Late Introduction and advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone. Firstly thanks to all that created, manage and contribute to this forum. As with many of the stories I've heard on various posts, I too was shocked, overwhelmed, and felt helpless when my oldest cat Bambi who has been with me for over 10 years was diagnosed with Diabetes last month. After a scary week at the vet clinic, I was given only very fundamental guidance and even had a hard time getting any replies from the vet after Bambi was discharged. Luckily, an old childhood friend with whom I got in touch after many years apparently looked after a diabetic cat for many years quite some time ago and recommended FDMB to me. To my relief, I was able to get the info and guidance I need here.

To top it all up, after intensively reading and trying to follow the guidance in this forum, right when I started to get the hang of all the blood testing and insulin needles, I had a freak accident last week cutting my thumb and tendon, went into surgery and will not able to use my right (primary) hand for some time. Thankfully my girlfriend was involved in the whole process and took over Bambi's physical care.

Apologies if this intro is a bit long but I will try to sum up what I've done, where I am and things I am a bit indecisive about or having trouble with.

1) Insulin - My vet started off us off with 5 units of Lantus, but I soon realized this was too much causing volatile BG levels between 50-550 and unstable schedules where I had to put off up to a whole 16-20 hours in the first week. Basically, the vet said to shoot whenever if over 450, and make sure to be over 350 to shoot if the 12-hour cycle was complete. After not getting proper answers from the vet, it was only after reading the methods here that I was able to make sense, understand the logic and adjust the dose to my best ability.

I have an up-to-date spreadsheet and would be grateful to get comments on whether I seem to be making the right decisions and if the current dose seems right. Due to my situation, I wasn't able to start off with SLGS so was going to proceed with TR but currently, the nadirs are occasionally falling below 90 implying a slight reduction if I'm not mistaken and the peaks are going over 300 (Highest being 389) which implies a slight increase? Therefore I currently opted to keep the dose the same? Should I stick with TR?

2) Ketones - I ordered Ketone test strips, will try to get a Ketone test soon hoping the values are normal. (I'm worried because the diabetic diagnosis was probably a bit late, Bambi had a decayed tooth pulled which concealed the diabetes.)

3) Neuropathy - She has, since soon before diagnosis some slight neuropathy - weak hind legs, and I want to start her on Methyl B12. I got the spray (Links below). Does it seem suitable? It's 1000 mcg so I'm planning to add 3 sprays (To equal 3000 mcg on pills) on wet food to administer. Does this sound right?

https://www.orzax.com.tr/en/product/ocean-methyl-b12-1000-mg-5-ml/
https://www.fitriurunlerpazari.com/...12_1000_mcg_10_ml_sprey_50031-1600x1200w.jpeg

4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...

Thanks in advance to everyone who reads this and replies.
 
Hi everyone. Firstly thanks to all that created, manage and contribute to this forum. As with many of the stories I've heard on various posts, I too was shocked, overwhelmed, and felt helpless when my oldest cat Bambi who has been with me for over 10 years was diagnosed with Diabetes last month. After a scary week at the vet clinic, I was given only very fundamental guidance and even had a hard time getting any replies from the vet after Bambi was discharged. Luckily, an old childhood friend with whom I got in touch after many years apparently looked after a diabetic cat for many years quite some time ago and recommended FDMB to me. To my relief, I was able to get the info and guidance I need here.

To top it all up, after intensively reading and trying to follow the guidance in this forum, right when I started to get the hang of all the blood testing and insulin needles, I had a freak accident last week cutting my thumb and tendon, went into surgery and will not able to use my right (primary) hand for some time. Thankfully my girlfriend was involved in the whole process and took over Bambi's physical care.

Apologies if this intro is a bit long but I will try to sum up what I've done, where I am and things I am a bit indecisive about or having trouble with.

1) Insulin - My vet started off us off with 5 units of Lantus, but I soon realized this was too much causing volatile BG levels between 50-550 and unstable schedules where I had to put off up to a whole 16-20 hours in the first week. Basically, the vet said to shoot whenever if over 450, and make sure to be over 350 to shoot if the 12-hour cycle was complete. After not getting proper answers from the vet, it was only after reading the methods here that I was able to make sense, understand the logic and adjust the dose to my best ability.

