Lantus with new diagnosis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tillie & Bookends

Member Since 2010
I used to post occasionally with two diabetic cats from the same litter. One passed away and the other is on honeymoon. It's been awhile. Today the Bookends' sister was diagnosed. Her name is Jubilee and her BG is 520. I'm a little out of practice.

The new vet is prescribing Lantus, which I'll pick up at 3:00. The other cats had been using Protamine Zinc.
Is there anything I should know about Lantus that will be different? THey're starting her on 2units. I'm not sure what syringes I need.

I'll have to go read up on getting a urine sample to check ketones.

Mainly I'm unfamiliar with using Lantus and will appreciate any comments.
 
You need to use U100 insulin syringes with Lantus, preferably 3/10 cc with half unit markings. You can buy these at any Human pharmacy, a prescription from the vet may be required.


The Lantus support group here has more info on how Lantus works for cats. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Start with these two:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

Can you please remove the 911 icon? That is for dire health emergencies.
 
Hi,
Sorry you had to come back, but glad that you did. ;-)
OK, if you used PZI before, welcome to a whole new world. Not harder, just different.

Key differences between PZI and Lantus:
Handled differently. No more rolling or "mixing" the insulin.
Sticky on handling: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
Dosing is based not on the preshot numbers, but on the nadir, so you'll want to get mid-cycle readings as many cycles as you can.
There are a couple of protocols that you can read about and choose to follow.
Sticky on protocols:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

There are several sticky threads in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum which contain lots of great info on Lantus.

You'll need U100 syringes (usually have an orange cap over the needle) I think most people use .3cc, U100, 29 gauge with 1/2 unit increment marks. You should be able to get them at most pharmacies, and depending on the state you live in, may or may not need a prescription to buy them.

2u is higher than a "normal" staring dose (most cats start at 1u or even .5u) but there may be a reason for your vet to recommend 2u to start with.
Shots are given as close to 12 hours apart as possible, and a dose is held for several cycles or days (depending on the protocol and the numbers you are seeing).

Since you've done this before, you already know about home testing, low-carb diet, etc. so you're set with all the standard new member stuff!

Did your vet prescribe the insulin in the vial or the pens? Over the long run, the pens are much more economical...

Oh, and Jubilee is an awesome name for a kitty!

Carl
 
Safety notes (reminder, maybe):

Test glucose before giving insulin; do not give insulin below 200 until you have collected data showing it is safe. Once you have data, you may be able slowly drop your no shoot number.

If the glucose tests below 50 about 6 hours after giving Lantus, the insulin dose may be too high and a reduction may be earned per the protocol sticky.

Be prepared in case of hypoglycemia - have karo syrup or honey on hand & oral syringes.
 
squeem3 said:
You need to use U100 insulin syringes with Lantus, preferably 3/10 cc with half unit markings. You can buy these at any Human pharmacy, a prescription from the vet may be required.


The Lantus support group here has more info on how Lantus works for cats. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Start with these two:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

Can you please remove the 911 icon? That is for dire health emergencies.

Thank you.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Hi,
Sorry you had to come back, but glad that you did. ;-)
OK, if you used PZI before, welcome to a whole new world. Not harder, just different.

Key differences between PZI and Lantus:
Handled differently. No more rolling or "mixing" the insulin.
Sticky on handling: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
Dosing is based not on the preshot numbers, but on the nadir, so you'll want to get mid-cycle readings as many cycles as you can.
There are a couple of protocols that you can read about and choose to follow.
Sticky on protocols:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

There are several sticky threads in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum which contain lots of great info on Lantus.

You'll need U100 syringes (usually have an orange cap over the needle) I think most people use .3cc, U100, 29 gauge with 1/2 unit increment marks. You should be able to get them at most pharmacies, and depending on the state you live in, may or may not need a prescription to buy them.

2u is higher than a "normal" staring dose (most cats start at 1u or even .5u) but there may be a reason for your vet to recommend 2u to start with.
Shots are given as close to 12 hours apart as possible, and a dose is held for several cycles or days (depending on the protocol and the numbers you are seeing).

Since you've done this before, you already know about home testing, low-carb diet, etc. so you're set with all the standard new member stuff!

Did your vet prescribe the insulin in the vial or the pens? Over the long run, the pens are much more economical...

Oh, and Jubilee is an awesome name for a kitty!

Carl


Thank you for your help.
 
BJM said:
Safety notes (reminder, maybe):

Test glucose before giving insulin; do not give insulin below 200 until you have collected data showing it is safe. Once you have data, you may be able slowly drop your no shoot number.

If the glucose tests below 50 about 6 hours after giving Lantus, the insulin dose may be too high and a reduction may be earned per the protocol sticky.

Be prepared in case of hypoglycemia - have karo syrup or honey on hand & oral syringes.


It's good to be reminded. The vet is saying to give 2u bid for three to four weeks and then she'll check fructosamine level. That's not how I did it with the other cats.
 
Generally, starting Lantus doses are either based on weight (see protocol sticky) or are started at 0.5-1.0 units. If you are making a food change at the same time, I'd start with the 0.5 for safety reasons. Switching to a low carb food may drop as much as 100 points off the glucose, based on member's experiences here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top