Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
My vet told me to gently roll the vial before use. Now I just read not to do that. Who is right? I didn't know I couldn't put more into the syringe than I need and push out the excess. I just read that too. Have a contaminated my insulin? I am going back to the vet tomorrow for a glucose reading. Max started insulin last Friday. If he wants to raise the amount from l unit twice a day is this too soon and how much should it be raised?
 
Rolling the Lantus will not "damage" the Lantus. However, rolling does nothing for lantus. Rolling is necessary for insulins that are suspension like ProZinc. Violently shaking can "damage" the insulin.
It is best not to re inject the insulin back into the via since the lubricant used in the syringes can shorten the lifer of the vial.

In future, y should consider purchasing the five-pack of disposable pens. Each pen contains 3 ml (the vial contains 10 ml). Although more expensive per ml, the pens are usually less expensive since you can usually use upe each pen while for the vial, you have to throw out half of the vial or so because the insulin loses effectiveness.

Typically, when starting at 1 unit, you raise dose by 1/4 unit. Sometimes 1/2 units is acceptable too.
 
Also, you should wait at least 1 week between dose changes and should be hometesting. This is the way you will be able to determine if a dose increase is needed. Tests at the vet are not accurate. Stress about going to the vet can easily raise a cat's BG levels over 100 points or more. So your vet will be recommending an increase where it may not be needed.
 
Actually, if you follow the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol, with pre-shot testing and frequent nadir time testing, you may change the dose more often. Three days on the same dose, plus tests around the nadir allow you to change dosing based on the nadir value. Pop over to the Lantus forum to read more.
 
I won't do tight regulation because I don't know if I will home test at all. I am alone here and my cat was difficult at the vet's while he is usually the model patient. He has high blood pressure and pancreatitis which is comes on from stress and I don't know how well he is going to handle all this. If I were rich I would pay for someone to help me at home but that is not possible.

Today I will buy some gravel and beads so I can test his urine at least. I guess I will need new syringes as the ones I have don't measure such small increments. I have BD u100 but I believe they are marked by the unit. If not I am giving half a dose. I will bring the needles to the vet to make sure as well. Our appointment is in l 1/2 hours. I will make a list of questions for the vet before go.


Thanks for the responses.
Elise
 
How is Max when you play with his ears? Many cats will tolerate the caretaker testing at home when the cat is wild at the verts.
 
It takes a little patience and a few weeks, but many of us have cats that now purr while getting tested.
The trick is to reward them each time, success or not, with a low carb treat or some kitties even like brushing.
Not all kitties like the same treats so you have to experiment to find what gets their attention and save it for only testing time....
I had a different special treat for shot time too.

It is scary at first and you feel like your cat will hate you but over time your bond actually gets better. It is a process.

Ask questions about any little thing. We all love helping. We were in your shoes once too.
You can do this. Let us help.
You'll be teaching your vet after a while.
Home testing is the best way to keep your cat safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top