help you.
Have you read this thread?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Keep posting each day.:)
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the infos, it’s much more for me to read on this forum ... each day a bit more
We are from Romania, Bucharest, don’t know much about my vet expertise in diabetic felines cause he doesn’t have an experience resume and works with 2 more vets that saw my Leo.. maybe I should ask for another opinion from a different vet... but here vets aren’t eager to take over cases that other doctors started to supervise
I read a bit about Lantus and heard about the deposit but don’t know much and how actually works .. I just got scared of Leo’s numbers that kept growing and bouncing and the new vet indications combined with seeing Leo stressed about blood checks and shoots without obvious improvement ... I started doubting about if insulin is best choice at this stage and if would be better just to start the low carb diet... I understand now it takes time ...
Probably the sheet doesn’t look as it should cause I shared it from phone app ... when I get to my computer will follow the steps to make it proper and hopefully succeed.
 
WELCOME TO FDMB! You have found a safe place to land and get PROPER advice to help Leocat. I'm not an expert but even I know your Vet is WRONG. I know its hard to go against advice of a trained professional but I wonder how many cats your Vet has treated for this disease. smh.
I'm SO glad you found us! You are part of this great community now. USE US.

We want to help cats, survive to THRIVE!;):coffee:
Again welcome to the best place to help you help your Leocat! Uhhh would you mind sharing your name? We know Leo's. :p
jeanne
 
Hello, I’m Veronica and I’m 32 years old, I searched online for help cause we don’t have support groups in Romania for diabetic cats and I felt I need to share with someone and seek help beside my vet... as pet owners at home we deal with more than vet can answer ...
besides Leo I have one more cat, male also 10 years old, Leo’s brother Negri, his glicemia is 121 ( in range according to blood test range). I found them when they were baby kittens ... their eyes were not even open ...someone threw them in a box at garbage they were 4 kittens ...I Fed them with formula cat milk,.. but one had an intestinal occlusion as vet said to me and died in first week and the other had fat fly worms in his leg and despite the treatment his tiny body wasn’t strong enough to fight ...so only 2 survived. Not sure why Leo got sick ... both cats had same meals... probably genetics or individual weaknesses...
I’m part of Facebook group too but I posted in there as I read that on Facebook you can’t make suggestions about insulin dose etc...
I ordered low carb food, ordered syringe of 0,5 ml and try to get familiar with all the infos from here to be able to deal with this health issue Leo has abd hopefully prevent Negri get sick with diabetes too ... ... for now I’m staying home so I can watch and Test like every 3 hours as my vet told me to ... but it must be even harder for someone who works and has family to care... another reasons I seek more infos is cause I worry that Leo needing insulin will be a struggle in future if I’ll not be home for him ... or unable to spend so much time monitoring him so I really hope to be able to help him regulate the blood sugar so he doesn’t need it on long term ...
 
another reasons I seek more infos is cause I worry that Leo needing insulin will be a struggle in future if I’ll not be home for him ... or unable to spend so much time monitoring him so I really hope to be able to help him regulate the blood sugar so he doesn’t need it on long term

And I think maybe we can help you with that.;) just a little :p Keep reading keep asking questions... Theres a wealth of information here with GOOD people to help you decipher it all.

WELCOME VERONICA to this community of crazy cat lovers! You now belong to one of the best sites on this planet to help you learn and navigate this disease.
jeanne
 
you are all very kind, easing a bit my struggle ...
update talk with my vet ...
The veterinarian says that the syringes I found are not good because they have a gradation of 2 in 2 ui and insists on making a mixtard, claiming that he consulted with other colleagues and wants to reduce Leo’s blood sugar to 200 and the Mixtard has faster absorption and in the evening to give him Lantus ... he’s very determined this is right way
 
I agree with everyone, please stick with Lantus twice a day. It’s such a great insulin for cats and many even go into remission! :bighug::bighug:

I just want to add that you may not need to order expensive cat food like Royal Canin. Most of us here feed our cats a US brand called Fancy Feast that you can buy at any supermarket or pet store and it’s rather inexpensive. I hope Georgina can give you some advice on the low carb foods available for you guys there.

