Leo Hamberger's spreadsheet/dosing questions.

Jessica Hamberger

Member Since 2020
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...0gjFGBa6hBdTXfK8qHdNQQlQGo/edit#gid=361360320

Hi Leo was on 1 unit Lantus am and .5 pm. Diagnosed 3/16/2020. Blood test from 3/14/2020 bg was at 543 and Only 7 weeks had passed between then and last blood test in which his bg was normal. He was on 5mg prednisolone a day and he is down to 1.25 mg every 3 days. He has controlled IBD, severe asthma, early stage CKD, pancreatitis. He is diet is cooked elk/venison with bison liver and alnutrin supplement. One of the things I noticed on his last blood test was that his pancreas numbers was at a 45 which is very high and his triglycerides and cholesterol was through the roof. I think it was caused from the pork loin and duck fat (for constipation) caused all 3 of them to go very high which was all stopped on 3/16/2020. I am wondering if the steroids and high fat content stressed his pancreas even more which caused the diabetes. We are doing another blood test in two weeks to see if his numbers have changed. I spoke with my vet last night and she said his numbers are getting too low and thinks he holds on to the insulin longer so wants me to do only one unit in the morning. I feel like I should do .5 in am and .5 in pm because the lantus is supposed to be given every 12 hours. I only gave .25 this morning because he was 79. I am hoping remission will be possible. Please any thoughts will be nice!
 
Bump.
One of the experienced folk should be along shortly to give you some advice.
I hope you have a great day Jessica. Cant wait to see Leo's progress through this sugar dance!:cat:
 
I feel like I should do .5 in am and .5 in pm because the lantus is supposed to be given every 12 hours

You're totally right! No insulin lasts 24 hours in cats! But with the numbers you're getting, I'd start at .25

You've been changing his dose too much. Lantus craves consistency so we need to find a dose that you can safely give both AM and PM.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot. It looks like you've been trying to dose based on the PS. The main reason we test before shooting is only to make sure they're high enough to safely give insulin at all.....that being said.....

At first, if you get a PS under 150, we suggest you stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food. Use that time to post here and make sure your subject line is really clear....like "STALLING!! NEED HELP!!" usually works....LOL Once you get some eyes on your post, you can edit and change your subject line.

You have been shooting numbers that most of us wouldn't shoot until we had a LOT more experience!

Leo is looking great as far as his chances of going into remission. Those are wonderful numbers (most of them anyway!)
 
You're totally right! No insulin lasts 24 hours in cats! But with the numbers you're getting, I'd start at .25

You've been changing his dose too much. Lantus craves consistency so we need to find a dose that you can safely give both AM and PM.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the Pre-shot. It looks like you've been trying to dose based on the PS. The main reason we test before shooting is only to make sure they're high enough to safely give insulin at all.....that being said.....

At first, if you get a PS under 150, we suggest you stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food. Use that time to post here and make sure your subject line is really clear....like "STALLING!! NEED HELP!!" usually works....LOL Once you get some eyes on your post, you can edit and change your subject line.

You have been shooting numbers that most of us wouldn't shoot until we had a LOT more experience!

Leo is looking great as far as his chances of going into remission. Those are wonderful numbers (most of them anyway!)
Thanks so much for your help!!!
 
Back
Top