Late Shot = Dose Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Hi,

So I have a question about late shots...I will be about 1 hour late giving Lucy her test/shot today, the only thing I can find says that if that happens, the dose should be reduced.

By how much?? Does it depend on her pmps #?? I don't have a lot of values between am and pm shots (stupid work) so I know I have little to go on.

There is no way I can test until I am home....anyone have any suggestions? This is a one time event (work meeting) so I'd like to keep the normal shot times!

Thanks, Val
 
Giving a shot late is equivalent to a dose reduction, you don't want to reduce the dose. What you do want to do is get back to your normal shot time in increments rather than all at once. If you gave the shot an hour late and then gave the next shot 11 hours after that would be equivalent to a dose increase. What you need to do is move back to your normal shot time by no more than half an hour per day - either by 15 mins per shot or one shot per day by half an hour, so it will take you 2 days to get back to your normal shot time.
 
With Lantus, there is overlap between the doses. In other words, not all of the insulin is completely metabolized after 12 hours. This is what makes Lantus a long-acting insulin. If you shoot late, there is less overlap between shots. As a result, a late shot acts like a dose reduction. The opposite is true for an early shot. For this reason, it's important to stick as close to a 12 hour schedule as possible. Like Serryn indicated, if you shoot an hour late tonight, unless your cat is in very high numbers, you will want to shoot at +11.5 tomorrow morning and do the same on Friday morning and you will then be back on schedule.
 
Ahhhh! Now I get it! Thanks.

Now, my follow up question.....since my meeting went longer than planned so I didn't end up being able to shoot until almost two hours after normal shot time ohmygod_smile

Does that mean I have to shoot at +11.5 for four days instead of two?

I will not be making this a regular habit....way too stressful (for me and Lucy)

By the way, she tested at ~120 tonight
 
Yep. You can move the shot 1/2 hour per 24-hour day (30 minutes all at once; or 15-minutes twice a day--at AMPS and PMPS). That will bring you back to your normal shot time in 4 days.

If you know your schedule will compel you to give a shot late (or early), you can plan ahead by moving the shot times by 30- or 15-minute increments a day or two in advance.

Lucy is looking good and you're doing great,

Ella & Rusty
 
Yes -- sort of.

There are times when you can adjust the time by an hour (or more) but it's only the case if you have a pre-shot that's high (over 300) AND you are going to be around to monitor. Given where Lucy's numbers have been sitting, I wouldn't chance it. She may be bouncing but it looks like she's clearing the bounces quickly.
 
Thanks for the insight! I am not comfortable moving her dosing by an hour, especially since I won't be around to check on her! I can do the +11.5 for 4 days and feel more comfortable because I will be around for longer after the shot.

I sure hope Lucy is done her bounce and will hang out in blue and green - land!
 
There are times when you can adjust the time by an hour (or more) but it's only the case if you have a pre-shot that's high (over 300) AND you are going to be around to monitor. Given where Lucy's numbers have been sitting, I wouldn't chance it. She may be bouncing but it looks like she's clearing the bounces quickly.

I want to clarify. Shooting early can be a very effective strategy. My comments, though, were specific to Lucy. (There can be others who are reading this thread.) When shooting early (or any other strategy), it's important to have enough data so you know your cat. Each cat responds differently so that a strategy that is effective for one cat may not be effective or may be dangerous for another. Gabby, for example, has a habit of early, fast dives. Shooting early, if she's in lower numbers, could present a problem. Lucy looks like she may have similar tendencies. In my initial note, I was being specific to Lucy with suggesting that a high pre-shot number could present a margin of safety but, given her fast, early drops, I would have been very cautious if you had opted to shoot more than 30 min. early and, in fact, I would have discouraged you from doing so given the limited amount of data and Lucy's tendency to speed downhill.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top