Caglar and Bambi
Member
Hi everyone. Firstly thanks to all that created, manage and contribute to this forum. As with many of the stories I've heard on various posts, I too was shocked, overwhelmed, and felt helpless when my oldest cat Bambi who has been with me for over 10 years was diagnosed with Diabetes last month. After a scary week at the vet clinic, I was given only very fundamental guidance and even had a hard time getting any replies from the vet after Bambi was discharged. Luckily, an old childhood friend with whom I got in touch after many years apparently looked after a diabetic cat for many years quite some time ago and recommended FDMB to me. To my relief, I was able to get the info and guidance I need here.
To top it all up, after intensively reading and trying to follow the guidance in this forum, right when I started to get the hang of all the blood testing and insulin needles, I had a freak accident last week cutting my thumb and tendon, went into surgery and will not able to use my right (primary) hand for some time. Thankfully my girlfriend was involved in the whole process and took over Bambi's physical care.
Apologies if this intro is a bit long but I will try to sum up what I've done, where I am and things I am a bit indecisive about or having trouble with.
1) Insulin - My vet started off us off with 5 units of Lantus, but I soon realized this was too much causing volatile BG levels between 50-550 and unstable schedules where I had to put off up to a whole 16-20 hours in the first week. Basically, the vet said to shoot whenever if over 450, and make sure to be over 350 to shoot if the 12-hour cycle was complete. After not getting proper answers from the vet, it was only after reading the methods here that I was able to make sense, understand the logic and adjust the dose to my best ability.
I have an up-to-date spreadsheet and would be grateful to get comments on whether I seem to be making the right decisions and if the current dose seems right. Due to my situation, I wasn't able to start off with SLGS so was going to proceed with TR but currently, the nadirs are occasionally falling below 90 implying a slight reduction if I'm not mistaken and the peaks are going over 300 (Highest being 389) which implies a slight increase? Therefore I currently opted to keep the dose the same? Should I stick with TR?
2) Ketones - I ordered Ketone test strips, will try to get a Ketone test soon hoping the values are normal. (I'm worried because the diabetic diagnosis was probably a bit late, Bambi had a decayed tooth pulled which concealed the diabetes.)
3) Neuropathy - She has, since soon before diagnosis some slight neuropathy - weak hind legs, and I want to start her on Methyl B12. I got the spray (Links below). Does it seem suitable? It's 1000 mcg so I'm planning to add 3 sprays (To equal 3000 mcg on pills) on wet food to administer. Does this sound right?
https://www.orzax.com.tr/en/product/ocean-methyl-b12-1000-mg-5-ml/
https://www.fitriurunlerpazari.com/...12_1000_mcg_10_ml_sprey_50031-1600x1200w.jpeg
4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...
Thanks in advance to everyone who reads this and replies.
To top it all up, after intensively reading and trying to follow the guidance in this forum, right when I started to get the hang of all the blood testing and insulin needles, I had a freak accident last week cutting my thumb and tendon, went into surgery and will not able to use my right (primary) hand for some time. Thankfully my girlfriend was involved in the whole process and took over Bambi's physical care.
Apologies if this intro is a bit long but I will try to sum up what I've done, where I am and things I am a bit indecisive about or having trouble with.
1) Insulin - My vet started off us off with 5 units of Lantus, but I soon realized this was too much causing volatile BG levels between 50-550 and unstable schedules where I had to put off up to a whole 16-20 hours in the first week. Basically, the vet said to shoot whenever if over 450, and make sure to be over 350 to shoot if the 12-hour cycle was complete. After not getting proper answers from the vet, it was only after reading the methods here that I was able to make sense, understand the logic and adjust the dose to my best ability.
I have an up-to-date spreadsheet and would be grateful to get comments on whether I seem to be making the right decisions and if the current dose seems right. Due to my situation, I wasn't able to start off with SLGS so was going to proceed with TR but currently, the nadirs are occasionally falling below 90 implying a slight reduction if I'm not mistaken and the peaks are going over 300 (Highest being 389) which implies a slight increase? Therefore I currently opted to keep the dose the same? Should I stick with TR?
2) Ketones - I ordered Ketone test strips, will try to get a Ketone test soon hoping the values are normal. (I'm worried because the diabetic diagnosis was probably a bit late, Bambi had a decayed tooth pulled which concealed the diabetes.)
3) Neuropathy - She has, since soon before diagnosis some slight neuropathy - weak hind legs, and I want to start her on Methyl B12. I got the spray (Links below). Does it seem suitable? It's 1000 mcg so I'm planning to add 3 sprays (To equal 3000 mcg on pills) on wet food to administer. Does this sound right?
https://www.orzax.com.tr/en/product/ocean-methyl-b12-1000-mg-5-ml/
https://www.fitriurunlerpazari.com/...12_1000_mcg_10_ml_sprey_50031-1600x1200w.jpeg
4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...
Thanks in advance to everyone who reads this and replies.