Latest Glucose curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

kate&tigger

Member Since 2012
I did a curve on Tigger this weekend with the aid of a can of tuna. I wasn't able to get to him perfectly every 2 hrs but I caught a nadir of 253 at 6.5 hrs. Currently he is on 1.5 units of levemir and eating 9-10 oz of low carb wet food a day--either Little Friskies or Wellness--plus tuna for treats. This morning he fooled me by not finishing his brekky so after church I tested him again and he had fallen to 177 which is low for him(yes, I know that is not hypo). I went ahead and fed him an extra 2 oz of one of his favorite foods(apparently he did not like what I fed him this morning very much--a rarity for him!) and tonight he was 222. I really don't want to increase his dosage at this point since he seems very smooth. My inclination is to rock along like this another week and then increase next week IF needed. That way I can catch a few more nadirs before making up my mind. Obviously I am not going for super tight control, in his situation with me at work all day it is way too dangerous. Input anyone?
 
My rule of thumb was to hold the dose until the numbers stop falling.

Tigger's numbers today could have been from not eating much breakfast, but they could also mean that he is just now beginning to settle on this dose. I have seen many cat's that need more than 5 days to settle - up to 10 or more. Jeddie needed about two weeks.

So, I agree that you should hold this dose at least another 2-3 days.
 
This morning out of the blue, just to aggravate me he popped up to 432 and then back down to 180 tonight before shot. I wish I had been home to get the nadir, but alas, I work for a living. I did feed him a bit more over the weekend so it could just have been that accumulation of carbs or something. I am going to keep on with the 1.5 units since clinically he is doing so well. I will do another curve this weekend and see where we stand.
 
Don't forget that the first time (or two, or three...) he goes low he might rebound to a higher number later.

And I get you with the nadirs- Mine are usually gotten at night or on Sunday when I can do curves :lol: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top