Felixou00
New Member
Hi everyone,
My baby boy (Felixou) is back on insulin after almost a year in remission.
It has been a month since his diabetes came back and he is now at 3units of lantus-twice a day.
I posted on the Facebook group and they suggested I post here instead.
So here is my concern: I am not sure how to interpret his BG values as it looks like his body reponds to the insulin dose for 3 days and then his BG get back to higher level.
More specificaly, at the beginning his BG values were around 19 and we gave 1 unit-twice a day. No change. The vet suggested to increase at 2 units-twice a day. BG decrease at 14. Three days later, BG increased at 20. We gave 2,5, then 3 and same pattern.
What could explain this pattern?
On the Facebook group they suggested his body might not respond well to lantus and I should maybe switch to prozinc.
What do you think?
@Djamila
My baby boy (Felixou) is back on insulin after almost a year in remission.
It has been a month since his diabetes came back and he is now at 3units of lantus-twice a day.
I posted on the Facebook group and they suggested I post here instead.
So here is my concern: I am not sure how to interpret his BG values as it looks like his body reponds to the insulin dose for 3 days and then his BG get back to higher level.
More specificaly, at the beginning his BG values were around 19 and we gave 1 unit-twice a day. No change. The vet suggested to increase at 2 units-twice a day. BG decrease at 14. Three days later, BG increased at 20. We gave 2,5, then 3 and same pattern.
What could explain this pattern?
On the Facebook group they suggested his body might not respond well to lantus and I should maybe switch to prozinc.
What do you think?
@Djamila