Hi All,
New user here. My kitty, Pishi, was just diagnosed with diabetes last weekend (7/20). He is about 9-10 years old and currently weights just under 15lbs. Just got my insulin from vet this Saturday (7/27).
I just started him on Lantus (glargine) on Saturday. The vet said to start out with 3 units twice a day. Side note - not sure I like the vet as she doesn't seem to think pre-shot testing is necessary and doesn't seem to want me to do it. Also had me buy Hills Prescription DM dry food, which, after doing research, I find is not the best thing at all. I switch to wet food, Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets. He's eaten that since last Tuesday.
So BGs before any shots were like 450 when at the vet (on 7/20), so maybe high since he was stressed. I bought my glucose meter, reli-on micro, and tried it out. This last Friday first try with test at 9:15pm, got BG of 326, no shot yet. Saturday morning, I tried again to get the hang of it, and got BG of 334, no shot yet. Seemed accurate. (I tested my own blood too, just to make sure meter seemed accurate, and it did.)
So, first shot was Saturday evening. PMPS BG was 354. I gave him the 3 unit shot and he did fine. Next morning, I didn't do an AMPS test as the vet seems to think it unnecessary to test every time. I gave him the 3 unit shot again Sunday morning, no pre-shot test. So, Sunday evening, I just didn't feel right about giving shots and not testing, so I did a test. Sunday PMPS read 51!! I re-did the test, thinking something went wrong. Second test came in at 47. I tested my own blood to see if meter was off. While my own BG was low, it was within normal range for humans. I got scared that reading was so low. I fed him as usual, but did not give his evening shot. He seemed fine, no hypo symptoms. I checked his BG two hours later at 9pm, and it was still at 49. I checked again at 11:30pm, and it was getting better and back up to 81. Now I testing him this morning at 7am and AMPS all the way back up to 456! I ended up giving him a shot with 2 units instead of 3 since the BG shot back up again so high.
Is this usual to have such a large swing in BG when first starting out? Should I still give him a shot when his pre-shot reading is in the 50s??
I called my vet this morning telling her everything above. She just wants me to keep giving shots and said he will even out. She said I could lower to 2 units or even 1 if that made me feel better, but that would lengthen time for him to regulate. I just get the feeling she doesn't even want me to test his blood. But I feel like I could have made a huge mistake yesterday evening if I had not tested and given him a shot when his BG was ~50.
Can anyone give me any advice or counsel? Any additional sources you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!!
Kristin
New user here. My kitty, Pishi, was just diagnosed with diabetes last weekend (7/20). He is about 9-10 years old and currently weights just under 15lbs. Just got my insulin from vet this Saturday (7/27).
I just started him on Lantus (glargine) on Saturday. The vet said to start out with 3 units twice a day. Side note - not sure I like the vet as she doesn't seem to think pre-shot testing is necessary and doesn't seem to want me to do it. Also had me buy Hills Prescription DM dry food, which, after doing research, I find is not the best thing at all. I switch to wet food, Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets. He's eaten that since last Tuesday.
So BGs before any shots were like 450 when at the vet (on 7/20), so maybe high since he was stressed. I bought my glucose meter, reli-on micro, and tried it out. This last Friday first try with test at 9:15pm, got BG of 326, no shot yet. Saturday morning, I tried again to get the hang of it, and got BG of 334, no shot yet. Seemed accurate. (I tested my own blood too, just to make sure meter seemed accurate, and it did.)
So, first shot was Saturday evening. PMPS BG was 354. I gave him the 3 unit shot and he did fine. Next morning, I didn't do an AMPS test as the vet seems to think it unnecessary to test every time. I gave him the 3 unit shot again Sunday morning, no pre-shot test. So, Sunday evening, I just didn't feel right about giving shots and not testing, so I did a test. Sunday PMPS read 51!! I re-did the test, thinking something went wrong. Second test came in at 47. I tested my own blood to see if meter was off. While my own BG was low, it was within normal range for humans. I got scared that reading was so low. I fed him as usual, but did not give his evening shot. He seemed fine, no hypo symptoms. I checked his BG two hours later at 9pm, and it was still at 49. I checked again at 11:30pm, and it was getting better and back up to 81. Now I testing him this morning at 7am and AMPS all the way back up to 456! I ended up giving him a shot with 2 units instead of 3 since the BG shot back up again so high.
Is this usual to have such a large swing in BG when first starting out? Should I still give him a shot when his pre-shot reading is in the 50s??
I called my vet this morning telling her everything above. She just wants me to keep giving shots and said he will even out. She said I could lower to 2 units or even 1 if that made me feel better, but that would lengthen time for him to regulate. I just get the feeling she doesn't even want me to test his blood. But I feel like I could have made a huge mistake yesterday evening if I had not tested and given him a shot when his BG was ~50.
Can anyone give me any advice or counsel? Any additional sources you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!!
Kristin