Leaving on vacation..wondering about safe dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Very Active Member
Hi all, hate to disrupt the Murphy experiment thread, but I am leaving on vacation, Monday for 10 days and will have a friend staying at my house and tending Rupert. We have been practicing testing and shots and I have left lots of "sticky's" for him to refer to and of course I will be available by phone. I am nervous about leaving, but this might be my last chance to have a vacation with my mother, so it is now or maybe never.

My friend used to live here and knows Rupert well, so that helps. Rupert has been bouncing lately, but I think he is maybe getting more level now. My question is, what is a safe shootable number? I have written instructions for stalling and if he doesn't reach the right number within an hour, he will not shoot till next shot time. Also have hypo kit ready with instructions and emergency numbers. My no shot number is 200, but I was wondering if I should raise that a bit. Maybe 210? Or is 200 a good, safe number?

Normally, Rupert does not go very low, but this week he did! Just in the blues though, no greens and today he is back to yellows at nadir. So...what do y'all think? 200? 210? 220? Thanks in advance!
 
I wonder if Rupert is dropping low later - you catch a low around +6 but I wonder if he is dropping lower in the 7/8 hour? That might explain the higher preshot?

How lovely you have a friend who can test! I think I'd try to get a test 7/8 to test my theory. And then I would drop the dose based on that. (i am not sure what day it is in the States but think you have time to grab that number? It is Sunday am in Crotia)

Have a wonderful trip and enjoy the time with your mother.
 
Hi Sue! I will do a +7 +8 tomorrow, it will be Sunday. Wish I would have thought of that! He hasn't gone treally low yet and today is back in the 200's, 300's and 400's. We thought he might be bouncing for a few days there. I will do a +7 and +8 tomorrow as advised . Thanks and goodnight( or is it morning?) to you in Crotia! Hope you are having a marvelous time! :bighug:
 
I wonder if Rupert is dropping low later - you catch a low around +6 but I wonder if he is dropping lower in the 7/8 hour? That might explain the higher preshot?

How lovely you have a friend who can test! I think I'd try to get a test 7/8 to test my theory. And then I would drop the dose based on that. (i am not sure what day it is in the States but think you have time to grab that number? It is Sunday am in Crotia)

Have a wonderful trip and enjoy the time with your mother.
Crotia is on my Bucket List!
 
It'll be interesting to see what kind of number you get today in that +7/8 range!!

Sue...Croatia! Wow. I hope you're having a fabulous time. I am dying to see pictures!
 
I really have no idea what numbers I might get at that +7 and 8! He was higher yesterday, so maybe those low, bouncing blues were just a fluke! Croatia sounds beautiful and interesting, Sue! I am not going anywhere near as exotic, just along the Gulf coast of Florida. It is pretty though and the place we stay is very quiet. We eat, sun, swim, look for shells and eat some more! lol
 
Another question, I usually feed him at +6 , so do I feed extra this am and not feed then? I would think his BG would be higher at +7 or 8 , because of the food. That is why I don't test at +7, etc. since he eats at +6, midday meal. I feed 3 times a day, seems to work for Rupert. Anyway.....sorry, just sort of confused here.
 
Exactly Carol! He usually doesn't even hit the blues, so now I am a little worried about that. Yesterday he was back to his usual higher numbers though. It would be great to keep the same dose, but will reduce if needed to be safe. Plus wondering if the shootable number should be raised, I don't shoot if 200 or below. Maybe raise that for my friend? 210? Thanks for all the help!
 
I'd say either feed extra or feed the snack at like...+4/+5 today so that you still have no food on board for 2 hours.
 
I think I will feed extra this am. Thanks Rachel!

My friend will be around during the day and night to test, but he only wants to do the preshot ones. He is nervous about it, so I didn't want to push him too much. I did suggest a +6 test before he feeds him and one before bedtime, but not sure he will. I figure I will give him a few days to get comfortable and then ask again! :smuggrin:
 
We go to Manasota Key, it is near Venice, Englewood, Sarasota area. So pretty and quiet! Many times, we are the only ones on the beach as far as we can see! Sweet! :cool: There are lots of old oaks and tropical plants, they didn't bulldoze it all down to build big resorts, so it is like old Florida. There is even a bobcat in the woods! We saw him come up and drink out of the pool one morning, very cool, look a lot like Bubba, but not so orange! lol
 
We go to Manasota Key, it is near Venice, Englewood, Sarasota area. So pretty and quiet! Many times, we are the only ones on the beach as far as we can see! Sweet! :cool: There are lots of old oaks and tropical plants, they didn't bulldoze it all down to build big resorts, so it is like old Florida. There is even a bobcat in the woods! We saw him come up and drink out of the pool one morning, very cool, look a lot like Bubba, but not so orange! lol

Sounds beautiful! I'll have to check it out if I ever get to go on a vacation again...
 
