Lantus vs Novolin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sharon Hill

Member Since 2020
Good morning all, Bella was first diagnosed with diabetes on October 2nd & was started out with Novolin 1 unit 2x a day, then increase to 1.5 units 2x a day after a week. She started Lantus October 23rd with the same amount of 1.5 units 2x a day. But since then her numbers have been higher than while on Novolin & has thrown up more. This morning at 4:30 she woke me up throwing up so I checked her bg numbers and it was 506. How long does it take before Lantus kicks in? Her numbers are still 200-500s. I have a new phone, which I’m not happy with so I can’t do a spreadsheet yet but am keeping a daily journal of her numbers and times of her BG. I was really hoping her numbers would have dropped by now.
 
Good morning all, Bella was first diagnosed with diabetes on October 2nd & was started out with Novolin 1 unit 2x a day, then increase to 1.5 units 2x a day after a week. She started Lantus October 23rd with the same amount of 1.5 units 2x a day. But since then her numbers have been higher than while on Novolin & has thrown up more. This morning at 4:30 she woke me up throwing up so I checked her bg numbers and it was 506. How long does it take before Lantus kicks in? Her numbers are still 200-500s. I have a new phone, which I’m not happy with so I can’t do a spreadsheet yet but am keeping a daily journal of her numbers and times of her BG. I was really hoping her numbers would have dropped by now.
Can you post the journal?
 
Can you post the journal?
I hope you can read threw my scribbles & make sense of it, this is from Friday to now, when she started Lantus.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    86.4 KB · Views: 152
  • 72DCFF1F-4B07-4BF6-9DFE-4B2BDC1A4783.jpeg
    72DCFF1F-4B07-4BF6-9DFE-4B2BDC1A4783.jpeg
    82.9 KB · Views: 133
  • 141FD09D-475C-4598-8FAB-F867A328DC89.jpeg
    141FD09D-475C-4598-8FAB-F867A328DC89.jpeg
    89.8 KB · Views: 127
Thank you for sharing the readings. You are keeping great notes. (we can help get you set up with a spreadsheet so that the info is always in your signature just to make it easier to see your numbers at a glance). I'm not a lantus user, so someone else can chime in too... but your cat is due for a dose increase. Personally I'd raise it to 2, as you have been stuck in the 300's (with an occasional high 200's) for a while. You could raise it to 1.75 as well if that makes you more comfortable. We have a couple of dosing protocols on this site that help lantus users know when it's time to raise a dose. Read through the yellow stickies on top of this forum: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/ There is a description of SLGS protocol which holds doses longer... this is good if you can't test very often. You might consider using the TR (tight regulation) protocol since it seems you can test at least 4 times a day. This protocol holds the dose for a shorter amount of time and so is a little faster in getting into lower numbers.
 
Thank you for sharing the readings. You are keeping great notes. (we can help get you set up with a spreadsheet so that the info is always in your signature just to make it easier to see your numbers at a glance). I'm not a lantus user, so someone else can chime in too... but your cat is due for a dose increase. Personally I'd raise it to 2, as you have been stuck in the 300's (with an occasional high 200's) for a while. You could raise it to 1.75 as well if that makes you more comfortable. We have a couple of dosing protocols on this site that help lantus users know when it's time to raise a dose. Read through the yellow stickies on top of this forum: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/ There is a description of SLGS protocol which holds doses longer... this is good if you can't test very often. You might consider using the TR (tight regulation) protocol since it seems you can test at least 4 times a day. This protocol holds the dose for a shorter amount of time and so is a little faster in getting into lower numbers.
Yeah!!!!! My Apple ID password has been reset so when I get home I can hopefully figure out the spreadsheet. It’ll still be 3+ hours before I get home I pray Bella is ok. I did leave her two different plates of food out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top