I have an up-to-date spreadsheet and would be grateful to get comments on whether I seem to be making the right decisions and if the current dose seems right. Due to my situation, I wasn't able to start off with SLGS so was going to proceed with TR but currently, the nadirs are occasionally falling below 90 implying a slight reduction if I'm not mistaken and the peaks are going over 300 (Highest being 389) which implies a slight increase? Therefore I currently opted to keep the dose the same? Should I stick with TR?

2) Ketones - I ordered Ketone test strips, will try to get a Ketone test soon hoping the values are normal. (I'm worried because the diabetic diagnosis was probably a bit late, Bambi had a decayed tooth pulled which concealed the diabetes.)

3) Neuropathy - She has, since soon before diagnosis some slight neuropathy - weak hind legs, and I want to start her on Methyl B12. I got the spray (Links below). Does it seem suitable? It's 1000 mcg so I'm planning to add 3 sprays (To equal 3000 mcg on pills) on wet food to administer. Does this sound right?

https://www.orzax.com.tr/en/product/ocean-methyl-b12-1000-mg-5-ml/
https://www.fitriurunlerpazari.com/...12_1000_mcg_10_ml_sprey_50031-1600x1200w.jpeg

4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...

Thanks in advance to everyone who reads this and replies.

Hi there can you please add you are from Turkey in your signature.
I can tag some experienced members to take a look at your SS about the dose you are giving
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...

Yes, you want to move away from dry food, even if it’s from a “top brand”.

Start by looking at the ingredient list. You want something that’s essentially all animal parts. For example, Fancy Feast Classic Pate has these ingredients: “Chicken, Chicken Broth, Meat By-Products, Liver, Fish, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Tricalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum”. Anything like corn starch, soy flour, potatoes, etc will add too many carbs.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Yikes! 5 units as a starting dose of insulin is way too high. The starting dose is 1/2 to 1 unit of insulin.
Because you are feeding some dry food you can only do the SLGS dosing method.
To do the TR you need to be feeding a low carb wet food diet exclusively. Once you have done the swap to a low carb wet diet you can swap to TR. The high carb dry food may have saved Bambi from a hypo.
Looking at the SS I would recommend you reduced the dose to 2 units and see how that goes. With SLGS any drop under 90 earns a reduction in dose and Bambi has dropped under in 3 separate cycles in the last couple of days.
Lantus dosing is based on the nadir not the preshot BGs. The preshot BGs are done to ensure that the BG is high enough to give the dose.
Those higher BGs you are seeing are from bouncing which is very common in newly diagnosed cats and nothing to worry about.Here is an explanation about bouncing from the Basics
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
In regard to the medication you have for the neuropathy, I have not seen that product before.
We use Methly B12 tablets that can be bought from lifelink.com called Zobaline.
I would definitely switch to an all wet diet of low carb foods. Remove the dry slowly while you are monitoring slowly as that change can drop the BG quite a bit.
 
4) Food - I have 3 cats and I want to get them all on a wet low-carb diet. The big-brand wet foods here are extremely pricy and I cannot afford them. From what I've gathered here, the general opinion is that even supermarket-grade wet food (if low in carbs) is better and healthier than the top brand, dry foods. Need advice to decide if I should stick with current top-brand dry foods or transition to a convenient canned wet food. Or combine both? I cannot find anything on the US or UK list where I'm located (Turkey) so I will calculate the carbs of foods I find, and once I find a low-carb one will post here hoping someone has experience and info about it...
Hi @Caglar and Bambi, I'm in India and I too do not have too many options with low carb foods. You do indeed want to switch from high carb dry food (no matter how good the brand) to low carb canned food. Even an affordable supermarket brand is fine as long as it is low carb. Look for "pates" or "in jelly" foods which are usually lower in carbs. Foods that are "in gravy" are usually too high in carbs for a diabetic. You just need to look at the ingredients on the label. You want meat, meat by products, vitamins and minerals....no fruits, vegetables, starches or grain products.

You can use this carb calculator to get a rough estimate of carb% based on Guaranteed Analysis values on the cat food label. Look at Dry Matter Carbohydrates at the very end.
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

Whenever you decide to make a change to her diet, please do it very slowly and with close monitoring of her BG (with home testing) and insulin requirements. We have had cats that have gone off insulin with just a change from high carb kibble to a low carb canned diet.
 
Yes, you want to move away from dry food, even if it’s from a “top brand”.

