Leo AMPS 315, PMPS 230 - Doing fine

JeffJ

Member Since 2016
Leo recently had issues, and we were really worried.
In summary NO leg or bone cancer.

Issues
- Sept 25 - Oct 5 very reduced appetite
- hypos because of less calories
- walking problems

He has growths on both back leg (back) ankles, at the back of the hocks. Just in that short period he started hobbling a lot more than normal. Normally he has arthritis and some walking problems there.

The vet sent samples from the growths to the lab. NO cancer. The lab reported sinovial fluid in the cysts. They feel like soft growths and he has some pain in both back legs.

His immune system is compromised from the chlorambucil (chemo) and prednisolone. WBC count is very high.

Next three weeks
- resume chemo, continue pred (prednisolone) - both were started on 7/5/2017
- bupe 2x daily for pain as needed
- antibiotic zinoquil
- mirtazipine to induce hunger as needed
- extra freeze dried chickn treats, his favorite
- extra brushes and lovin
Little Dude and Leo - Oh Boy tuna juice 10-08-2018c.jpg
 
Thanks everyone for the likes and Chris for the comment. Before the histology we were thinking bad things, so this is a huge relief to us.
@Amanda & Shmee - you were asking about Leo. We are relieved that his diagnosis was just an infection.
 
Thank goodness for no cancer! I had a similar scare with Neko and a growth on her jaw bone. Darn acro growths. :mad: I hope the meds help him feel better.
 
Thanks Wendy. Acro seems like a nightmare version of whack a mole. We never know what will crop up next.

It seems his hunger got restarted from one of two changes:
- mirtazipine
- or removal of chlorambucil (chemo)

Since we are restarting chemo again tomorrow, he will get mirtazipine if there are any more hunger issues. I guess an alternative is to do temporary reprieves from chemo. Our vet does not want to do "pulsed dose" chemo (every 10 days).
 
Are you giving an anti nausea drug like ondansetron or Cerenia, though preferably ondansetron? Mirtazapine is an appetite stimulant. You don't want to give an appy stimulant to a nauseous cat.

Pulsed dosing was every 2 weeks. Neko was nauseous for 4-5 days after chemo, so we had ten good days until the next treatment. Ondansetron an hour before chlorambucil really helped.
 
Thanks for the kudos everyone.

hi Wendy - we'll try odansetron. I might have some in the "cat medicine cabinet". Over the years probably everyone has a stash of cat medical supply stuff that seems to just grow.
 
:bighug:
So super glad no cancer, sending vines and hugs :bighug::bighug:
I have to ask what are their bowls sitting on, looks like frisbees
 
Thanks John, Irene, and BellasMom.

Those platters are from Target store. Both boys have eating issues because of dentals, their top canines are removed. In Leo's case he had abcesses. In Little Dude's case, his canines were fractured when we adopted him. Anyhow, I can stack multiple platters to the height they are most comfortable with. And we can wash the plastic platters quite easily.
 
Thanks all. The growths really scared us. All weekend, then waiting until Tuesday for lab results. What a relief.

We'll resume chemo tomorrow. In the meantime, this has been a good break for Leo. His appetite has resumed full steam. So I'm letting him build up a tiny fat reserve and enjoy some non-nausea days.
 
Thanks all for additional kudos.

Leo is currently off chemo, but his longterm plan requires it for the small cell lymphoma. I'll probably resume the chemo after he gets closer to being BG regulated. That is only 1-3 days away. In the meantime, he is eating quite well, and getting the other meds. I'm out of town Sunday-Tuesday on business, and Theresa is all prepped for full "Leo handling".

Insulin recent history:
8/5 before issues
AM 3.0, PM 2.0
10/12 now
AM 2.25, PM 1.5

The reduced evening dose was working. The AM prednisolone was driving the daytime numbers up. Yes, not per our protocol, but it was working. Perhaps Leo will need less insulin this month. We would certainly welcome a reduction.
 
Last edited:
Thanks John, Irene, and BellasMom.

Those platters are from Target store. Both boys have eating issues because of dentals, their top canines are removed. In Leo's case he had abcesses. In Little Dude's case, his canines were fractured when we adopted him. Anyhow, I can stack multiple platters to the height they are most comfortable with. And we can wash the plastic platters quite easily.
Great idea!
 
Jeff, I’m just seeing this. Thank goodness for no bone cancer! I’m glad Leo is feeling and eating better now.
 
Jeff, I am so glad that there is no cancer. And seeing that picture just made my day. I miss the Leo and Little Dude pictures. He's a very precious boy, they both are, and you and Theresa take such good care of them. A kiss, hug and belly rub for each one of the FMBD kitties, hugs to each and every parent/caretaker.
 
Thanks for additional kudos. I'll probably get in trouble to extending this thread.

We are so relieved that Leo has yet another lease on life, and the issue is a rather simple infection. My current goal is to get him re-regulated again. We postponed his chemo for another few days. He loves being off the chemo.

I'm in Salt Lake City on a 2.5 day business trip. Theresa sends pics of the boys - saying they are missing me, LOL. They look pretty much the same as when I left, although I think Leo moved a few inches to the left. Whatever you do, don't eat the yellow snow.
Leo 10-15-2018.jpg
 

Attachments

  • LD 10-15-2018.jpg
    LD 10-15-2018.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 50
  • JJ eating SLC snow.jpg
    JJ eating SLC snow.jpg
    165.4 KB · Views: 62
What the heck are you doing in a place that already has snow??? Or is this a current pic? Love the pics of the boys, yeah they really look distressed. But, I'm sure they do miss you being around.
 
The mountains near Salt Lake City have snow, and pic is from Sunday 10/14/2018. I drove up Big Cottonwood Road to the ski slopes. The snow is a light dusting. It was a fun excursion since I haven't taken a viable vacay in a couple of years.

Theresa told me that Leo is eating quite a lot - and we are very happy for that. I hope he gains a little weight.
 
Back
Top