Welcome!!!
 
@Georgiana & Perlutz
lives in Romania. I'm tagging her for you. She may know where you can get syringes.
And welcome. You have come to the right place. There is a wealth of information, knowledge, and experience here.
WOW fantastic memory :woot: I’m Romanian indeed but I live in UK so I can’t help much with supplies. I did PM Veronica some things I could think about (no dosing advice, of course) so thank you for the tag:bighug:

@Madalina & Mishu lives in Romania, maybe Madalina knows what’s the best place to buy supplies.
 
Good day,
Yesterday ...Vet urged to start Mixtard in morning and Lantus on evening so I told him I prefer to stay on Lantus at least 1 week before trying to change anything for Leo treatment.
Today Vet called me saying is his duty to give best treatment and asked me to come by the vet office to give me free the Mixtard insulin he bought himself so we can start administer to Leo from tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Please please do not give the mustard insulin. It just does not work giving mixtard one cycle and Lantus the next. It’s just scary they are suggesting it. Mixtard is an ‘in and out insulin’ and fast acting, and Lantus is a depot insulin and longer acting
Be strong and stand up for your Leo. Just say NO!!
Its like saying ‘oh well this antibiotic is not working properly so we will give this antibiotic in the morning and we’ll give another antibiotic in the evening’

They can’t make you use mixtard. Leo is your cat and YOU are paying THEM so you get to decide what’s best for your Leo.
 
Hi Veronica,

I wouldn’t try such a thing for anything in the world... I’ve been trying to find some articles on using Mixtard in cats and there is hardly anything at all, let alone any success stories...

The vet has a duty of care to both you and Leo, don’t be afraid to say no. Frankly, I think it might be time to find yourself a new vet that doesn’t try to experiment on your cat and who appreciates the time and effort you put into researching feline diabetes and is willing to listen to you and work with you.

LE: When trying to find more about Mixtard, I came across a thread here on FDMB from another Romanian and seems that after 8 days on this Mixtard, he switched to Lantus and his cat went into remission after only a month on Lantus! I’ll tag, maybe he is still on the forum and can chip in some advice @dinu55
 
Last edited:
the Faculty of veterinary Medicine from Bucharest had a study about cats and dogs and when they had blood sugar over 400 in morning they received Mixtard and in in evening same dose of Lentus. and they were "fine"... on the other hand I found articles about humans where most were saying it's a dangerous thing mix Mixtard with Lantus.
I just came out of another vet office and she told me the values of blood sugar I test home are fake cause I stress the cat and I should take the cat there so they keep it a day and make a proper curve .. also told me I need to put my cat on Mixtard 2 ui am and 2 ui pm, She showed me how to use the 1 ml syringe .. pull 4 lines of insulin and some air and after that inject it to the cat ... so she gave me a prescription for a week and told me to test twice a day before I make the shoot and next week to bring the cat to her so she can make a curve ... it’s all so confusing
 
Thank you for all your support, I decided Not to give Mixtard.
I’ll seek another vet that hopefully knows more about feline diabetes at the clinic of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Bucharest where all veterinary doctors take their degrees... until then I’ll continue with Lantus and share with you Leo’s progress. I appreciate all your advices!
PLEASE DO! We are here for you. Its scary going against advice. I'm just grateful to this site, that I never had to. I gave my Vet this address to read and absorb and absorb she did! She recommends all her diabetic cases to come here. AND best of all? She said she LEARNED a great deal here.
jeanne
 
Thank heavens you made the right choice we promise you!!

By the way, the vet telling you the home testing numbers are not true because the cat is stressed makes me want to punch him or her. Like the cat is not stressed at the vet??!! Who has ever heard of such a crazy statement?!! That alone makes me think this vet should not be practicing at all. I hope you find a much better vet. It’s hard I know I’ve been to a few but they are out there we just have to look harder and keep advocating for what’s best for our cats :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My goodness, this is beginning to sound like the origin story of a group of cat-avenging superheroes ;)!

I do think we're all in agreement here about the advice you are getting from your vet. I'm glad you're going to look for a new one.