Start by looking at the ingredient list. You want something that’s essentially all animal parts. For example, Fancy Feast Classic Pate has these ingredients: “Chicken, Chicken Broth, Meat By-Products, Liver, Fish, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Tricalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum”. Anything like corn starch, soy flour, potatoes, etc will add too many carbs.

Thanks, good to know I'm on the right track. Yes, I keep seeing that many people are feeding Fancy Feast on this forum, we have many Purina products here in Turkey but unfortunately, I've never seen Fancy Feast here. Purina Gourmet is pretty common and easy to find here but I've checked the carbs for quite a few varieties and they're all too high in carbs. I might have found a less-known brand with low carbs, will post that on a separate thread. I do check the ingredients but I guess as long as the carbohydrate calculator adds up to below %7 carbs, that means the food doesn't have too much starch, soy, potatoes, etc. I should prioritise the calculation rather than the ingredients right?
 
Thanks Bron.

Yikes! 5 units as a starting dose of insulin is way too high. The starting dose is 1/2 to 1 unit of insulin.

Yep, I understand that clearly now. That was the vet's starting off dose around a month back (From a 3-day insulin test at the clinic) and so I guess I took the right call lowering it down substantially in the first week. I didn't even know about this forum back then.

Because you are feeding some dry food you can only do the SLGS dosing method.

I apparently missed the fact that the protocols are dependent according to diet (dry vs. wet), thanks for pointing that out. I'm in the process of finding suitable wet food and will plan to make a smooth transition.

To do the TR you need to be feeding a low carb wet food diet exclusively. Once you have done the swap to a low carb wet diet you can swap to TR. The high carb dry food may have saved Bambi from a hypo.
Looking at the SS I would recommend you reduced the dose to 2 units and see how that goes. With SLGS any drop under 90 earns a reduction in dose and Bambi has dropped under in 3 separate cycles in the last couple of days.

I'm thinking to lower to 2 units as you suggested and I guess I can start adding wet food after at least 6 cycles (3 days) have passed then, right? And I will mix %25 wet food with %75 dry when starting the transition? (I'm lucky because Bambi is always hungry and will eat anything)

In regard to the medication you have for the neuropathy, I have not seen that product before.
We use Methly B12 tablets that can be bought from lifelink.com called Zobaline.

Yes, it's a Turkish product so it's unlikely that you've run into it. Wonder if anyone has experience with sprays here, just want to make sure of the dose and ingredients. I thought of getting Zobaline but it's a bit costly for me right now and will take time to ship so hopefully I can use this one which I had already purchased for myself.

I would definitely switch to an all wet diet of low carb foods. Remove the dry slowly while you are monitoring slowly as that change can drop the BG quite a bit.

Got it.
 
Hi @Caglar and Bambi, I'm in India and I too do not have too many options with low carb foods. You do indeed want to switch from high carb dry food (no matter how good the brand) to low carb canned food. Even an affordable supermarket brand is fine as long as it is low carb. Look for "pates" or "in jelly" foods which are usually lower in carbs. Foods that are "in gravy" are usually too high in carbs for a diabetic. You just need to look at the ingredients on the label. You want meat, meat by products, vitamins and minerals....no fruits, vegetables, starches or grain products.

You can use this carb calculator to get a rough estimate of carb% based on Guaranteed Analysis values on the cat food label. Look at Dry Matter Carbohydrates at the very end.
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

Good info about pate/jelly vs. gravy. That will make it easier for me to search, thanks. Yes, I've been intensely using the calculator and feel like an accountant these last few weeks :)

Whenever you decide to make a change to her diet, please do it very slowly and with close monitoring of her BG (with home testing) and insulin requirements. We have had cats that have gone off insulin with just a change from high carb kibble to a low carb canned diet.

Got it, I'm aware, I will first do the dose lowering the first 3 days and start adding a quarter of wet to dry food initially, maybe start off adding to only a single meal each day...
 
Given that Bambi's numbers have dropped below 90, you will want to reduce the dose. I realize your signature mentions. you're using custom dosing. However, with the Start Low Go Slow approach that we use here, the dose is reduced when a cat's numbers drop below 90. You would reduce the dose by 0.25u.
 
