Lantus versus prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Felixou00

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,

My baby boy (Felixou) is back on insulin after almost a year in remission.
It has been a month since his diabetes came back and he is now at 3units of lantus-twice a day.

I posted on the Facebook group and they suggested I post here instead.

So here is my concern: I am not sure how to interpret his BG values as it looks like his body reponds to the insulin dose for 3 days and then his BG get back to higher level.
More specificaly, at the beginning his BG values were around 19 and we gave 1 unit-twice a day. No change. The vet suggested to increase at 2 units-twice a day. BG decrease at 14. Three days later, BG increased at 20. We gave 2,5, then 3 and same pattern.

What could explain this pattern?
On the Facebook group they suggested his body might not respond well to lantus and I should maybe switch to prozinc.
What do you think?
@Djamila
 
Hi everyone,

My baby boy (Felixou) is back on insulin after almost a year in remission.
It has been a month since his diabetes came back and he is now at 3units of lantus-twice a day.

I posted on the Facebook group and they suggested I post here instead.

So here is my concern: I am not sure how to interpret his BG values as it looks like his body reponds to the insulin dose for 3 days and then his BG get back to higher level.
More specificaly, at the beginning his BG values were around 19 and we gave 1 unit-twice a day. No change. The vet suggested to increase at 2 units-twice a day. BG decrease at 14. Three days later, BG increased at 20. We gave 2,5, then 3 and same pattern.

What could explain this pattern?
On the Facebook group they suggested his body might not respond well to lantus and I should maybe switch to prozinc.
What do you think?
@Djamila
You'll get the best advice if you post this on the Lantus forum. It's very likely that the problems you're having arise from a need to dose the Lantus more effectively and there are many experienced caregivers on that forum who can advise.
 
Hmmm....are those values from tests given just prior to the injection? Or from other times during the cycle?

I wouldn't consider a switch yet. While some cats do better on one insulin or another, the vast majority of cats do very well on Lantus, and it has the highest researched rate of remission, so I would want to give it a very careful try before switching away from it.

When you post in the Lantus forum (as Kris suggested), the very first thing they are going to want you to do is set up a spreadsheet and input whatever numbers you have so they can help figure out if the problem is the dosing, or something else.

Here is a link to the spreadsheet we call use to organize our data. You'll need a google account, and then you just input the numbers and the color coding happens automatically. If you're not a techie person, just let us know and there are some folks who are great at getting it set up for you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

And here is the link to understand what each column is for:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/

Of course you are always welcome here if you decide you really want to switch!
 
You'll get the best advice if you post this on the Lantus forum. It's very likely that the problems you're having arise from a need to dose the Lantus more effectively and there are many experienced caregivers on that forum who can advise.
Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top