Are you going to continue to give 1U lantus while you look for a new vet? Have we gotten your syringe situation solved yet?
 
My goodness, this is beginning to sound like the origin story of a group of cat-avenging superheroes ;)!

I do think we're all in agreement here about the advice you are getting from your vet. I'm glad you're going to look for a new one.

Are you going to continue to give 1Ui Lantus while you look for a new vet? Have we gotten your syringe situation solved yet?
Sadly the syringe didn’t arrived yet perhaps tomorrow they will.
I am continuing with Lantus 1 ui am and 1 ui pm, using the 1 ml syringe ... I looked on the forum infos about syringe and dosage ...I just feel unsure that I do the shoot properly and wonder if he gets the dose cause his numbers don’t have improvement...for example tonight he had 413 then I gave him the shoot 1 ui and at +4 numbers showed 399 ... I’ll load the syringe pic so you can give advice about the dose maybe ... I charge with insulin the first gap between the first 2 lines and that a 1 ui as first vet showed me ...
 

Attachments

  • 0A6DFA0C-A401-4CD6-AD0C-DB26C86CE967.jpeg
    0A6DFA0C-A401-4CD6-AD0C-DB26C86CE967.jpeg
    38.4 KB · Views: 121
OK, I think that should be 1U of Lantus. Lantus is a U-100 insulin. That means that there are 100U per ml, so 1U = 0.01ml, which is what you seem to be drawing up.

That is really tough to see, though, I hope your other syringes arrive soon!

It's very possible that Leo will need more insulin to bring his numbers down. You've had him on 1U about a week, that is just about enough time to assess this dose.

We usually change doses by only 0.25U at a time, which would be 0.0025ml on your syringes :eek: -- I wouldn't even try to measure that! Let's see what the new syringes look like when they arrive and go from there.
 
Hello
Today I avoided the dry food and now I checked Leo’s blood sugar to see if is ok to give his Lantus dose ... bs it’s 156 ... what should I do ? Still on the 1 ml syringe and not sure I can give lower dose than 1 ui ...
 
Hmmmm..... that is pretty low for him. You may have to skip the shot tonight.

One thing you can do is to try stalling-- don't feed if you haven't already, and test again in 30 minutes. If he's going up without food influence, it's likely safe to shoot (lantus doesn't take effect for a couple hours).

Unfortunately, I won't be around if you do that (I have a meeting for work coming up in a few minutes), hopefully there will be others here who could advise.

It may very well be that removing the dry food was just what Leo needed to bring his numbers down to earth :)!!!
 
Hmmmm..... that is pretty low for him. You may have to skip the shot tonight.

One thing you can do is to try stalling-- don't feed if you haven't already, and test again in 30 minutes. If he's going up without food influence, it's likely safe to shoot (lantus doesn't take effect for a couple hours).

Unfortunately, I won't be around if you do that (I have a meeting for work coming up in a few minutes), hopefully there will be others here who could advise.

It may very well be that removing the dry food was just what Leo needed to bring his numbers down to earth :)!!!
Hello Nan,
Thank you for the quick reply.. I skipped his Lantus dose and I also talked to the vet that said to skip the dose and urged to feed him the prescription diet.. since he refuses the diabetic wet food I gave the dry food and after 40-50 min from that meal his blood sugar got to 291.. will check later tonight and see how it continues to grow without the Lantus .. have a easy work day!
 
I would encourage you to try other wet foods. Most of us feed FF and it’s fine. I disagree with your vet but see how much his BG went up with the dry? He would likely need even less than 1 unit on a diet of wet only. Vets will push for those it’s like a doctor trying to push you certain meds because they have a stake in it. I’d take a look at the food chart for foods with less than 10% carb @Nan & Amber (GA) can tell you where it lives, I need to bookmark it because I always forget...
 