Given that Bambi's numbers have dropped below 90, you will want to reduce the dose. I realize your signature mentions. you're using custom dosing. However, with the Start Low Go Slow approach that we use here, the dose is reduced when a cat's numbers drop below 90. You would reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Righty, because I started high I wasn't sure if I could follow the SLGS method (Hence wrote custom dosing) but glad for the clarification. I just gave her her last shot and dropped to 2u. Will update the spreadsheet in a bit and I updated my signature to SLGS. Thanks.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom can you post the link for the generic zobaline? It’s much more affordable but not sure you can get it over there. Worth a shot checking it out though
For the neuropathy
You can order this Methyl B-12 . I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless.

The Zobaline is too expensive

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Give one a day

International shipping link
https://www.google.com/url?q=https:...wQFnoECAgQAg&usg=AOvVaw13cH4zebWwFH_eN1IiVusF

@Caglar and Bambi
 
Last edited:
For the neuropathy
You can order this Methyl B-12 . I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless.

The Zobaline is too expensive

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Give one a day

International shipping link
https://www.google.com/url?q=https:...wQFnoECAgQAg&usg=AOvVaw13cH4zebWwFH_eN1IiVusF

@Caglar and Bambi

Thanks for the suggestion, half the price of Zobaline indeed.

I just want to ask for one more alternative before I order, I ran into some posts with people using Solgar Methyl B12 but couldn't find many comments about its success. I can get this even cheaper without waiting for overseas shipping in my local pharmacy. Did anyone try this one?

https://solgar.com.tr/urun/methylcobalamin-b12-1000-mcg/1950
 
If you are unsure of the carbs, list a photo of the list and we can have a look. To post a photo you need to copy and paste it.
You don’t need to post the can you have found on a different thread..this thread is fine.

After looking into +100 varieties, below are some of the wet foods I could find here with low carbs. I linked the ones I could find to international sites. There are some local brands but it's an issue with trust.

Global brands:
Sheba 85g In Jelly - Tuna - (Values - 7.7, 4.8, 0.3, 1.7, 85 = 3.33% carbs)
Sheba 85g In Jelly - Turkey - (Values - 7.7, 4.8, 0.3, 1.7, 85 = 3.33% carbs)

Felix - As Good As it Looks Chicken in Jelly Wet Cat Food: (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.05, 2.5, 82 = 8.06% carbs)
Felix Sensations Wet Cat Food with Beef and Tomato in Jelly: (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.05, 2.5, 82 = 8.06% carbs)

Purina Cat Chow Adult Salmon: - (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.1, 2.5, 82 = 7.78% carbs)

Gourmet Perle Grilled Tuna: (Values - 14, 2.5, 0.5, 2.2, 79 = 8.57% carbs)

Whiskas Pure Delight Chicken in Jelly
: (Values - 11.7, 2.2, 0.2, 1.2, 84 = 4.37% carbs)
Whiskas Pure Delight Beef in Jelly: (Values - 12.5, 2.5, 0.2, 1.2, 83 = 3.53% carbs)
Whiskas Pure Delight Chicken and Salmon in Jelly: (Values - 11.7, 2.2, 0.2, 1.2, 84 = 4.37% carbs)

Local brands:
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Chicken & Duck - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Rabbit - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Beef & Liver - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Beef - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)

Jungle Beef: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Salmon: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken Sterilized: (Values - 10, 4, 1, 2.5, 81 = 7.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken Junior: (Values - 11, 6, 0.8, 2.5, 79 = 3.33% carbs)


Suggestions?
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the suggestion, half the price of Zobaline indeed.

I just want to ask for one more alternative before I order, I ran into some posts with people using Solgar Methyl B12 but couldn't find many comments about its success. I can get this even cheaper without waiting for overseas shipping in my local pharmacy. Did anyone try this one?

https://solgar.com.tr/urun/methylcobalamin-b12-1000-mcg/1950
Hi I went to the link but you really can't see the ingredients in it, I googled
Solgar Methl B-12 and saw that some of them are cherry flavor and says has a sweetener.
If you can go into the store and read the ingredients to be sure it's not cherry flavor or says has a sweetener in it then I think it would be fine.
Once you get Bambi's BG regulated the methyl B-12 will help, you can start giving it now , I saw an improvement in Tyler I would say after about 3 weeks ,a small improvement then around 2 months he was back to walking normal, running, and jumping

I would Google it and check out the ingredients , maybe even put chewable , I see the link you posted says they are chewable

I did a search on our site and found a post from a member from New Zealand
She said