It is hard to get away anymore isn't it? I used to have to fly from South Dakota and get everything put away for the winter, it was easier than leaving a sugar cat! I am trying to be calm and cover all situations, but still :nailbiting:! My friend is pretty cool and calm, so I think he will do fine. He lived with me for awhile and I think Rupert liked him better than me! He would always jump up by him for belly rubs, I would try and Rupert was like "pfft". I was like "I rescued you and raised you from a kitten and this is the thanks I get? :(" lol Fickle kitty. :cat:
 
Awww....Sharon and Carol wish I could take you with me. :bighug: I know how much we all need a break sometimes. This has been a stressful year and I feel very lucky to have someone who can cover me. I think that is the hardest part of having a sugar cat, the commitment to being there for them so much. I have a feeling none of us have much of a social life.
 
Oh, one more thing before I get off this computer and get crackin'.....I read about a pumpkin shortage again this year, so anyone using it, might want to stock up. I found some at the Dollar Store for $1 a can, that seems silly to say, but you know, there are real dollar stores and others that are higher! lol
 
Awww....Sharon and Carol wish I could take you with me. :bighug: I know how much we all need a break sometimes. This has been a stressful year and I feel very lucky to have someone who can cover me. I think that is the hardest part of having a sugar cat, the commitment to being there for them so much. I have a feeling none of us have much of a social life.
No kidding, I can't even meet people after work -now have to have very early or very late dinners out
 
Actually I'm really glad this post came up. I've been wondering how you handle a vacation if you're not going to be around. So many good tips and help on here. Enjoy your vacation, Cat. Try not to worry too much. I'm sure everything will go smoothly :)
 
Actually I'm really glad this post came up. I've been wondering how you handle a vacation if you're not going to be around. So many good tips and help on here. Enjoy your vacation, Cat. Try not to worry too much. I'm sure everything will go smoothly :)
Thanks for the vacation wishes! I am still wondering about the dose, so far he is in the 300's all day, so don't think I will reduce it. I will see what the experts think though! I am leaving lots of notes and tips for the care taker and we will practice one more time before I leave. Whew! It is a job getting away, but worth it!
 
I like that title, Rachel A ProZinc forum reunion! Is the first time meeting up a reunion or just a union? o_O lol On a more serious note....took a test at +4 - 369 fed him 1/2 can , test at +7 - 333 , will get that +8 in too. Rupert is back to his normal highs looks like. Maybe a good thing since I am leaving. Those low blues were scaring me, since I was going to be gone! :nailbiting: Ok...so maybe no reduction on dose? He is getting 3.6 U . Also what is a safe no shot number? 200 or maybe a little higher? Sorry I keep harping on this, just want to be really sure! Thanks so much for your help everyone! Now it's back to packing!
 
He'll be tested while you're gone, right? And you are using a regular meter, not an AT?

I'm feeling like if he is tested for the preshots and someone will be there, you'd be fine to hold the dose. Those blues were low, but not really dangerous in any way.

I'd leave a list of BJ's secondary monitoring tools (can be found in her signature) maybe? Also, leave signs of what to look for as symptoms of a hypo. Then, he can always test if needed mid cycle...I don't think it'll be a problem though. For a safe no shoot number, maybe go 220 or so? Just to keep you from worrying and to make sure Rupert stays safe?
 
Yes, he will be testing at preshot and I might convince him to do more once he is more comfortable with it. I will keep the dose at 3.6U and have the stall, no shot number at 220. I feel pretty safe with that. We will be in touch most days, so if Rupert hits some lows, I can always have him reduce the dose then. I have talked to him about hypo signs and also have the whole thing copied off for him, symptons and procedures and the kit is all there too. I have discussed Rupert a ton with him from when he was first diagnosed and have also talked about the secondary monitoring tools that BJM has provided. He is probably sick of hearing about everything for months now! lol

I want to thank everyone so much for all your help, I am less nervous about going away now! I also showed him FDMB so he can access this too. I am not sure I will have access to a computer and the cell phones don't work well on the key, so I might not be able to check in here for awhile. I will miss everyone and hope you and your kitties will be well and doing good! :kiss::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top