I would encourage you to try other wet foods. Most of us feed FF and it’s fine. I disagree with your vet but see how much his BG went up with the dry? He would likely need even less than 1 unit on a diet of wet only. Vets will push for those it’s like a doctor trying to push you certain meds because they have a stake in it. I’d take a look at the food chart for foods with less than 10% carb @Nan & Amber (GA) can tell you where it lives, I need to bookmark it because I always forget...
Indeed, I thought it’s bad idea to give dry food also but I wanted to see how much influence the dry food has on his blood sugar and perhaps convince the vet is not best choice .. but the vet was happy with the new number said is good for a diabetic ... I must dig deeper in choosing a low carb diet, been searching for FF but it’s not in my area... ordered already some low carb foods from the list China sent me and and will focus on ensuring Leo a better diet. Meanwhile I’ll seek another vet advice too...
 
Indeed, I thought it’s bad idea to give dry food also but I wanted to see how much influence the dry food has on his blood sugar and perhaps convince the vet is not best choice .. but the vet was happy with the new number said is good for a diabetic ... I must dig deeper in choosing a low carb diet, been searching for FF but it’s not in my area... ordered already some low carb foods from the list China sent me and and will focus on ensuring Leo a better diet. Meanwhile I’ll seek another vet advice too...
Hi Leocat,
Please see my post on the main forum.
You can get remarkable results by feeding meat and fish, raw if possible. Our cat is ten too. Good luck! S
 
Thank you Simon,

I will learn from your experience and try to apply to Leo, I read about feline diet here on forum and saw how they prep raw meat meals and was planning to buy the necessary ingredients and do it for Leo tomorrow...today I cooked chicken broth for him but he wasn’t a big fan of it .. will try again soon ... hopefully he will like it ... We are what we eat must be same for cats too ...
 
Hello everyone.. I been feeding Leo low carb food and today His blood sugar was 386, I gave him 1 ui of lantus and at + 3 was 183, at + 6 was 255 and now it’s 275... I should give him his insulin but I’m wondering if is safe to give 1 ui .... I always gave him 1 ui with his blood sugar above 340 ... what do you advise me?
I received the 50 ui shoots but 1 ui corresponds to 1 space so I should reduce the dose by eye .. dont have graduation lower than 1 ui ...

update:
decided to give him 1 ui and will monitor closely to see how low it drops ..
 
Last edited:
Hello everyone.. I been feeding Leo low carb food and today His blood sugar was 386, I gave him 1 ui of lantus and at + 3 was 183, at + 6 was 255 and now it’s 275... I should give him his insulin but I’m wondering if is safe to give 1 ui .... I always gave him 1 ui with his blood sugar above 340 ... what do you advise me?
I received the 50 ui shoots but 1 ui corresponds to 1 space so I should reduce the dose by eye .. dont have graduation lower than 1 ui ...

update:
decided to give him 1 ui and will monitor closely to see how low it drops ..
What meter are you using, human or pet? If human anything above 90 is safe to give the normal dose and if pet over 68 I believe. Lantus needs consistency in the dose so don’t decrease or skip unless kitty is below safe threshold. Have you read the sticky notes in the Lantus forum?
 
Hi GruGru..

I’m using human meter and I gave him the usual dose 1 ui and regular food but seems that at +2 his blood sugar went way up to 477 ...

I read the sticky posts and will probably read them more times till I get used to Lantus.. I’m quite new and not so used to how Lantus works and what to expect as reaction from my kitty ... as he sometimes drops more than half of the number before shoot ...

Thank you for the infos!
 
I get it. A ton of info to process. What food are you feeding? It could be just that, but remember better too high than too low for your cat’s safety. And the more test/data you get, the more you’ll get to know how your cat reacts to the insulin throughout the day :cat::cat::cat:
 
Leo went up to 509 ... I feed him low carb food from the food list here below 10% ... the only thing I suspect now that was wrong with the insulin dose tonight ...that could have cause such high numbers is the shoot I used as it was a new type ... 0,30 mm (30G) x 8 mm BD ... was the needle too short ?
When I gave the shoot I made sure the needle goes into the skin but seems something failed ... any ideas ?
 
Leo went up to 509 ... I feed him low carb food from the food list here below 10% ... the only thing I suspect now that was wrong with the insulin dose tonight ...that could have cause such high numbers is the shoot I used as it was a new type ... 0,30 mm (30G) x 8 mm BD ... was the needle too short ?
When I gave the shoot I made sure the needle goes into the skin but seems something failed ... any ideas ?
Well if it was a fur shot you would have been able to feel it on the fur also you can smell lantus. Could he have gotten into any kibble or something like that?
Hold on for more replies.
 