I ended up buying Solgar Methyl B12 tablets from HealthPost and crushing them
Do you see the ingredients listed which are fine , so if you can find it at one of your pharmacy's then get it
@Caglar and Bambi
 
Last edited:
Hi I went to the link but you really can't see the ingredients in it, I googled
Solgar Methl B-12 and saw that some of them are cherry flavor and says has a sweetener.
If you can go into the store and read the ingredients to be sure it's not cherry flavor or says has a sweetener in it then I think it would be fine.
Once you get Bambi's BG regulated the methyl B-12 will help, you can start giving it now , I saw an improvement in Tyler I would say after about 3 weeks ,a small improvement then around 2 months he was back to walking normal, running, and jumping

I would Google it and check out the ingredients , maybe even put chewable , I see the link you posted says they are chewable

Thanks so much @Diane Tyler's Mom, yeah sorry it doesn't have an English version. The text translated says: 'It does not contain sugar, salt, starch. It does not contain potential allergens such as yeast, gluten, soy and dairy products. Artificial aroma, colorants and preservatives have not been used. It is also suitable for the use of vegan and vegetarian individuals.'

However it does says cherry flavoring (Natural flavoring) - Ingredients translation: 'Volume enhancer (mannitol), anti-coagulants (magnesium salts of fatty acids, fatty acids, silicon dioxide), flavoring (natural cherry flavor), stabilizer (cross-linked cellulose gum).'

I guess as long as the taste doesn't put her off it won't harm her or change BG levels. I'll also double-check with the pharmacist.

I think I'm ready to try it out. Bambi's neuropathy doesn't seem to be too bad, she used to fall to a flat-footed position occasionally just before diagnosis but I haven't seen her do that since her treatment, just her walk seems a bit weak and wobbly. She can walk and does occasionally run and jump so I'm hoping the Methyl B12 will fix her up quickly.
 
Thanks so much @Diane Tyler's Mom, yeah sorry it doesn't have an English version. The text translated says: 'It does not contain sugar, salt, starch. It does not contain potential allergens such as yeast, gluten, soy and dairy products. Artificial aroma, colorants and preservatives have not been used. It is also suitable for the use of vegan and vegetarian individuals.'

However it does says cherry flavoring (Natural flavoring) - Ingredients translation: 'Volume enhancer (mannitol), anti-coagulants (magnesium salts of fatty acids, fatty acids, silicon dioxide), flavoring (natural cherry flavor), stabilizer (cross-linked cellulose gum).'

I guess as long as the taste doesn't put her off it won't harm her or change BG levels. I'll also double-check with the pharmacist.

I think I'm ready to try it out. Bambi's neuropathy doesn't seem to be too bad, she used to fall to a flat-footed position occasionally just before diagnosis but I haven't seen her do that since her treatment, just her walk seems a bit weak and wobbly. She can walk and does occasionally run and jump so I'm hoping the Methyl B12 will fix her up quickly.
Hi as long as the pharmacist says that the cherry flavor isn't like a sweetener I think it would be fine :cat:
Maybe he has one without the cherry flavor

For example this is what the vitacost brand has in it to could only find the ingredients listed in the 500 mcg
Free Of Milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, fish, soy, gluten, titanium dioxide
And it's unflavored
81HjSDVRpDL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
 
Last edited:
After looking into +100 varieties, below are some of the wet foods I could find here with low carbs. I linked the ones I could find to international sites. There are some local brands but it's an issue with trust.

Global brands:
Sheba 85g In Jelly - Tuna - (Values - 7.7, 4.8, 0.3, 1.7, 85 = 3.33% carbs)
Sheba 85g In Jelly - Turkey - (Values - 7.7, 4.8, 0.3, 1.7, 85 = 3.33% carbs)

Felix - As Good As it Looks Chicken in Jelly Wet Cat Food: (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.05, 2.5, 82 = 8.06% carbs)
Felix Sensations Wet Cat Food with Beef and Tomato in Jelly: (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.05, 2.5, 82 = 8.06% carbs)

Purina Cat Chow Adult Salmon: - (Values - 11.5, 2.5, 0.1, 2.5, 82 = 7.78% carbs)

Gourmet Perle Grilled Tuna: (Values - 14, 2.5, 0.5, 2.2, 79 = 8.57% carbs)

Whiskas Pure Delight Chicken in Jelly
: (Values - 11.7, 2.2, 0.2, 1.2, 84 = 4.37% carbs)
Whiskas Pure Delight Beef in Jelly: (Values - 12.5, 2.5, 0.2, 1.2, 83 = 3.53% carbs)
Whiskas Pure Delight Chicken and Salmon in Jelly: (Values - 11.7, 2.2, 0.2, 1.2, 84 = 4.37% carbs)

Local brands:
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Chicken & Duck - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Rabbit - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Beef & Liver - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)
Reflex Daily Taste Mousse with Beef - (Values - 11, 7, 0.2, 2, 78 = 8.18% carbs)

Jungle Beef: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Salmon: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken: (Values - 9, 5, 0.8, 2.5, 82 = 3.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken Sterilized: (Values - 10, 4, 1, 2.5, 81 = 7.89% carbs)
Jungle Chicken Junior: (Values - 11, 6, 0.8, 2.5, 79 = 3.33% carbs)


Suggestions?

OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD, OOOH. MY. GAAAWD! :woot:

You are the best!
Simply the best! Better than all the rest. Better than anyone! :D
I have been trying to look for anything remotely specific regarding carb content in UK cat foods for the past two. gatdayumn. months. and have found nothing!
I have no idea how you calculated the calculation, nor do I have the brain capacity right now to math the mathing, so I take the above as gospel, go to sleep semi content for I have just wine-and-dined my boy with his usual Felix pre-shot, and sending you all the gratitude and great vibes for the weekend, because this list is exactly what I needed.
Eternal bliss.
I don't know you, but I love you :kiss:
 
OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD, OOOH. MY. GAAAWD! :woot:

You are the best!
Simply the best! Better than all the rest. Better than anyone! :D
I have been trying to look for anything remotely specific regarding carb content in UK cat foods for the past two. gatdayumn. months. and have found nothing!
I have no idea how you calculated the calculation, nor do I have the brain capacity right now to math the mathing, so I take the above as gospel, go to sleep semi content for I have just wine-and-dined my boy with his usual Felix pre-shot, and sending you all the gratitude and great vibes for the weekend, because this list is exactly what I needed.
Eternal bliss.
I don't know you, but I love you :kiss:

Hey @evedroid, so sorry for not being able to respond earlier. Thanks so much for your kind comments, glad it was helpful. However, I'm no veteran on DM and no rocket scientist either :) I guess I was lucky to find the right info and be pointed in the right direction.

So I hope I can help you out a bit since I have been on a similar stressful path as you. Firstly I guess you're luckier than I am to be in the UK since there are much more options there and someone has actually compiled a list of foods in the UK. Not sure how current it is but it may give you some ideas.

Here is a UK list I bumped into a while back in this forum: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1J5JpMe6TDXrHq_aTl9hUtHy6Gs9oRBqlz4nPGKxtySA/pubhtml

And here is the post where I found it and other links: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/links-to-food-charts.174182/

And basically, all you do to calculate carbs is to enter the numbers of components on the package in a calculator such as this one: https://www.caticles.com/carb-calculator-for-cat-food/

The full explanation is here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/calculating-calories-from-carbohydrates.205128/

Cheers!
 
@Caglar and Bambi you are amazing, I hope you know that!

Since then I have opened a UK/EU thread, which I am currently editing with up to date info with the help of the awesome @Elizabeth & Binx, based on her original, extremely helpful post from 2015.
We are tidying it up, so it'll be an easier read, and I will make sure to add all the above information to it too!
I aim to have an easily accessible thread for all members it applies to. Hoping to have it complete in a day tops, but maybe even tonight! (Wishful thinking, but hey, I like to aim high! ;))

Please share the love with all who you think may benefit from it!
 
@Caglar and Bambi you are amazing, I hope you know that!

Since then I have opened a UK/EU thread, which I am currently editing with up to date info with the help of the awesome @Elizabeth & Binx, based on her original, extremely helpful post from 2015.
We are tidying it up, so it'll be an easier read, and I will make sure to add all the above information to it too!
I aim to have an easily accessible thread for all members it applies to. Hoping to have it complete in a day tops, but maybe even tonight! (Wishful thinking, but hey, I like to aim high! ;))

Please share the love with all who you think may benefit from it!

:bighug:

Great to hear that @evedroid I'm sure it will be really helpful for many people. I'll try to tidy up my list and perhaps add it to that post too.

Cheers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top