Hello dear friends
Today I took Leo to the appointment with the vet from the only pet hospital in Romania, this vet it’s the best we have on diabetes, she did her doctor degree on diabetes disease, this are her recommendations
1. Prescription food hills for diabetic ( she said no other kind of food that doesn’t have diabetics written on the label)
2. Mixtard 30 insulin in the morning and Lantus in the evening (posibly switching Leo on Mixtard 30 for both morning and evening)
3. She told me the proper hour to shoot is 07-07:30 am and same pm ( I currently shoot at 09-09:30 am and pm)
4. Check blood sugar twice a day and the Dosage for both types of insulin will be :
-If bs under 150 ml/dl no shoot
-If Bs is between 150-300ml/dl - 1 ui
-If Bs is above 300 ml/dl - 2 ui
5. Meal hours:
7-7:30- meal after insulin
12-12:30- meal
16-16:30 - meal
19-19:30 - meal After insulin
22:30 - meal
No food during night
6. After 10 days of this treatment to do a curve ( In 1 day measure blood sugar every 4 hours between 7-22, before meals)
No mention about hypo situations or hypo emergency kit. No mention about transitioning to the new hours or to the new increase dose so basically from today I should shoot at 19-19:30 lantus and in morning at 7-7:30 mixtard the doses depending on his blood sugar.
Since all vets learn from this faculty of veterinarian medicine and she is best in the diabetic area I have little hope that if I go to any other vet will give me a different advice ... This is the forth vet I went and recommended Mixtard 30 as treatment ... but when I asked here in forum about it I was advised not to use Mixtard ...
How can I keep Leo supervised at a vet considering they all recommend this treatment program that I’m not sure is best for Leo ... I’m not keen to test the 2 types of insulin on Leo, if I tell the vet I will not follow her scheme she will not continue to supervise him ... what can I do for Leo’s well-being ?
 
Last edited:
Let’s see what others say but I don’t agree with any of it. You should not be mixing 2 different types of insulin ever. If a vet told me to do that no matter what credentials, I’d run. The food advice is also bad advice as that food is high in carbs and cats do not need expensive food that’s “marketed” for diabetes. It’s a money making machine. You don’t increase dose by 1 full unit and you don’t adjust dose based on preshot numbers. You do that based on nadir. I’m sorry you don’t have better vet options there, but I wouldn’t do any of the above :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Also the time of day of the shot does not matter as long as it’s 12 hours apart. Seriously, that you can disregard right away. Continue to give insulin at your regular schedule as long as it’s 12 hours apart. So if you do 9 in the am, you have to do 9 in the pm
 
Indeed your comments have more logic and match what I’ve read here on the forum about how I can increase the dosage and time of administration... which for me make more sense than what vet suggests as better treatment ...
regarding the dose ... I seen Leo bouncing from 300+ to 150 then up to 500 ... on 1 ui of Lantus .. I don’t think is safe for him to give 2 ui of Lantus suddenly from one day to the other considering he can go as low as 150 on 1 ui ... his nadir of 150 make me wonder how low will go if I double the dose ... I showed her the sheet with blood sugar values that I keep for Leo but this was her advice ... double the dosage depending on the numbers prior shoot instead of reporting to the nadir ...
it’s really disappointing to hear same bad directions from vets.. when I asked her if it’s safe to mix the 2 types of insulin she told me ... YES it’s very safe and said that she has lots of patients on this type of treatment with good chances of remission.... also mentioned that Lantus is a 24 hour action type of insulin and is has no sense to administer it every 12 hours ... her treatment strategy worries me more as while I waited there seen another cat that was in very bad shape also with diabets under her supervision from past year and half ... indeed I don’t know the other cat medical history but was looking like she’ll die soon so ... I don’t want to see Leo like that ☹️
Without all the Infos and support from this forum ... Leo would be subject to the Experimental treatment this vets are giving ... it’s so scary
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top